We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saltburn Surf School

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
More
About Saltburn Surf School
Saltburn Surf School and Hire. Fully accredited Surf School, providing lessons for all levels and ages. Surf lessons, courses, hire of equipment and shop selling new and secondhand equipment.
Read more
Travelers talk about

Saltburn Surf School
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
57Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 53
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
mfcrob wrote a review Aug 2021
Winterley, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
My family attended a 2 hour surf lesson this afternoon and what a great time we had. Jonas and Owen were great instructors friendly helpful and very encouraging even when faced with a couple of oldies. My sons and my eldest’s girlfriend did really well with some excellent instruction and help were able to surf each riding a few waves each, We haven’t laughed so much in ages. Everyone was very helpful and I would highly recommend them for a great time. And thanks for not laughing at us when we were trying to put the wetsuits on!!!!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Nick V wrote a review Aug 2020
Helmsley, United Kingdom14 contributions4 helpful votes
Had this booked as a Birthday present, was a tad apprehensive but got to admit, I ruddy loved it. Chris was my instructor and he was great, put you at ease, helped you when needed and gave you space to practice. I'd thoroughly recommend this if you are in the area or have always wanted to give it a go! Due to Covid, there are no changing facilities so be prepared to squeeze into your wetsuit at the side or behind the surf school
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
neil d wrote a review Aug 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
My 2 boys (aged 10 & 13) had a great time on their 2 hour surf lesson. All the staff were very helpful and the instructor was particularly good and attentive. He spent time with them on the beach making sure they understood the basics and continued to make sure they got the help they needed once they were in the water. He was also constantly making sure the group was safe from other surfers. Will definitely book this again.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Sam C wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
My son was booked onto a one day surfing course. However, the day before he suffered a severe allergic reaction. Which included lip, cheeks and a full body rash. I contacted the surf school and spoke with Zoee the organiser. Firstly I tried to explain the circumstances, this was met which felt like the riots act from Zoee. Due to her lack of empathy for my son it made me fume. She failed to ask how he was? and actually said she couldn't help that my son was unwell. She also addressed me as Madam! I just wanted a kind sincere, understanding person who would be willing to change the dates. The customer service I received was absolutely shocking! Thank goodness my son was unable to attend. I would never consider or recommend this Surf School to anyone. Zoee was all about MONEY! Kay Sozen
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Saltburn S, Owner at Saltburn Surf School
Responded Sep 2, 2020
Mrs Sozen, Again we reiterate we are sorry to hear that your son was unwell and hope that he is feeling much better. I (Zoee) did say that I was sorry to hear of you son being taken ill and hoped that he was ok. You call was recieved the afternoon before the lesson your son was due to attend. I started the conversation with your husband, who was very respectful and calm. I explained our policy as per our website. That having held this place and turned other custom away, that it was highly unlikely that we woul be able to fill this slot by the next day. It would be like booking a ticket for a concert and then the day before contacting a huge corporation and asking for a refund or rearrangement. If I had been given the chance I would have explained that if I could have filled the space I would have gladly offered a rearrangement, completely dependant on us filling the space that we had saved for your son for a period of time, blocking this booking out. But I did not have the chance you took the phone from your husband and started shouting at me. It is at this point good will went out of the window im afraid and I refused to be shouted at. Having served in the British Army the term Madam to me is used with the upmost respect, I appolgised to you at that point as you seemed to find it offensive, but I can assure you I did not mean it in a disrespectful way. We are sorry again that your son was taken ill, and hope he feels better soon.
Read more
Vanessa M wrote a review Aug 2020
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
My kids (10 and 12) have just had an amazing surf lesson this week. Chris their instructor was great, helping them choose the right equipment and available for me to ask questions. Both of them had a great time, neither had tried it before. The loved it so much we went back yesterday to just hire the boards which was cheap enough and they had fun. Thank you Saltburn Surf School!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456