We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

York-Durham Heritage Railway

62 reviews
About York-Durham Heritage Railway
The York Durham Heritage Railway is a non-profit heritage and tourist railway. The YDHR operates train excursions between Stouffville and Uxbridge on weekends from June to October using restored heritage equipment. The YDHR also maintains a small museum inside the 1904 restored Grand Trunk train station. Visit our website for up to date schedules and fares.
Contact
Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada
Travelers talk about

York-Durham Heritage Railway
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
19
16
11
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
19
16
11
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa train balloon animals train car great outing bench seats vintage train petting zoo guitar player return trip conductor stouffville december clown passengers volunteers halloween thomas
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took our grandson on the Santa Train this December and it was excellent. Santa, the entertainers and all the volunteers involved were superb and friendly. The train was nicely decorated, clean and on-time. A great family experience and we'll be back.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Steve B
Reviewed December 12, 2018

While my grandkids were the oldest on the train car we were in they still had a fantastic time! Wish I had known about the train when they were younger. We would have made it a yearly tradition!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Grammajo56
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

To be honest the drive up from Toronto had more vibrant colors than on the train ride. Many cedars and corn fields, and a quarry.....but not a lot of fall colours of leaves. A guitar player goes up and down the train singing we had...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 693laraw
Reviewed October 18, 2018

My friend bought me on the Fall Colours tour; we found it interesting and the conductor advised about some scenic spots, e.g. which Schitts Creek was filmed. It was nice seeing the homes and fall colours scenery. This is a great outing for families, children,...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Nadine B
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Our party of six was celebrating the birthday of a senior 84 years young. This looked like a great idea. However, while interesting, this trip could have been amazing! Kathy, the person who organized the online booking was very helpful but it would have been...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Lynne I
TrainMikeJ, Public Relations Manager at York-Durham Heritage Railway, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Hi Lynne, thank for taking the time to leave some feedback regarding your recent visit with us. The Lincolnville delay is not a typical scenario. We normally can call in and receive clearance to Stouffville in a few minutes. The weekend your are describing was...More

Reviewed October 13, 2018

We were all excited and drove over 2 hours to get there only to be hugely disappointed! Here is the list of reasons why! - station is so tiny, not many people can fit inside so most froze outside - barely any parking -boarding was...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Diva G
TrainMikeJ, Public Relations Manager at York-Durham Heritage Railway, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Hi Diva. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our station is a typical heritage station of the 1910's rural Ontario. It is historically protected and, as such, cannot be modified. Most of the station is accessible to passengers; the former waiting...More

Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed with this tour! The track is surrounded by shrubs and barely any scenic views so in essence this is no different than your ordinary ride on the go train. I don’t know how the price is justified especially since it doesn’t feel like...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank sharsef
TrainMikeJ, Manager at York-Durham Heritage Railway, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our railway. The season's schedule is planned at the beginning of each year. We cannot control when mother nature will change the colours of the leaves. Generally, the scheduling of the Fall Colours trips is reasonably close...More

Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Worst trip we ever took.ticket counter woman was more interested with her cell phone than serving customers. Boarding was very disorganized nobody knew where they had to go. Tour was through a shrub lined rail with no colour of trees. Will not recommend.....total waste of...More

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank Dino B
TrainMikeJ, Manager at York-Durham Heritage Railway, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Hi Dino. Thank you for taking the time to review our railway. The season's schedule is planned at the beginning of each year. We cannot control when mother nature will change the colours of the leaves. Generally, the scheduling of the Fall Colours trips is...More

Reviewed August 21, 2018

Well with a 2 1/2 year old in tow (or was he dragging us?) we had a hoot! I have no idea who among the volunteers/ staff were Thomas's or who was YDHR's but I guess that's the point: they made a seamless team. The...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank ww507
TrainMikeJ, Public Relations Manager at York-Durham Heritage Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Hi Thank you for taking the time to review us and letting us know of your excellent day with us. The Day Out With Thomas is our biggest event of the year, raising funds for our non-profit railway. Our volunteers, who work hard all year...More

Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed in this event. We drove 1 hr to pay $100 for nothing. Tickets to this should be no more than $10/person. The train ride is described as "scenic" but is nothing of the kind. Its a 5km/h ride between trees. There is nothing...More

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank Kordian W
TrainMikeJ, Public Relations Manager at York-Durham Heritage Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

HI Kordian. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. The pricing is a standard price set by Mattel, not the YDHR. You will find similar pricing at most Day Out With Thomas stops across Canada and the US this season. This event...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
1CanadianLady
November 5, 2018|
Answer
Response from TrainMikeJ | Property representative |
Hi. The Thomas engine prop is owned by Mattel. It is only used during Mattel's Day Out With Thomas, then shipped onto the next host railway. It has no pulling power, thus would not be helpful to pull all seven cars. The... More
0
Votes
Candice M
September 10, 2017|
Answer
Response from TrainMikeJ | Property representative |
One way is approximately one hour, give or take a few minutes.
1
Vote
Todd S
October 21, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TrainMikeJ | Property representative |
We do recommend buying ahead of time so that you have the best choice of seats as we use an assigned seating system. Special events, such as our Santa trains, almost always sell out before the train date and usually do not... More
0
Votes