Prategiano - Horse Riding Holiday Tuscany

Prategiano - Horse Riding Holiday Tuscany

Prategiano - Horse Riding Holiday Tuscany
4.5
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
About
We have been offering horseback riding in Tuscany for more than 45 years. Every day experienced horse riders can join our half day or full day trail rides. We ride through wild beautiful countryside, through small medioeval villages and have fantastic views over all Maremma Tuscany. Beginner riders can choose to have their first lesson in the ring or try an easy trail ride. The Trail Riding Center Prategiano and the nearby Hotel Prategiano (300 meters) have been run by the family Paradisi since 1971.
Duration: 2-3 hours
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Prategiano - Horse Riding Holiday Tuscany and nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


4.5
32 reviews
Excellent
27
Very good
2
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
2

75Lozzie
Scunthorpe, UK73 contributions
Sep 2015 • Friends
Everything was fantastic! Lovely people who went out of their way to make you feel at home. Fantastic food, the home cooked desserts are gorgeous, the panacotta is a must try!! The hotel and stables are set up in the heights so views are totally spectacular. And last of all, the horses..........they are beautiful, athletic, fit and give you a cracking ride! The best of all was the bare back riding in the river. This holiday helped my friend & I forget all our troubles. We would definitely return and would recommend it to any horse rider.
Written October 18, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Priscilla S
1 contribution
Sep 2022 • Friends
When I mistakenly fell from the horse into the hot sand
And was later served with chilled wine 🍷 and cookies
Written September 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Alan R
Denver, CO12 contributions
Sep 2019
My wife and I took the all day ride this past September. It was just the two of us and our guide. My wife was just interested in a walking ride which was fine with me. I felt our guide would have given us any type of ride we wanted. The only aspect which could have been better was the lunch they provided, but that is just a minor complaint. Make sure you leave extra time to find the facility. We used Google maps and was informed that we had arrived at our destination in the middle of nowhere. Had to drive into the town of Montieri to call Hotel Prategiano and have them help us find our way.
Written November 10, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Traci Marie B
1 contribution
Oct 2022 • Solo
I arrived at 8:45 for an all day ride through the Tuscan mountains. The ride was to being at 9 am but we didn’t not leave until after 10am. The horses looked old and malnourished along with its tack. The two girls were friends from Germany and didn’t really make you feel welcome at all. When the other riders arrived they were all speaking German and were not very inclusive. Once we finally got going I was on a horse named Ollie, she seemed to hate the bit that was used and was constantly pulling her head in discomfort. As we were riding I noticed the horse in front of me was bleeding so they checked her and thank goodness took her back to the stables. Come to find out the horse was hurt a few days earlier but they decided to use her anyway, it doesn’t seem like they checked her before going out. Once we were out and riding there was complete silence unless I engaged the guide, I realize she’s young but she could have been more personable. Once we sat down for lunch another girl arrived who was very pleasant and actually made the whole trip worthwhile. The countryside was gorgeous with beautiful old towns and forests, but I would not recommend this experience on a whole. I would highly recommend they vet their guides a little better and make sure they can engage with the guests, tell them about the area, and answer any questions the rider may have. I have been in the Customer Service business my whole life, I have ridden horses my whole life, and I was a guide in my younger days. The only thing that saved this experience for me was the countryside and the young girl at lunch who was very personable. I hope the owners of the stable will take this into consideration and upgrade all of their tack, feed their horses better and maybe give them some vitamins as it seems they are used quite frequently during high season and are possibly malnourished and over worked.
Written October 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Mrs. Bean, we are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the ride as much as it seemed. It was great that you were on time. Our experience with other guests showed that it takes time to get ready to then leave on time. Sometimes they find some traffic and that's why we put the time a bit earlier. Our horse Oli is a sensitive very well-behaving horse that doesn't like a hard hand. We like our horses' reins a bit longer so they don't feel the pulling hands through the whole ride. The little cut on the horse's hoof in front of you was an older tiny wound from weeks ago that got dry and opened up a bit. He was totally fine for the whole time. Our horses do get nutritional supplements, have hay 24/7 and we feed them high quality food. We feel very sorry that the aging of horses is a negative thing about us as we keep them until the end of their days. On your ride there were only younger horses, your guide even had a rescue horse that has had a fantastic recovery story. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the countryside and one guide and hope you had a good time in Tuscany. Kind regards Caja Schaefer Hotel Prategiano
Written October 12, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Robert
Oakland, CA35 contributions
Jun 2022
When they say for "experienced riders," they mean "experienced riders." When asked about our family group, I had responded that we were "experienced," as I thought that meant, "we had been on horses." So, I signed the family up for a ride. It doesn't that, as it turned out--it means much more than that. It means being long-term, experienced riders, not your let's-ride-a-horse-in-a park riders. When we got to the stable, it quickly became apparent that we were out of our league at this place and that it would be dangerous to proceed with the tour. I returned to the reception and explained our confusion/disappointment, but the manager steadfastly refused to refund our money even though we had not even gotten on a horse. Of course, that is their right--there had been a misunderstanding of "experienced." But they simply wanted to keep our money instead of doing the decent thing and refunding it. I warn you, therefore, of two things: (1) be sure you are have lots of "experience" on a horse and (2) if something unexpected happens, don't expect generosity from the manager.
Written July 6, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are very sorry you didn't get the horse ride you were expecting. For your safety - thinking of the inexperienced child and elder people with you - we decided to offer you a programme that would fit you best: a lesson and a 1h ride afterwards. We could not give your money back as it was your decision to not attend the horse riding experience that had already been organised and prepared. Hope you had a great time on your holiday anyway. Many sunny greetings from Maremma Tuscany!
Written July 30, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Caitlin F
Aldershot8 contributions
Aug 2019 • Solo
I went to hotel prategiano for three nights as a summer horse riding break. It was absolutely fantastic. The staff are lovely and the most helpful people, nothing is too much for them. The hotel is stunning and the rooms are comfy.
The riding is incredible; all the horses are loved by the guides and well looked after. They are beautifully well behaved and the trails that you ride are beautiful!
Would highly recommend staying here.
Written August 7, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Njohnston7
4 contributions
Jan 2015 • Solo
I enjoyed an all-day horseback ride, accompanied by the most wonderful guides. We got to explore some of the most beautiful areas and even got an opportunity to ride on the beach. I loved being able to ride at a faster pace at certain times, while still being able to enjoy the scenery at a slower pace. The horses were great on the trail and really knew what they were doing. A delicious picnic was provided for lunch and we had the most incredible view while eating. The staff was extremely warm and welcoming and truly cared about everyone having a good time. I hope to return again in the future the next time I visit Italy!
Written January 9, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Gil D
New York City, NY33 contributions
Just to be clear - this review related ONLY to a horseback riding trip I had booked for myself and my wife, NOT to the hotel in general...

At any rate, I booked a half day horseback riding trip for myself and my wife with the hotel. The trip was booked mid-May, for July 26th. Unfortunately, about a week prior to my departure for Italy, I did some very serious damage to one of my knees. I contacted the Hotel, and requested a refund, as my doctor had strongly advised against riding.

The hotel's response was both ridiculous and unreasonable - "sorry, the riding tour was booked and already paid by an agency. It cannot be refunded, but we can offer you to postpone it to another occasion." Cannot be refunded? Nonsense, just run the credit card for a credit. "Postponed" - sure, that'll work, as I travel to Tuscany all the time...NOT!

Do not book ANY horseback riding with these unreasonable, ridiculous, unfriendly people...the only bad experience that we had related to an otherwise wonderful trip to Italy.
Written August 4, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are sorry that you had to change your initial travel plans through Italy. Your American travel agency booked the horseback trail ride for July 27. Afterwards the agency asked us to anticipate the date of the riding tour to July 24 (not July 26), which we accepted. After another few days, you contacted us directly to cancel your coming and the only thing we could do is to proposed a second change of the date. Please understand, that if you book a holiday or any service with a travel agent, you have a contract with this tour operator. A third party – like a hotel or a riding center – cannot change this contract and cannot refund prepayments. If riders book directly with our Riding Center, we are more flexible and can agree bookings without cancellation fee, but of course also a direct booking is a contract between 2 parties and needs to follow the agreed rules. Thanks for your understanding.
Written February 15, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Prategiano - Horse Riding Holiday Tuscany - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Prategiano - Horse Riding Holiday Tuscany

According to Tripadvisor travelers, these are the best ways to experience Prategiano - Horse Riding Holiday Tuscany:



Prategiano - Horse Riding Holiday Tuscany Information

Excellent Reviews

22

Very Good Reviews

2

Prategiano - Horse Riding Holiday Tuscany Photos

35