We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manche Iles Express

Closed Now: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Open today: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Share
Review Highlights
Lovely trip

Went to gainville with the company . Boat left on time for both journeys , staff were courteous and... read more

Reviewed September 9, 2018
Fairfax1
,
Essex
via mobile
Smaller option for getting to Jersey

We used this ferry for a two day side trip from Normandy to Jersey. It worked out in the end, but... read more

Reviewed August 26, 2018
tot_enot
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Read all 77 reviews
29
All photos (29)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good36%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible27%
Travelers talk about
“bumpy ride”(2 reviews)
“st helier”(2 reviews)
About
Manche Iles Express is a norman shipping company linking the Channel Islands (Jersey, Guernsey, Sark and Alderney) from the ports of Normandy (Granville, Carteret and Dielette) with two fast and comfortable ships.A wide range of tax-free products...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
rue des Isles, 50400 Granville, France
Website
+33 825 13 10 50
Call
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
5
4
1
0
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
5
4
1
0
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bumpy ride channel islands st helier ferry crew journey tides
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

I was informed 5 days before myself and my family of 5 travelled with this company from Jersey to Sark the service was cancelled “indefinitely” because the ferry had broken down. I was refunded but incurred around 350 pounds of expenses since I had to...More

Thank BestofAndalucia
mancheilesexpress, Responsable relations clients at Manche Iles Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Our ship experienced a breakdown which forced us to cancel the departures from Jersey to Sark. As you mentioned, we warned you as soon as possible (5 days before the departure) to allow you to find an alternative solution. We have responded personally to your...More

Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

I advice go to England and from there to Jersey!!!! We are Finnish couple and mer extra large amount of problems with this company! No refund from all suffer!! One day before we got info about cancellation. We had to drive early at 6 oclock...More

Thank Tanja P
mancheilesexpress, Responsable relations clients at Manche Iles Express, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Madam, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the damage of our ship which caused the cancellation of the crossing for technical reasons. We offered you an alternative solution with a departure from Granville, which you accepted. Concerning the problems encountered with your hotel...More

Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Went to gainville with the company . Boat left on time for both journeys , staff were courteous and professional . Importantly there were enough to ensure that services were provided with minimal queuing unlike some other ferry companiesMore

Thank Fairfax1
mancheilesexpress, Responsable relations clients at Manche Iles Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Hi Fairfax1, thank you very much for your positive return following your crossing with our Company :) Our crew makes every effort to ensure that your trip takes place in the best conditions. We remain at your disposal for any further information. See you soon...More

Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Went on Manche Isles on a day trip from Jersey to Guernsey. The weather was good and sea calm. However within 5 minutes of leaving St Helier, the boat was literally like being on a corkscrew. It rolled and the front was literally tipping out...More

Thank PBASwindon
mancheilesexpress, Responsable relations clients at Manche Iles Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Good afternoon, You indicate that the sea was calm but that the ship was literally tipping out of the water. Our ships may be subject to unpleasant movements when the sea is unfavorable. Our priority is to ensure the safety of ships, passengers and crew....More

Reviewed August 31, 2018

Just a quick note of caution to anyone thinking of booking a ferry with Manche-iles. It is worth checking prior to booking or travelling if the ferry is actually running. We booked 4 weeks is advance Sark to Jersey. On the day of travel someone...More

Thank WooWoo36
mancheilesexpress, Responsable relations clients at Manche Iles Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Good afternoon, Our ships suffered technical damages and we were forced to cancel crossings. Our priority is to ensure the safety of passengers and crew. At present, both our ships are in service and we operate all the crossings. We responded to all complaints received...More

Reviewed August 26, 2018

We used this ferry for a two day side trip from Normandy to Jersey. It worked out in the end, but it was not uneventful. Here are some thoughts and information to help other travelers: -- This service uses a smaller ferry boat and is...More

Thank tot_enot
mancheilesexpress, Responsable relations clients at Manche Iles Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Good afternoon, - If we cancel for weather reasons it is to ensure the safety of the ship, crew and passengers. - Passengers must arrive 1 hour before departure, for the control of ID and give you boarding cards and other vouchers. This time is...More

Reviewed July 27, 2018

I took their ferry boat from Jersey to Guernsey. Very good, helpful booking woman. About 1 hour. Left 5 minutes early. However, if you have a delicate stomach, you definitely want to be outside, on the upper deck. The ride brings new meaning to rock...More

Thank TravelinAlan
mancheilesexpress, Responsable commercial at Manche Iles Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Thank you very much for your comment. Our crew members do their best to make your journey pleasant and comfortable. See you soon on board.

Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

Advised (on checking in) that the direct guernsey/dielette ferry crossing re-routed via jersey, adding hours onto the journey time.

1  Thank Mrslicorne
Reviewed July 20, 2018

Avoid them at all cost. They cancelled the ferry to Sark the night before without providing an alternative. I had to spend more than 100 Pounds for a flight from Jersey to Guernsey and the ferry from Guernsey to Sark. Still have no idea how...More

Thank JulianeKl
mancheilesexpress, Responsable relations clients at Manche Iles Express, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the damage to our ship which caused the cancellation of the departure. You also contacted us on Facebook, and we answered you. Where do you send your emails? Because we treat every request of each of our...More

Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

Very disappointing service, we found out from other passengers that the ferry back to Jersey was cancelled. We had no phone call or contact from Manche Iles. We visited the Office in Carteret to be told that we would be put up in a Hotel...More

3  Thank stcaths
mancheilesexpress, Responsable relations clients at Manche Iles Express, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

We are very sorry for the trouble caused by the cancellation of your return on Saturday 14th July. We have arranged the accommodation and return to Jersey of every client. You were proposed to be put up in the VVF in Portbail and you told...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 nearby hotels
Hotel ibis Granville Port de Plaisance
720 reviews
.01 miles away
Hotel des Bains
391 reviews
.35 miles away
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel
887 reviews
.42 miles away
Hotel L'Arrivee
171 reviews
.51 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 90 nearby restaurants
Au P'tit Mareyeur
154 reviews
.19 miles away
Picorette
433 reviews
.25 miles away
Restaurant Mer et Saveurs
490 reviews
.23 miles away
La Citadelle
1,115 reviews
.26 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 28 nearby attractions
Musee Christian Dior
827 reviews
.66 miles away
Musee d'Art Moderne Richard Anacreon
67 reviews
.30 miles away
Pointe du Roc
39 reviews
.54 miles away
Plage du Plat Gousset
32 reviews
.43 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Emily G
October 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mancheilesexpress | Property representative |
Good morning, you need to book your crossing in advance to have the best rates & for custom and immigration. Kind regards
1
Vote
Google Translation
BirteesBlog
June 19, 2018|
Answer
Response from mancheilesexpress | Property representative |
You can take your bike. We are limited to 6 bikes per crossing. The price is 15,00 € per bike and per crossing. You can call us or contact us by email to make the reservation.
1
Vote
Google Translation
elvishawk
August 25, 2017|
Answer
Response from mancheilesexpress | Property representative |
Good morning, We apologize for this late reply. A car park is available in front of each ferry terminal in our departures ports. Kind regards, Manche Iles Express
0
Votes
Google Translation