We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aqua Planet

Features Animals

Aqua Planet
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
104
All photos (104)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent93%
  • Very good6%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“dive centre”(24 reviews)
“protea banks”(57 reviews)
“bull sharks”(11 reviews)
About
Ask the world about SHARK diving, they say South Africa! Ask South Africans about SHARK diving, they say PROTEA BANKS! Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter is an accredited PADI dive center, which offers a full range of PADI courses from beginner to...more
Contact
| The Emporium Corner of Marine Drive and Kings Road, Shelly Beach 4265, South Africa
Website
+27 82 877 3966
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
154
11
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
154
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive centre protea banks bull sharks black tips an amazing experience baited shark dive thanks guys the owner open water awesome dive ragged tooth sharks reef fish flying fish many years sardines two days oribi gorge
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 165 reviews
Reviewed today

It's difficult to know where to start, such was the incredible nature of our time spent with Aqua Planet diving Protea Banks. I feel like I should mention the people first because, without them, none of this would be possible. From the first moment we...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Haines_Aubert
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Big thanks to Kym and team! All along our journey to become OW divers we have had little hiccups- and the Aqua team have accommodated us at each step. We are now all qualified! Hooray.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Kimbostoo
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came to shelly beach catch up with friends and was fortunate enough to had two dives at this dive center, I did not dive in many years and wasn't sure after a sinus issue if I was able to dive. However the people at...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank AnnaPascal
Reviewed November 28, 2018 via mobile

The stories were true, there are heaps of Hammerheads out there on the Protea Banks! Aqua Planet was an excellent charter to show me them. Would defiantly dive again with the team. Thanks guys!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank TaylorA585
Kym P, Owner at Aqua Planet, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2018

Was wonderful having you diving Protea Banks with us. We are so happy you enjoyed your dives and that you got to see our beautiful Hammerhead sharks. Already looking forward to your next visit.

Reviewed November 4, 2018

I was a solo traveler, but that was no problem They arranged my accommodation and took me to the beautiful dives where we saw a lot of sharks. Samantha offered me a transfer to the airport, although it was very early in the morning. Thanks...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank janakov
Kym P, Owner at Aqua Planet, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter. It was wonderful having you dive with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and dives with us. We are very fortunate to have such a variety...More

Reviewed October 31, 2018

Wonderful time diving in Shelly Beach with Aqua Planet. Very well organized operation, very professional crew and a lot of sharks, you cannot ask for anything else! Special thanks to Miggie and Sam for guiding our dives and make them unforgettable, and to Jaco to...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank sandrapuentebarcelon
Kym P, Owner at Aqua Planet, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your time here in Shelly Beach with Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter. Our team is always happy and willing to give you the best time possible. We all enjoyed meeting you and diving with you ... AND ......More

Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for great dives, awesome service and really nice people to dive with, choose Aqua Planet! Kim is so responsible and nice! The boat driver did an impressive job dealing with the big waves. And Sam was amazing as diving master in...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Milena C
Kym P, Owner at Aqua Planet, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

We thank you for your review and really appreciate you taking the time to review Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter. Unfortunately we had bad weather which made us unable to launch daily ... but the very fact that some days we are unable to...More

Reviewed October 19, 2018

Very good email communications prior to arrival. We purchased a 7-day package with accommodation. The hotel was within minutes from dive shop and the host was wonderful. A huge thanks to the dive team. From the skipper (Jaco) to the dive masters (Sam and Miggie),...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank gunhkyuname
Kym P, Owner at Aqua Planet, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter. Unfortunately we were not able to launch everyday due to strong winds and unsafe launch conditions - it is always difficult when we lose diving days. It was wonderful...More

Reviewed September 5, 2018

After hearing stories from other divers about below par charters and horrible diving conditions at Protea Banks, I was absolutely blown away. Admittedly diving is subject to Mother Nature's whim's and for us it was a spectacle of hundreds of schooling hammerhead sharks, some dusky...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Ravensqarr
Kym P, Owner at Aqua Planet, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

It is with great pride we would like to thank you for choosing Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter. It is always a pleasure to go the extra mile so that our divers, even those who come from far and wide, get the best possible...More

Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

I did one baited shark dive and one reef dive with this dive centre. I had never dived with sharks before and we had ten blacktips on the baited dive and sone ragged tooth sharks, more blacktips and even a pod of dolphins on the...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Lucas S
Kym P, Owner at Aqua Planet, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Being underwater is what we live for here at Aqua Planet Dive Centre and Charter. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time here with us and the great variety of marine life on Protea Banks. Safety is always our number one priority and we...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
St Michaels Sands Hotel
49 reviews
.31 miles away
HillBillion Estate
13 reviews
.45 miles away
La Cote D'Azur
96 reviews
3.08 miles away
Margate Hotel
16 reviews
3.72 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 21 nearby restaurants
Munchner Haus
96 reviews
.28 miles away
C-Bali Restaurant and Beach Bar
195 reviews
.34 miles away
c-bali
43 reviews
.34 miles away
Mojo'z
52 reviews
.41 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 8 nearby attractions
Pure Venom
56 reviews
.91 miles away
Rejuveness
5 reviews
1.77 miles away
Ster-Kinekor Shelly Centre
10 reviews
.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Aqua Planet staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines