We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Eden Camp Modern History Theme Museum

| Eden Camp, Malton YO17 6RT, England
+44 1653 697777
Website
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Housed within the buildings and grounds of a former Prisoner of War camp, a visit to this unique museum will take you back to wartime Britain. Experience the sights, sounds and even smells of life on both the Home Front and the Front Line.
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“pow camp” (138 reviews)
“world war” (127 reviews)
“u boat” (48 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
| Eden Camp, Malton YO17 6RT, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1653 697777
Write a ReviewReviews (2,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pow camp"
in 138 reviews
"world war"
in 127 reviews
"u boat"
in 48 reviews
"music hall"
in 47 reviews
"puppet show"
in 46 reviews
"air raid"
in 28 reviews
"war years"
in 53 reviews
"visit eden"
in 30 reviews
"military vehicles"
in 29 reviews
"different theme"
in 33 reviews
"stew"
in 29 reviews
"gift shop"
in 130 reviews
"school children"
in 59 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 171 reviews
"sounds and smells"
in 58 reviews
"assault course"
in 25 reviews
"value for money"
in 117 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 2,180 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Really enjoyed my visit price was good every Hut gave me information or gave me memories from my service. Enjoyed seeing the school children enthusiastically looking and learning about our history and hopefully seeing war is not the answer but we are resourceful when under...More

Thank 42rodney67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

On holiday with my family recently we spent the day at Eden Camp and really enjoyed it. We visited a few years ago and thought we would go back again. Since our last visit my husband who has walking difficulties now needs a wheelchair to...More

Thank Kissy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

We really enjoyed our visit and we learnt things that we didn’t know. Although well laid out it is very tiring and there is a lot to take in. As someone else mentioned the huts are cold and I was pleased I had my gloves...More

Thank lovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Excellent place to visit so happy to visited this place of history.well worth visiting and looking around.great archive of history to view and also smell too so you get the sense of how it was.theres a cafe there too what do great food and the...More

Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Found this place by chance on the TA app when staying in the area. My eldest is studying WW2 at school at the moment so a trip here was a no brainer. The longer we spent here the more we liked it. Its a pay...More

Thank aly-rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Excellent day out with masses of information and exhibits mainly relating to World War 2 but also covering other conflicts. Would appeal to anyone with an interest in social history. Lovely cafe on site.

Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Discovered this by accident. £10 per adult with free parking. Loads of themed huts to explore. Really interesting artefacts. Well laid out. Cafe clean and varied menu. We spent over 3 hours here and could have spent 2/3 hours more.

Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took our Grandson here and he loved it, All the sights and smells from a street in London during the blitz to a U boat and prisoner of war camp. This is for all ages from young to old there is something for everybody,...More

Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you like war history then this is the place for you with the sights sounds and smells. So much information inside the huts to keep you busy for hours. Thoroughly enjoyable day.

Thank SteveLorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visit by 3 generations of our family with the youngest being 6 and the oldest 79. Definitely something for everyone. Despite pretty miserable weather the majority of exhibits are inside so it didn't lessen or enjoyment. Recreations of a submarine, wartime blackout, the work of...More

Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Malton
The Old Lodge
563 reviews
1.23 miles away
Suddaby's Crown Hotel
23 reviews
1.31 miles away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
1,355 reviews
1.48 miles away
Burythorpe House
591 reviews
5.16 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Wentworth Arms
7 reviews
.46 miles away
No.46 Cafe/Bar
176 reviews
1.32 miles away
Leoni's
174 reviews
1.32 miles away
Chapter One Bistro
522 reviews
1.35 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Flamingo Land Resort
163 reviews
3.94 miles away
Scampston Walled Garden
247 reviews
4.34 miles away
Stokesley Leisure Centre
7 reviews
1.60 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
humphreys6192
December 19, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from EdenCampManagement | Property representative |
2018 Admissions are : £10.00 per adult, £8.50 per Child (aged 5-16)/Senior Citizen/Disabled. We also offer Family Tickets and discounts to groups of 10 or more(groups must pre-book).
0
Votes
Julie W
August 19, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from EdenCampManagement | Property representative |
Hi Julie, Thanks for your enquiry regarding wheelchairs. I am pleased to let you know that we do have wheelchairs available that can be borrowed from our Reception Office free of charge. They are manual chairs that need to... More
1
Vote
mollyfoster
August 12, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from EdenCampManagement | Property representative |
Hello MollyFost, Yes you can pay for your admission using your Credit/Debit card. We can also take card payments in the Café, Shop, Bar and Ice Cream Kiosk.
0
Votes