We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Watu Safaris

Features Animals
Morogoro, Tanzania
More
About Watu Safaris
Watu Safaris is a registered Tour Operator based in Morogoro Tanzania. We organize tailor made safaris to suit customers interests, budget and time. Each safari is entirely organized and managed by local Tanzanians with vast local knowledge about life, culture and traditions in Tanzania in a personal, friendly yet professional approach.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Watu Safaris
93Reviews4Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 76
  • 12
  • 3
  • 0
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kgv3 wrote a review Jan 2021
Mobile, Alabama17 contributions1 helpful vote
We were treated like real guests! The staff at Watu is a professional and helpful staff! We had safe transportation with Benson, and he was very knowledgeable about the animals and the habitats.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
Helpful
Share
SinyeeKoh wrote a review Apr 2020
Singapore, Singapore87 contributions108 helpful votes
I booked a 5 day safari made up of Selous (2 days) and Mikumi and Udzungawa Mountains (3 days). Mr Majenda looked after me very well. Victoria accompanied Mr Majenda on some days and she was nice too. I liked Mikumi more than I would. I saw a lot of stuff even though it is a rather small park. On one night an elephant came up to the back patio of the Mikumi Wildlife Lodge room that I was in. It was an experience to be woken up by the sound of branches breaking and to shine a light out and see the trunk of the elephant swaying, so close to me. I also heard the sound of a lion but did not see it. The next morning at breakfast the Mikumi Wildlife Lodge staff told me the elephant had destroyed their football goalpost. The one thing that was not great was the 8 day 7 night Northern Safari that I asked Mr Majenda to help me book with one of his partner tour companies. That was a complete disappointment. I have written a review on that for African Queen Safari. But the southern tour went ok. Be warned Tanzania is a bit off the beaten path so one has to be prepared to rough it! Even if Mr Majenda does try to make us comfortable!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jenna_traveller wrote a review Feb 2020
Winnipeg, Canada104 contributions12 helpful votes
This is a distance from Dar es Salaam, so if travelling from the city be prepared for a longer day. The Safari is small, but there was a variety of animals and they were seen up close. Lunch was really good! This was a good trip and the closest to me, but it was pricey for what it was. I have been to the Serengeti on a previous trip which is much bigger national park if you have the time to travel that far.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Miika H wrote a review Dec 2019
3 contributions
Our one day safari started fine as agreed. On the way to Mikumi one of the tyres broke. With bad equipment the tyre replacement took an hour. The morning drive was fine, our guide Richard was good. He told us info about the animals we saw. At lunchtime the driver and another guy drove to Mikumi village to get another spare tyre. That took quite a long time so we had to wait again... Afternoon drive was fun and even if it didn’t last long it was ok. We started the journey back to Morogoro after 4 pm. An hour later yet another tyre broke completely! This time the guys didn’t try to change it but said that there would be a car coming from Morogoro to pick us. Our driver said that it would take 45 minutes. Finally after waiting for the car for 2 hours and 30 minutes the car arrived. The wait was awful it was getting dark eventually, we were tired, hungry and thisty. Guys did not have any extra water for us. The refreshments included to the tour were just three small bottles of water and that plus our own waters were gone already. We were back in our hotel at 8:30. So... our evening plans were ruined. Next day I tried to negotiate some compensation for the waiting etc. with Majenda. All he would do was to give us 30 $ reduction of the 370 $ tour. Altogether the tour would have been just fine if the company’s vehicles were in decent condition and safe.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from WatuSafaris, Manager at Watu Safaris
Responded Dec 30, 2019
Hello Thanks for the review about our services. Yes during your tour there were delays due to broken tires. The first one the driver had to change and use a spare tire and during lunch they had to go to Mikumi to repair the tire and spare tire, to be able to continue with drive later on the day. After the second incident the spare tire they had had less air that's why they did not try to change and after they called I had to find another tire to bring when bring you the other vehicle to take you to Morogoro. Sometimes things happens that you don't plan to happen, all we would have wanted was for you to have great safari experience. After this tire incidents we have changed all our tires and Spain tires too into new tires to enable our customers to have good experience and safe rides during their safari. Again we are very sorry for the bad experience you had, you are welcome to try us again and experience a different side of our services. Majenda for watusafaris
Read more
John E wrote a review Dec 2019
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania11 contributions6 helpful votes
Everything was perfect with Watu Safaris. We were staying at Mbuyuni Farm Retreat near Morogoro, which is a bit off the beaten path, but Benson was there at 5:30 am sharp for the two-hour drive to Mikumi. The park was amazing with many animals. We were able to catch a glimpse of four lions.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456