We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa Questions & Answers

Reading, Pennsylvania

I have read so many bad comments about the seaweed in the water. I have been to Negril many times, although years ago, but never experienced that. I did not stay at Sandals. Why is this such a complaint? We are coming in September and I am very worried. This trip we are sparing no expense but I am an ocean swimmer, so this has me thinking. Thanks

over a year ago Answer

4 answers

Property representative
Tiffany M
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Hi there,

Sandals Negril is centrally located on the world-famous Seven Mile Beach. The sunsets are stunning, the beaches are wide and long and it's really a spectacular setting. While nature can change with the tides (pun intended), Sandals Resorts has a landscaping team dedicated to raking the beaches to perfection and clearing away any thing that the tides may bring in.

Should you find anything not up to your standards, please let us know while you're on resort and we'll be happy to address it. We can't wait to welcome you!

over a year ago
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

We were just there (8/5-8/11/14). It was our first time to Sandals Negril and wasn't sure about the "seaweed" either.

The designated swim areas have sea grass (not really seaweed) about 15-20 ft from the shore line. It certainly isn't ideal beach conditions. So, you either hang out in the shallows, grab a floaty or wear some water shoes. That was probably our only real disappointment in the resort. We went to a couple other areas and they don't have that sea grass, so unfortunately for Sandals, it sorta is an issue where they are. Having said that, we still had a great great time and enjoyed everything else they had to offer. If you're into ocean swimming, you can swim outside the designated areas and not have an issue.

over a year ago
Reading, Pennsylvania
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Thank you so much for your response.

over a year ago
Flint, Michigan
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

We were just there last week and you have to be very careful in the water. My husband and I snorkeled on the beach and saw many sea urchins (very large ones!) out in the water as well as crabs, lobsters, and a weird fish with teeth. A lot of it is a sandbar so you have to go out pretty far in order to be safe from stepping on anything.

over a year ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines