We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Goodnestone Park

Goodnestone CT3 1PL, England
+44 1304 840107
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Off Season visit

If you have no car, you may have to get to Goodnestone on a bus returning shoppers to the village... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Martin T
,
Deal, United Kingdom
Quite a Gem, ,CASH ONLY.

So pleased we decided to visit, although we did get caught out on the 'cash only' as we only had... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Toni S
,
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Read all 68 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good26%
  • Average19%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
LOCATION
Goodnestone CT3 1PL, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1304 840107
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 66 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

If you have no car, you may have to get to Goodnestone on a bus returning shoppers to the village. More of a problem leaving again! By September the café is closed so eat in the Fitzwalter Arms, but one outer building has an honesty...More

Thank Martin T
Reviewed 1 week ago

So pleased we decided to visit, although we did get caught out on the 'cash only' as we only had payment cards on us, so we had a 20 min drive to reach a cash point. Great for our photo shots, lovely grounds and a...More

Thank Toni S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Goodnestone Gardens in the beginning of September. The park was very calmful and really a place to peacefully stroll around.

Thank aacvg2406
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just spent a leisurely hour at Goodnestone Park Gardens. The gardens were pleasant and tea room functional. Just be aware that it's a cash only payment option, no facilities for card payment ,which unfortunately is not mentioned on the website. Luckily I had a£20 in...More

Thank Lisa R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My sister and I visited on a gorgeous sunny day and arrived as they opened up for the day. Very quiet, which we liked, a lovely walk through all areas, not as big as I thought it would be. Some areas could have been made...More

Thank kentishbelle2016
Reviewed August 6, 2017

Went for a walk and to see the gardens. Had lunch first in the Tea Room. Quaint Tea Room where you had to put your own milk in the cup at the counter and help yourself to salad with what you ordered. We had avocado...More

Thank Rodkoi
Goodnestone, Public Relations Manager at Goodnestone Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Thank you for your comments and for recommending the gardens, we really appreciate your feedback!

Reviewed July 29, 2017

Disappointed as had seen it advertised as “the prettiest garden in Kent”, I have only seen a few gardens while on holiday in Kent but this certainly is not the prettiest. It’s ok, nice walled garden, large trees and shrubs etc but very few flowers...More

Thank LesGUk
Goodnestone, Public Relations Manager at Goodnestone Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are saddened to hear about your experience here at Goodnestone. We didn't make the claim to be 'the prettiest garden in Kent' but the gardens featured under this headline in an article written by a journalist. Unfortunately a bad...More

Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a garden to visit. We had only 3 hours to spent before taking the train to the continent. This garden is OK. A nice estate, unfortunatly we could'nt walk around as it was let. The walled garden is worthwhile a visit....More

Thank Xavier G
Goodnestone, Public Relations Manager at Goodnestone Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments and are glad you chose to visit Goodnestone before your train journey. The area immediately around the house is closed when the house is occupied, and this is reflected in the admission price, but hopefully the...More

Reviewed July 19, 2017

The walled garden was lovely and then hydrangeas in the woodland garden were impressive, but the rest of the garden was pretty basic and needing work in places. Many of the vegetables were left to go past their picking date! Too many weeds in areas...More

Thank margaretelizabet2017
Goodnestone, Public Relations Manager at Goodnestone Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that some aspects of your visit were disappointing and have taken your comments on board.

Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

Given the hype, we had rather big expectations of the garden. Entry charges are expensive which would be OK if the gardens were well maintained. Sadly, they are not. The Gravel Garden is mainly grasses. Don't expect a Beth Chatto-type experience. The Arboretum is overgrown...More

Thank EsmeraldaYorkshire
Goodnestone, Public Relations Manager at Goodnestone Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for your disappointment and have taken everything you have said on board, and are always trying to make improvements.

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
The Fitzwalter Arms
112 reviews
.08 miles away
The Griffin's Head Restaurant
117 reviews
1.27 miles away
The Royal Oak Village Pub & Kitchen
134 reviews
1.52 miles away
The Black Pig
178 reviews
2.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Barnsole Vineyard
38 reviews
2.26 miles away
Wingham Wildlife Park
1,367 reviews
2.56 miles away
Tor Spa Retreat
80 reviews
3.19 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Goodnestone Park staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit