The Last Resort

The Last Resort, Tatopani: Tickets, Tours, Address, Phone Number, The Last Resort Reviews: 4.5/5

The Last Resort
4.5
About
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
The area
Address
Popular mentions

4.5
89 reviews
Excellent
60
Very good
18
Average
4
Poor
5
Terrible
2

Deepak Mallyk
Bengaluru, India18 contributions
Adrenalin Rush
Dec 2019
If you are going to Kathmandu, this place is a must-visit. It has multiple adventure activities such as bungee jumping, canyon swing, rappelling (wet and dry). I did all three activities and I was super excited all day. The way to this place is also very serene and beautiful. I can assure you that any person who likes to do adventures will be super happy after visiting this place. I haven't stayed in the resort, but from what I saw I would recommend staying for a night there amidst the mountains. Check the days on which these activities are open before planning the trip.
Written February 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Community Trek
Kathmandu, Nepal38 contributions
It was life time Adventure
Aug 2019
I made the Bungy Jump in Last Resort just a month ago. This was absolutely lifetime adventure moment for me. The atmosphere around so beautiful so naturally. The team of Last Resort is 100/100. I would like to recommend to you all a list overnight trip in this beautiful place. Namsate!!
Written September 1, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Namaste, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you had a great time with us and we are so grateful for your kind recommendation. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Written September 3, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chris E
Cardiff, UK25 contributions
Last Resort Bungy Jump + Canyon Swing off 160m Suspension Bridge - Awesome
May 2019 • Solo
Having completed the Everest Base Camp Trek 3 days earlier, I decided to round off my Nepal Adventure with one of the Worlds higher Bungy Jumps plus add in a Canyon (Tarzan) Swing.

There's no trip on a Monday.
I booked at The Last Resort Shop (Thamel area of Kathmandu).

Whilst I was travelling solo I joined a group of 12 (mixed nationalities / sexes) and travelled by coach (okayish condition) from Kathmandu after an early morning start taking some 4 hours to travel the 100km to The Last Resort site high in the Himalayas near the Tibet border.

Word of caution 're the road up into the mountains .... there are substantial construction works going on what I guess must be 10km+ of the section of road leading to / from the Resort .... I believe this is a Nepal / China joint venture to improve road connections ... this makes for a very bumpy and dusty 30 mins or so ... be prepared although I thought it added to the experience.

The LRS is on the opposite side of the Gorge and accessed by walking across a long suspension bridge which gives you the first view of the river some 160m below .... the Resort itself is very well presented and caters for vacations as well as the Bungy / Swing.

After a professional presentation, everybody is weighed / recorded on your arm and it's off to the bridge for the Jumps......
.... the guys preparing you give you every confidence they know what they're doing with all the gear / fittings treble checked and they make sure you're comfortable / ready for what's to come...

... whilst they tell you to look ahead / not look down .... you are bound to ignore this ... believe me it's high and all your senses tell you that you're crazy !!

... they video you and strap a Go Pro to your wrist ... you are not allowed to take your own cameras on the Jumps altho there is a view point this has limited line of sight.

I elected to do both the Bungy Jump (swing under the bridge after the bounce) and Canyon Swing (swing away from the bridge).... both from same start point on bridge .... Bungy first (pulled back up to thw Bridge) then 20 mins or so later the Swing ...
..... both were excellent with such an adrenaline rush when you're in Freefall ....

... I would say that for me the Swing was perhaps marginally better as the Freefall is slightly longer but be aware you are pulled in to the bottom of the Gorge and you have to then follow a "nature trail" initially along the river then back up the 160m to the top ... takes about 30 min and it is hot work ...

When everybodys jumped, the videos are played back / you can elect to buy .... for me worth getting (with T Shirt thrown in) ...
... then a pretty decent Lunch is served and after which it's back on the coach for the return trip ...

It is a long day on the coach (one comfort break each way) for what are relatively quick Jumps ...
...... but for me well worth it as it's not every day you get to challenge yourself to throw yourself off a bridge 160m above a river, going into Freefall, in quite breathtaking surroundings ..
Written May 24, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michael H
Anchorage, AK21 contributions
Bungy Thrill: The Last Resort, Nepal
Mar 2019 • Friends
Daytrip from Kathmandu to The Last Resort, this by bus (TLR arranges this) for a few hours (one-way). Once you arrive at the destination you'll step out of the bus, where you'll have a very short walk before you're facing the bridge above the Bote Khosi River.

Out there in the center of the bridge, is where the fun takes place. Mountains on bith sides, the river beneath, the beautiful sky above, and now you are all set. The accommodating, friendly and energetic staff will do their best to give you a great experience. You guys sure did great!

Now, while waiting for your turn to do the jump/or swing, have fun with the fellow jumpers, enjoy the jumps, enjoy the surroundings. After the jump you can relax at TLR's relaxing compound, have some food, some drinks, and great smiles and laughs of your jump (or others jumps).

I'll highly recommend paying TLR a visit!

Last, but not least. As you are about to jump, remember this; Never hesitate. 3, 2, 1, bungy...
Written April 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Celia
60 contributions
Great fun!
Aug 2017 • Friends
Amazing experience, would definitely recommend it even if you’re unsure! I did both the bungee and the canyon swing. I felt very safe and the staff was professional. I did it in one day and we got back as late as you’d expect in normal traffic, especially if you want to save money I don’t think you need to stay overnight — that being said, it’s lovely up there so if you can afford to stay, why not!

Written July 26, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bhavesh S
29 contributions
This is one of the top 10 bungees in the world for a reason!!!
Apr 2018 • Friends
I will start with the bad, then go to the good and then to the awesome!!!

The bad: The road to the last resort is horrible, takes almost 4-5 hours one way from Kathmandu. So if you are going for just the day and return, the way we did, i would say think again. I think the wiser thing would be to stay a night at the last resort especially if you are group of friends. We couldn't because we were short of time.

The good: The staff are very friendly and professional at their work.

The awesome: The bridge has a breathtaking view of the valley and the river bhote koshi. The bungee was exhilarating and the bungee team is very good at what they do. The video/photography team was also great at their work and delivered what they said they would.

The adventure activities are reasonably priced.

One star is missing in my review solely because of the road to the place.
Written April 24, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shouvik G
Dhaka, Shantinagar, Bangladesh53 contributions
A must visit : Amazing activities, great crew, but..
Mar 2018 • Friends
We went to The Last Resort in a group of three from Bangladesh. All of us took the Canyon Swing and then stayed there for a night. It takes a 4/5 hours journey from Thamel to the place and the road is not in good condition in most sections. After you have reached the resort parking zone, you will be able to see the suspension bridge and other people doing their jumps. You will feel the thrill of it right then :D

After that it takes 2/3 hours queue time for your activity depending on the crowd (we went there on Saturday : weekend in Nepal) We did the Canyon Swing and it was an exciting experience.

And then we stayed there overnight. Now, this is when things went a bit slow. The resort is situated in a beautiful, serene place but there is no wifi or tv so you have very little to do with your devices. Bring a book or go in a group of people so that you can spend the time without boredom. You can also ascend to the river below and roam around.

Their shuttle bus leaves the place at around 3/4 pm and it takes another 4/5 hours journey back to Thamel.

So, doing a day trip could be hectic as you will be travelling 8/9 hours in a day for 5 mins activity.

It was a splendid experience. A must visit.
Written March 29, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anika R
2 contributions
Tandem Swing
Dec 2017 • Friends
Very irresponsive incase of checking mail...they just mailed me the video which was shot by the wrist camera after mailing them a couple of times...still didnt get the main video shot by the cameraman from above
Written December 10, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Martin B
15 contributions
15 hours for 5 minutes
Nov 2017 • Solo
First of all, the bungee team were very professional and courteous which was great.

The main problem was in the huge amount of time it took to travel to the facility and the reasons for this.

It was a 15 hour day of travel and waiting around for only a couple of minutes taking part in the activity and I feel that this could really be improved.

- there was a lot of stopping and waiting while we were getting underway and had I known that the bus left from right outside my hotel instead of Thamel, this would have saved a lot of time

- the main issue was waiting 3 hours once we had finished. I feel this is a very poor use of everyone's time, especially since it was for 4 people who had gone cycling (and who later got off just down the road).

- To make 20 people wait that long for no good reason is a waste of time, but driving at night is also dangerous and should be avoided where possible.

Really do have to highlight that the staff are great and the location is also beautiful. Just take into account the travel time when considering this activity.
Written November 15, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Martin, Thank you so much for your review. There is not much we can do in regards to distance or the condition of the road. We always tell our clients at our sales office regarding time spent on travel. Its just a reality that we live with and for a majority of our clients, its not an issue. However, if you were not told of the travel time in advance please do let us know and we will look into it. We do not go around picking up clients from their hotels. Just imagine how much longer you would be spending on the bus if we stopped to pick up 15 clients in the morning. This really is neither realistic or practical. I am sure you can imagine all sorts of problems that we would be stirring if we considered this. We will look into the cycling issue and improve on this for sure. But again, this is exactly what I mean with hotel pick ups too :) Just imagine us waiting outside of 5 different hotels every morning. We will definitely make sure this does not happen again. Really sorry your experience was not as expected. The Last Resort Family
Written November 16, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

rhys0012014
Indore, India5 contributions
Great Place to bungee. Shame about the guy who organizes the videos though
Nov 2016 • Solo
I did the bungee here and was really impressed by the staff's training and professionalism. Both the bungee master and the young guy prepping us were the best I've ever experienced. It is a great location up by the Tibetan border and you can even stay at night. The only negative was the guy who sells the videos after. He was rude and rather obnoxious to say the least. Think he's lost sight of the fact that its people like us who pay his wages, something that I hope the owners could remind him as otherwise the trip was perfect. Thanks guys, A+++ for adventure and professionalism.
Written September 26, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 79
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing