We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Las Galeras Divers

Features Animals
Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
More
About Las Galeras Divers
The dive center of Las Galeras - Samana Peninsula - Dominican Republic. We speak English, French, Spanish and German. Las Galeras Divers is a small family dive center offering a personalized service. A maximum of 6 people per group allows to dive into safety and all the dives are always accompanied by PADI certified instructors and qualified divemasters. Diving excursions are offered every day of the year. Given the poor diversity and marine life directly accessible from the shore, all the dives are done from the boat. The dives sites are located between 5 and 20 minutes of navigation, 40 minutes for the farthest points. The diving center Las Galeras Divers exists today for 5 years.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
134Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 121
  • 11
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kenza Z wrote a review Jan 2020
Brussels, Belgium37 contributions2 helpful votes
I booked a two-dive excursion one day in advance and was very well received by the owners. On the day of the dive, the weather conditions were apparently not appropriate to dive. We went to dive anyways, without knowing beforehand it would only be one dive of 28 minutes and that the second dive would be cancelled. I felt really ripped off, as it wasn’t what I asked for and 28 minutes isn’t really diving for me. On top of just getting one poor dive, I had to pay more, as 1 dive is 55$ while 2 dives is 85$. I didn’t even get the opportunity to do the second dive another day. I understand that the weather can’t be controlled and that it is something that can happen, however I feel they knew that the weather was to bad before getting on the boat. Other companies would compensate for the mistake to get on the boat anyways, where here they let me pay for a dive I didn’t even choose and got punished for a cancelled dive as well. Therefor I wouldn’t recommend this diving center, as I felt scammed and wasn’t satisfied, apart from the warm welcome.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine G, Owner at Las Galeras Divers
Responded Jan 11, 2020
Hi Kkenza, Many thanks for having taken the time to write a review for us, Any comment, good or bad is always useful. We are sorry for the bad experience you had but while you were diving, the weather turned unsafe (and no, we didn't know before that the weather was too bad for boarding, it changed in the meantime) and this is why the dive time was shorter than usual. It was not your fault, neither our. Regarding the price, a single dive is not the same price than a 2-tank dive. You cannot calculate half two-tank excursion for a single dive. Our prices are displayed in the dive center. We are a little bit disappointed that you said nothing while we were in front of you and to receive these words afterwards. Anyway, we hope you enjoyed your stay in Las Galeras, which has nice places to discover "on terra firma" as well. Best regards, Christine
Read more
Roving784405 wrote a review Apr 2019
Annapolis, Maryland10 contributions2 helpful votes
I was certified many many years ago but had not been on a dive for 6 years, so I decided to sign up for their "Introduction to SCUBA" to get my feet wet again. Great experience. The dive crew, especially Michelle, were very patient and competent. Took me quite a while to get my buoyancy under control, but Michelle was with me all the way. I also observed a SCUBA class as part of the trip....seemed like great instruction, so if you ever wanted to get certified, this might be the place. The equipment was very up to date and well maintained.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine G, Owner at Las Galeras Divers
Responded Apr 6, 2019
Thank you Roving for having taken the time to write a review for us. All the staff is glad that you are now ready again for new scuba adventures and we hope you will keep on diving! We wish you all the best. Kind regards, Christine, Serge, Ernst & Michèle
Read more
Carmin L wrote a review Mar 2019
Montreal, Canada1 contribution
I did a Diving initiation with Serge on March 17th, 2019... First time for me and Serge is very good teacher and very patient.... We feel all the time that we were in good hands... I highly recommend Las Galeras Divers as they are the best....Carmin
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine G, Owner at Las Galeras Divers
Responded Apr 2, 2019
Merci Carmin! Thanks a lot for your kind words. We were also pleased to share this time with you and we are really glad you enjoyed your first scuba experience. Take care. We wish you all the best, Christine & Serge
Read more
Dudu Lagoon - Laguna Dudú wrote a review Mar 2019
Cabrera, Dominican Republic8 contributions
Excellent one on one focus and exceptional safety to client. They know where all the cool spots are located. Was well worth the price and the time.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine G, Owner at Las Galeras Divers
Responded Mar 21, 2019
Many thanks for your review! We always appreciate comments and feedback. Hope to see you again soon, Christine & Serge
Read more
adventuretravel30 wrote a review Mar 2019
kansas city29 contributions60 helpful votes
The dive shop is convenient in town and the people that own it were very nice. However, I did two days of diving with them and then moved on to another dive shop that was a better fit for me. I think this company is probably good for beginners but they really limit your underwater time. So if you are a beginner that is fine but I usually had half my air left in my tank and plenty of time left on my computer. The dive times are around 30 minutes and it seemed like quite a hassle to only spend that much time in the water. I can't remember if the dive master had a computer on but he claimed the short dive time was determined by our depth. My max depth was 76 feet and I had plenty of time. It also seemed like they wanted to keep you very close together, almost on top of each other and I really don't care for that. Anyway, I think if you are a beginner this is a good choice, otherwise you might be disappointed. I gave them 4 stars because the beginners in the group seemed to really enjoy the dives.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine G, Owner at Las Galeras Divers
Responded Mar 21, 2019
Hello adventuretravel30, Thank you so much for having taken the time to write a review for us. It is always rewarding and appreciated to have a feedback, especially if this feedback is coming from an experienced diver like you. As the divemaster obviously had a computer (like all our other guides (instructors)), we still have the parameters of the totality of the dives, and for 2 successive dives at 76 feet, a bottom time of around 38 minutes is correct. We were happy that you came back for a second day of diving with us during your stay in Las Galeras, despite of these inconveniences and even if during this second day of diving, there were beginners mixed with experienced divers. We hope you had good times during the rest of your holiday and that you had the opportunity to discover other beautiful diving sites around. All the best, Christine & Serge
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Dominican Republic
from $76.93
More Info
from $61.54
More Info
from $150.00
More Info
from $55.00
More Info