We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Collingwood
Post
Inbox
Search

Robert Burns Hotel

Open Now: 12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Open today: 12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Review Highlights
A Spanish Celtic Experience

Oh the music. What a great place to catch up with friends. Food was plentiful with a great... read more

Reviewed May 28, 2017
bradshawm
,
Mount Gambier, Australia
via mobile
Good for the tapas not for mains

Was quite disappointed with my Monkfish salad, totally tasteless, boring, nothing Spanish at all... read more

Reviewed July 24, 2016
Christine H
via mobile
Read all 14 reviews
All photos (24)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible21%
Sep 3, 2019
“Oh, where have Spanish chefs gone?”
Jun 4, 2019
“Stunning pub & amazing food!”
About
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
64°
45°
Oct
69°
49°
Nov
73°
51°
Dec
Contact
376 Smith St, Collingwood, Yarra, Victoria 3066, Australia
Website
+61 3 9417 2233
Call
Improve This Listing
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Collingwood
from $72.06
More Info
from $74.80
More Info
from $26.76
More Info
from $78.92
More Info
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveler rating
6
3
1
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
6
3
1
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 14 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2019

Sadly, the new Robert Burns’ cuisine is very average and expensive. It left us feeling so disappointed and nostalgic for the old Robbie Burns. We’ve lost one of our favourite restaurants. The end of an era.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Patrizb
Reviewed June 4, 2019

The Robbie Burns has a new Sunday roast, we enjoyed the delicious modern pub food and the staff are friendly, will be back!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank tjames0
Reviewed March 19, 2019

We visited knowing that the hotel, for decades a beloved strongly Spanish-themed venue, was under new management. Our low expectations vanished when, having ordered classic pub fare, the Sunday roast arrived: generous cuts of pork or beef, with a variety of crisply roasted vegetables. No...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank John S
Reviewed January 10, 2019 via mobile

We used to come here for the fine Spanish food-- the croquettes, the paella and the postres. No longer. Now just a plain old pub with normal pub food. The reason why we used to go there is gone. Another Collingwood icon gone...

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank smabroad
Reviewed December 7, 2018 via mobile

Just had the worst experience at this place. STAY AWAY. Manager Matt No-i-won't-give-you-my-last-name is too scared to give me his last name but not scared enough to insult us clients with his down appalling attitude. Check yourself, fool.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Jorge C
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile

Oh the music. What a great place to catch up with friends. Food was plentiful with a great selection. Wine list was Spanish as you'd expect, so fun to play with. The staff were on the ball to help Spanish food virgins.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank bradshawm
Lucy M, Public Relations Manager at Robert Burns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Hi Bradshaw, thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us, and we hope to see you back soon! Cheers, Lucy

Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

The Robert Burns used to be one of my favourite restaurants but unfortunately, after yesterday's experience, I will not be going back. We had a large group there celebrating Mothers Day. In the lead up, the guys there were really great in accommodating our request...More

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank sandydlozano
Lucy M, Public Relations Manager at Robert Burns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Hi Sandy, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Firstly, let me apologise for the service you have received, it is certainly not up to our usual standard. We are extremely disappointed to hear that you didn't completely love your...More

Reviewed February 18, 2017 via mobile

Excellent,authentic Spanish cuisine,amazing venue for any occasion,friendly and attentive customer service,highly recommended while in Melbourne.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Norbert W
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Was quite disappointed with my Monkfish salad, totally tasteless, boring, nothing Spanish at all. Just not good. What's the hell has got also red cabbage cooked vegetable to do with Spanish food? More for a German -Eastern Europe restaurant. I had the tapas plate before...More

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Christine H
Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

We had our second lunch in the beer garden today and it was as good as the first. Food and service can't be faulted and this is now well and truly on our radar

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Sandy K
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Collingwood Accommodation Melbourne
30 reviews
.30 miles away
The Royal Derby Hotel
12 reviews
.39 miles away
City East Motel
68 reviews
.80 miles away
Clocktower Apartment Hotel
4 reviews
.90 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 146 nearby restaurants
Robert Burns Hotel
167 reviews
.00 miles away
Savanna African Restaurant & Cafe
48 reviews
.10 miles away
Cibi
22 reviews
.11 miles away
Red Sparrow Pizza
52 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 42 nearby attractions
Centre for Contemporary Photography
20 reviews
.12 miles away
Melba Spiegeltent
7 reviews
.16 miles away
The Break Room
45 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Patrizb
July 23, 2019|
Answer
Response from John S | Reviewed this property |
Don't know, sorry. Sad to see them go.
0
Votes