Robert Burns Hotel

Robert Burns Hotel, Collingwood: Hours, Address, Robert Burns Hotel Reviews: 3.5/5

Robert Burns Hotel
3.5
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Monday
5:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Popular mentions

3.5
16 reviews
Excellent
7
Very good
3
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
4

AC1
1 contribution
Coeliac Review for Gluten Free
Mar 2021
Unfortunately if you are a Coeliac, I suggest you do not visit this hotel for food after Gluten Free options (Gluten Free Burger and GF Buns) that were recommended by staff were not in fact Gluten Free and I was violently ill 3 hours later due to Gluten exposure.
Written March 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Aaron S
Hawthorn, Australia185 contributions
Collingwood staple. Casual and relaxed
Jan 2020 • Friends
Such a Collingwood staple! Beautiful and chilled inside with very friendly and helpful service. Good wine and drink selection all round. Great food options, either to share tapas style or traditional pub food and some blended new style food too. Menu has changed to more Italian focus too where it use to be Spanish. Worth a visit
Written January 18, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Patrizb
22 contributions
Oh, where have Spanish chefs gone?
Jul 2019
Sadly, the new Robert Burns’ cuisine is very average and expensive. It left us feeling so disappointed and nostalgic for the old Robbie Burns. We’ve lost one of our favourite restaurants. The end of an era.
Written September 3, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tim J
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
Stunning pub & amazing food!
May 2019 • Friends
The Robbie Burns has a new Sunday roast, we enjoyed the delicious modern pub food and the staff are friendly, will be back!
Written June 5, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

John S
Melbourne, Australia19 contributions
New take on Sunday roast
Mar 2019 • Couples
We visited knowing that the hotel, for decades a beloved strongly Spanish-themed venue, was under new management. Our low expectations vanished when, having ordered classic pub fare, the Sunday roast arrived: generous cuts of pork or beef, with a variety of crisply roasted vegetables. No grey meat or gluggy gravy! Attentive service from Gabrielle and an affordable wine list rounded out a very satisfying Sunday lunch experience.
Written March 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

smabroad
Melbourne, Australia48 contributions
No longer Spanish - no need to come.
Jan 2019 • Couples
We used to come here for the fine Spanish food-- the croquettes, the paella and the postres.

No longer. Now just a plain old pub with normal pub food.

The reason why we used to go there is gone.

Another Collingwood icon gone...
Written January 11, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jroge C
Hong'an County, China6 contributions
Stay away. Horrible.
Dec 2018 • Friends
Just had the worst experience at this place. STAY AWAY. Manager Matt No-i-won't-give-you-my-last-name is too scared to give me his last name but not scared enough to insult us clients with his down appalling attitude. Check yourself, fool.
Written December 7, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bradshaw
Mount Gambier, Australia45 contributions
A Spanish Celtic Experience
May 2017 • Friends
Oh the music. What a great place to catch up with friends. Food was plentiful with a great selection. Wine list was Spanish as you'd expect, so fun to play with. The staff were on the ball to help Spanish food virgins.
Written May 28, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Bradshaw, thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us, and we hope to see you back soon! Cheers, Lucy
Written June 7, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

sandydlozano
Melbourne, Australia188 contributions
Mothers Day fail at the Robert Burns
May 2017
The Robert Burns used to be one of my favourite restaurants but unfortunately, after yesterday's experience, I will not be going back.

We had a large group there celebrating Mothers Day.

In the lead up, the guys there were really great in accommodating our request when we needed to add a few more people which was great. I was told we could either go a la carte or on a set menu - we chose the set menu.

On the day everything that could go wrong, went wrong. After we had all ordered, I was told that we'd been given the wrong set menu and we all had to either change to the other menu or if we wanted to stay in this menu, 5 of us would have to give up the calamari.... 5 of us gave up the calamari. I thought being a set menu that things would come out relatively quickly. It didn't.

The wait for the food was ridiculous. I think it ended up being 3.5 hours plus just for the entree and then a further wait for main. When we did received our entrees, only half of us did, then there was a further wait for the rest.

The paella, when it finally came out, was burnt, dry and lacked seasoning and the churros had seen better days.

The thing that annoyed me the most was that I constantly had to check what was happening, not once did someone come up to us to apologise for the delay.

Ordering drinks and coffees were a nightmare too as we often had to chase up after having ordered.

The waitresses who served us were lovely but there were only 2 staff upstairs for 3 or 4 large groups.

If you are going to overbook your restaurant then please make sure you can keep up with the demand.

So disappointed and will not be returning.
Written May 15, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Sandy, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Firstly, let me apologise for the service you have received, it is certainly not up to our usual standard. We are extremely disappointed to hear that you didn't completely love your time here with us. We would like to discuss the matter further, please do get in touch with us at your earliest convenience on info@robertburnshotel.com.au. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you, Lucy
Written June 7, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Norbert W
24 contributions
Dinning
Feb 2017 • Friends
Excellent,authentic Spanish cuisine,amazing venue for any occasion,friendly and attentive customer service,highly recommended while in Melbourne.
Written February 18, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 16
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing