The Play Factory

The Play Factory, Saltburn-by-the-Sea: Hours, Address, The Play Factory Reviews: 4.5/5

The Play Factory
4.5
10:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Monday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Sunday
10:30 AM - 6:30 PM
About
A fabulous indoor play centre, for children of all ages (and the adults love it too!) With hours of entertainment, good quality food and beverages. Its a great place to visit, kids having fun, tiring themselves out whilst parents can sit and relax with a nice coffee and a paper. Large play frame, Go Carts (£1) Twin astro slides, 45 degree super slide, Bungeed reactor tower, ball cannons, sports court, Party facilities with themed party rooms
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

4.5
67 reviews
Excellent
38
Very good
21
Average
4
Poor
3
Terrible
1

LauraEmily98
North East England, UK10 contributions
Great place for kids.
Mar 2019 • Friends
The play factory is a great place to bring young children to keep them entertained for a couple of hours. Family of the young child can sit and enjoy a nice meal whilst the child plays. The food is absolutely gorgeous and I can’t recommend having a meal there enough, and the facilities of the play factory for the children are really really good.
Written January 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Thank you so much for taking the time to give such lovely feedback. It really is very much appreciated. We hope you make the most of your play passport and build up plenty of loyalty points. I'm sure you will be due a free visit soon x Thanks again, your feedback will be passed to the team. Regards Jenny General manager
Written February 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jill B
Whitby, UK81 contributions
Fun fun and more fun
Nov 2019
Come here on a regular basis with my grandson it is very good plenty for them to play with,and nice sandwich for lunch too
Written December 30, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Thank you ever so much for taking the time to give a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards Jenny General manager
Written February 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Deborah
Leeds73 contributions
Good soft play
Jul 2019 • Family
The Play Factory is well equipped, the staff are friendly and most importantly, it's always clean! Food, drinks and entry are decently priced.
I knocked one star off though because there are always big kids in the toddler area! I'll give credit where it's due, staff do sometimes clear them out but it should be the responsibility of the parents who are too busy on their phones or chatting to their friends. There are quite often under 1's or toddlers just finding their feet in the Toddler Area, so it's not nice when groups of rowdy kids who look about 10 are in there storming around and pushing the little ones over.
Written July 31, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dell_Zincht
Middlesbrough, UK15 contributions
Friendly staff, shame about other parents
May 2019 • Family
Let me start by saying that I don't claim to be the greatest parent in the world. Obviously i'm not, but I supervise my children in these sorts of places as while it is soft play, accidents can happen. I also want to ensure that my children play nice with others. Therefore it's a shame to see that so many parents let their kids run loose while they sit back either with a coffee or on their phones. My child had a toy stolen from them from a slightly older child, whose parents were nowhere to be seen. This led to an ethical dilemma in my head - do I admonish the child in the absence of their parent, or do I allow my own child to be bullied? I chose the latter and am ashamed in retrospect but what are you supposed to do in that situation?

Anyway, the actual play centre is very good, there's lots for kids to do and places to explore and it's relatively adult friendly (essential when you're following a 3 year old around the place!) and the staff are friendly and attentive. The lady on the entrance desk showed empathy when we were leaving with said 3 year old who was having a tantrum (she didn't want to leave so it must be good!)

There is hot and cold food on site, with lots of healthy options for children and adults, Veggie options and even Gluten free options, which is a big bonus. We didn't eat on this occasion but we have in the past and it was good then.

All in all this is one of the better soft play areas in the area, quite a few we've been to have surly, uninterested staff and often loud music, the radio was on when we visited but it was background noise and easily tuned out.
Written May 3, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

lin1256611
North Yorkshire, UK5 contributions
Entry requirements
Apr 2019
This is a good facility for children and gives hours of fun in a safe setting. However, on arrival I was promptly asked for my name and address together with the children’s names and dates of birth and after asking several questions learned that the information would be “stored for next time” so I wouldn’t have to repeat it and would be given a card. This was not a choice and eventually it became clear it was to do with regulations. I get that fire regulations etc may call for some sort of register but I absolutely hate that I’m not offered the opportunity to have the information removed on leaving or even given an explanation for why it is needed in the first place! I do not want my children’s names and dates of birth logged in a system I have no control over. Please leave a visible sign at the reception area explaining what information is required on entry by law (it was made clear to me I couldn’t get in without providing it although I had a paid voucher) and what can be done to remove it. Staff tried to be helpful (they are all very pleasant there) but they did struggle to explain and couldn’t find any written information although they did agree to remove my data on leaving.
Written April 7, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our centre :) We are always trying to improve the service we provide, in regards to customer service, value for money and safety. We have moved over to what is known as a leisure management system, and as you rightly said, it's primary use is to monitor who is in our building at all times should we ever need a fire report (fingers crossed we don't). It is also so that we know exactly who is in our building, should there ever be any safeguarding or security concerns, we hope this will act as a welfare barrier for both our customers and our team. Just as if you were to go into a school / nursery setting you would provide your details. You can always request your information to be removed, in line with GDPR, the team on shift cannot always do this, as it needs to be a management log in to do this, but the Supervisor who you spoke to on the day did give me a call (I was on shift at another centre) and request this on your behalf. There are other benefits that you may opt in to if you wish that include receiving monthly offers from ourselves (we never have and never will share any of the information we store with any third party) and you can pre-register for our loyalty points (starting in May) that will work a bit like a boots card where you collect points for everything you spend, then you can use them to pay for entry / food / drinks etc. however, this is an opt in, so you aren't automatically enrolled unless you request to be, again in line with GDPR. I hope this helps, change is always disruptive, and this is new to all of us, but we do believe that it will make us a better facility all round. I hope this provides some clarity, and I hope you choose to visit us again in the future. Kind Regards, Jaki Assistant General Manager Jaki@endeavourleisure.net
Written April 8, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

kayleeteese
9 contributions
Great day
Mar 2019 • Family
Came up from manchester to visit kids family and stopped in here for a few hours. Great staff, food was nice too.. Love the chunky chips :) Coffee was decent too!
Written March 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Thanks for taking the time to review the centre. And great to hear your all had fun, and some nice food! See you again soon Thanks Jenny General Manager
Written March 24, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

tipinandout
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, UK6 contributions
Play
Dec 2018 • Family
Really disappointed with the food it’s normally great but now the chips are not handmade and the children’s mash looks like it’s been pulled out of a jacket potato, everyone’s food was brought to the table and my child meal was brought last and was told it’s really hot , so we all finished before my child could eat
Written December 30, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit. The chips we serve nearly 362 days of the year are fresh cut chips. However over Christmas deliveries have been limited from our fresh fruit and veg supplier. And as the fresh cut chips deteriorate we would not serve them. Unfortunately the day you have visited must have been a day when we have had to use a frozen alternative. I would need to look into the issue around the mash as this is usually made daily. If you could message or call us directly so we can rectify this issue it would be greatly appreciated. 01642 767588 , please ask to speak to the supervisor on shift. Many Thanks Jenny General Manager
Written January 3, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Silverdevilangelgirl
Skelton-in-Cleveland, UK42 contributions
Brilliant
Sep 2018 • Family
My little one loves it here. It’s got even better since they made some changes to the play frame and added a new slide.
The staff are always lovely and friendly and go out of their way to help you where they can. The food is always excellent and very good value.
We have been to many parties here and the new party packages are brilliant and cater to all tastes.
We love coming here and always leave having had a fab time.
Written October 14, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, Thank you for your lovely feedback, we're so please to see you enjoy coming to visit us! Have you got one of our loyalty cards? They are available for entry and hot beverages, once you've visited 4 times or bought 4 drinks your 5th is free :) Best Regards Jaki Assistant General Manager
Written October 17, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Simon T
4 contributions
Cheap fun & decent food
Aug 2018 • Family
Cheap play for the kids (adults too) the food was pretty good for a soft play business.

Would recommend if your local & looking for some cheap easy fun for the kids.
Written August 28, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mel Wadsworth
Mirfield, UK989 contributions
Great for Kids
Aug 2018 • Family
Whilst staying in Moorsholm on holiday, we had a very wet day so wanted take to our 3 yr old to use some energy indoors.

Just the place! Plenty to do, clean tables and chairs and nice little cafe. My daughter was happy playing for 1 1/2 hours and then super worn out!

Would recommend for a rainy day in!
Written August 26, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 67
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing