We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Canvas & Orchids Retreat

Room/Suite (238)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... really special. They are very spacious, and the fans in the room kept the temperature just right for sleeping. Having a...
... for you (hot water for tea as there is no kettle in the room, fishing rods, boats, tips etc) The menu and wine list is...
... We loved being able to swim in the river directly from our room and thought that the room was very comfortable although...
Most popular question about the rooms
Does any room have AC?
Answer from k_4travel_m
Jul 2020 |
remember, it is a eco lodge - no ac, but a huge fan. the experience is unique - the tents are 5* (we are spoiled) - don‘t miss it...
Read more
Featured room amenities
See all room amenities (22)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Carol L wrote a review Dec 2016
Whistler, Canada5 contributions4 helpful votes
I can't say enough about this hotel! We booked at 4 Rivers on the recommendation of some friends who had visited the area and had seen the hotel from a far. It really is a one of a kind experience. Here are the highlights:

- The food was gourmet (and we are food snobs...), including the lunches packed for day excursions. There is also good wine list.
- The staff were all incredibly courteous and went out of their way to ensure everyone was having a good time. Adonis, the manager, really seems to have pulled together a great team.
- Our lead guide Rambo (his nickname!) gave good advice on the tours and made the days very fun. Definitely take the trip to the waterfall, and try the sunset cruise too.
- The pre-dinner firefly viewing was very cool
- The tents themselves are really special. They are very spacious, and the fans in the room kept the temperature just right for sleeping. Having a ladder right of the deck made swimming super easy and we were in and out of the water all the time.
- Watching the sky change colours every night was an activity unto itself.
- The lodge arranged our transportation to/from, and it was very professional and reasonably priced.

Overall I would say it was excellent value for the money. We were there for 3 nights and i would say that was the perfect amount of time. Definitely stay there if you have a chance!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annapawlik, Owner at Canvas & Orchids Retreat
Responded Dec 7, 2016
THE JUMP!!! Carol, we remember so well, the courageous jump @ the waterfalls, wow! And the very early coffee for Jon...at 6am sharp :) Your company...one of the bests we've had! We owe your friends a great deal of gratitude. THANK YOU....THANK YOU...THANK YOU In behalf of Paulo, Adonis & the rest of 4Rivers Team, Anna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marikenv wrote a review Apr 2012
Hong Kong, China2050 contributions236 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for 2 nights over Easter and had a splendid time.
There are 12 tents floating over water with decent beds, bathroom and a superb view over the quiet Tatai river.
The general manager and his staff ensure everything is there for you (hot water for tea as there is no kettle in the room, fishing rods, boats, tips etc) The menu and wine list is veru good to, certainly considering the remote location (4 hours by car and 20 minutes by boat from PP). I had the most delicious Amok and banana flower salad.

The tents are like hotelrooms, spacious and with comfort. From your own terrace you could jump into the river, catch fishes or just lie on one of the sun loungers.

we took the sunset cruise by boat and although there was no sunset that day it was a beautiful trip over the river. We missed out on the 2nd excursion as our son got sick (nothing to do with the hotel) and we had to leave one night early.
The manager was most helpful and went all the way to Koh Kong to get us some anti-vomit medicine and when our son did not improve he arranged for a boat and car immediately to transfer us back to PP. Even following up with us days later to inform us of the refund and ask about our son. He also gave us the contact of a friend of his in PP who had a boy the same age so we could ask for references for a family docter.

We were most impressed. The hotel is amazing and definitely worth the trip, I would recommend anyone going to Cambodia to stay here a few nights.
Everything is comfortable and clean. The beds are not the best out there but it is Cambodia. And I had some trouble getting the shower warm instead of cold or really hot, but minor details.
If you are in one of the rooms closest to the restaurant, everyone going to the restaurant (5 tents) will be marching past your room and as it is a floating tent you will feel the tent move and hear their voices. But I have to say, this was not annoying at all.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2012Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If you want privacy, ask for the last rooms, furthest away from the restaurant (there is one on...
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
highbank wrote a review Mar 2013
Marlow, United Kingdom48 contributions35 helpful votes
4 Rivers Lodge is certainly in a lovely spot although not necessarily quite as tranquil as you may think. When we first arrived I was disappointed because our lodge was opposite a local house on the nearby island. In itself that was not a problem, it was the fact that music was playing and I imagined that it would go on all the time, which it didn't. Boats do pass by fairly frequently too but that didn't disturb us, just make sure the bathroom curtain is closed!

We loved being able to swim in the river directly from our room and thought that the room was very comfortable although beginning to show signs of wear because the furniture was not the best quality. The food was very good and it was lovely eating overlooking the river at night.
The staff, in particular the manager, Alan were very friendly and happy to help in any way. The guides who took us to the waterfall and on the sunset cruise were great, full of information and happy to talk about their lives.

I think that 3 nights is probably enough as there's not a great deal to do. Be aware that you can hear your neighbours and I did think that televisions were unnecessary given the tranquility of the resort.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2013Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The far end of North wing where although you will hear the generator you will feel more isolated...
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Liwa2014 wrote a review Jan 2017
Seoul, South Korea4 contributions5 helpful votes
it beautiful place, the stuff is nice and the room is comfortable and clean. we spent new year gala dinner in there, the food was less than the average, I got sick from their uncooked seafood. each time they ask you order the food a day before because they said they" fresh prepared", whatever you order need to take at least 40 mins to arrive.
I guess they force their chief to make some western twist, the fresh spring roll it's ugly and taste very bad ! the portion of the dish is very small, everyone has to order two main dish. the last day before we leave, they serviced us a water which is not clean, my BF stopped me, but he drunk it all before he notice the water was dirty, of course he has been sick in the rest of 3 days.
the bad part is once you stay there, you must to eat their food!!! if you want to good food don't go there!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annapawlik, Owner at Canvas & Orchids Retreat
Responded Jan 22, 2017
Maybe you had too much seafood from the gala dinner, Ms Liwa. We remember you and Pasqualino very well. Even our most loved crew member - Sambo, remembers you clearly, enjoying the grill station with sea food. You came several times in the grill station, but we never saw you ask to re-grill or cook more, any of the seafood that you have taken. We sincerely hope that you and Pasqualino recovered quickly. We've received very good reviews about our fresh spring rolls, but for sure, all of us do not like the same food. We prepare fresh food for our resort team members and guests. Our recent reviews from other guests have remarked about the very good food we serve. We have recently launched an addition to our Cambodian and Western menu...our vegetarian menu, and received great feedback from our guests. Hope you can find the right taste in your future travels :) Sincerely, Anna & 4Rivers Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrea wrote a review Apr 2012
Toronto, Canada6 contributions4 helpful votes
From the moment we turned the bend in the river and saw the floating tents, we knew that we had arrived in a very magical place. We swam and kayaked, relaxed, went up river to the falls and retired at night to the wonderful sounds of the jungle and the sparkle of fireflies. The service was extraordinary, whether with the boat trips, in the dining tent, or elsewhere - so attentive, warm and friendly. The food was wonderful with good choices - a very imporant detail considering that there is nowhere else to go. Our own suite under canvas was simply divine even when we had to zip all sides for the brief tropical rains so that our only sense of the outiside world was the sound of rain, river and jungle. It is hard to describe this experience - it is beyond all hopes and expectations and must simply be visited to be believed. Wonderful and wonder filled.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2012Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Questions & answers about the rooms

DrGregg68 asked a question Jul 2020
Jakarta, Indonesia1 contribution
Does any room have AC?
Answer from k_4travel_m
Jul 2020 |
remember, it is a eco lodge - no ac, but a huge fan. the experience is unique - the tents are 5* (we are spoiled) - don‘t miss it if you have some days to go there. middle of nature.
1 vote
Show all answers
Member1234567890 asked a question Jul 2019
England33 contributions43 helpful votes
Is dinner included in the room rate?
Answer from AP
Jul 2019 |
Yes, however there are extra dishes that you may order at an additional price.
1 vote
Show all answers
Answer from Hans Brinker
May 2018 |
Boat trip to the lodge is included (20 minutes). Trip from Phnom Pen to the river is 4-5 hours driving. Not included. Halfway there are restaurants with excellent toilets and western food, and great capuccinos.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1