Plaka Beach

Plaka Beach, Vasilikos: Address, Phone Number, Plaka Beach Reviews: 4/5

Write a review

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
130 reviews
Excellent
63
Very good
39
Average
10
Poor
5
Terrible
13

Daniëlle V
63 contributions
Family
We are staying in Lithakia but visit this beach bar often because it is a stunning place with very kind people at the Beach Bar and Restaurant. The sandy beach is without any stones and there is a shower you can use after swimming. The food is also great! Best place on the island if you ask us.
Written August 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Melissa J
Amsterdam, The Netherlands8 contributions
The beach is nice and relatively quiet. If you eat at the restaurant you can use the beds on the lawn for free. The restaurant is excellent and worthwhile visiting. The guy at the snack bar is as mentioned by other reviewers is highly annoying, treating people as if they are cheaters . Apparently you are not allowed to eat if you are using the beds on the lawn. He made my son of 14 stop eating an apple !?!
We did not use the beach as much as we wanted because he was so annoying.
A real shame!
Written August 7, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Milijana P
Vicenza, Italy41 contributions
Family
Very cozy beach with great restaurant and bar to enjoy a day in the sun . Sunbeds are 8€ . Water is clear and sand is soft... easy to reach for the road is not difficult...
Written August 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Anca S
Slatina, Romania10 contributions
Family
The beach is beautiful, the day we visited the water was calm.
The tavern close to the beach, also rents the sunbeds. They don't offer the posibility to pay by POS for the sunbeds, and moreover the employee that came to charge us was verry rude. He asked where we were coming from and was verry sarcastic telling us that in his years working there he didn't see people from our contry paying with cards.
Also the bar is far from the beach and there are no waiters to take your order or bring you The beverages.
Overall beautiful beach but we won't visit again because of the staff.
Written August 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Sue S
175 contributions
Family
This is the worst beach on Zante. I have been visiting Zante for 30 years,
We always read reviews; and so were aware that the beach had a 'guard dog'.
We approached the entrance, walking through the area where it said 'sunbeds for customers only'. That is reasonable. I have to lay on the sand, as I have spinal injuries, and to
stand I have 'log roll' over to get up. Therefore my children, have always laid on the sand,
with our towels, this is what we enjoy most. The sun sand sea. As we walked to the path to the
sea, we were told if we did not pay 5 euros each, we could not go any further. I told him that 'that was unlawful, and the Zante Police told me years ago, that no beach was privately owned'. He told me he owned it, and got very aggressive, indicating violence if we went any further.
We were all very shocked, I had my two girls with me, and I know that others on the beach could hear....so more people should report him. If he gets away with this, others may try and Zante will be ruined. Some one needs to sort this guy out. Preferably the Police.
(we didnt let the vile, disgusting man ruin our day, St. Nicks, was lovely, we laid in the sand, had fun, and bought from the bar there)
Written August 7, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Keith W
2 contributions
Couples
Beware of the little Hitler in charge of the bar and sunbeds. Spent 17 euros on drinks and was refused wifi password until we had eaten in the restaurant. Needless to say we went elsewhere. Went next door to the much friendlier Vrahos beach.
Written July 7, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

XhDani
Tirana, Albania3 contributions
While we were on vacation in Zakynthos we chose Plaka Beach as one of our destinations . We went early in the morning and we took 4 sunbeds , at the entrance it was written 2 sunbeds for 6€ . When the bartender came to collect the money he said 8€ for two sunbeds ...... We paid him , then we asked him why the sign said 6€ . Replying at us very aggressively he said that the sunbeds in the first row are 8€ the others are 6€. Later we asked for the wi-fi password and he gave us 4 passwords for 4 sunbeds. At lunch we decided to return to the hotel . When we returned at the beach we asked him why the wi-fi didn't work and he said with an ironic tone that the wi-fi was valid for 3 hours.............if he believes that his behavior is correct he'll end up losing his business .👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎
Written August 30, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

olivie82
Athens, Greece2 contributions
Family
We stayed at the place for 8 nights in July 2014. Regardless of the name the place can hardly be considered a resort. What it actually consists of is a nice, although incomparable to st. Nicolas beach nearby, semi private little beach, a beach bar, a family owned beach tavern and a bloc of apartments.

Positive: spacious, clean, well-equipped room, nice location

Negative:
Breakfast – LUDICROUSLY poor and inadequate, even for a continental one, not one glass of water, should you choke you had to first order a bottle of water, never ever any napkins on the table, except those used to fold the knife and fork, miraculously shrinking breakfast (the second day the boiled egg corresponding per person was replaced by some tomato slices, the day after that, tomato disappeared as well), shamelessly, on our last morning there, when some new foreign guests asked for some eggs with their breakfast the son’s owner replied that they were not on the menu!
Wifi - non existent
Service: disrespectful behavior of the landlady, who served also in the tavern. She basically refused to serve us when we tried to order some mousaka for our little son by ironically replying that she “had never heard of such a THING” and that they “didn’t know how to cook such a food”, therefore she could not serve us. I do not know exactly whether they were bothered by the fact that we had lunch there only once, but such a behavior is, to say the least, unprofessional and unbecoming, certainly not for someone charging their rooms 90 euro a day. Furthermore, the supposedly better price they offer on “package” of meal regarding their guests is higher than the price you pay if you chose them, at your suiting, directly from the catalogue. Lastly, the half price for children under 2 regarding such packages, “does not apply”, as the owner answered us, no matter what is stated on the hotel site.

All in all, I would not revisit the hotel or recommend it to anyone, no matter the lovely room, especially taking into account the other hotels we saw and ate at nearby, nor visit the certain beach after having swum at the wonderful beach of st. nickolas which is within walking distance, literally around the corner. I would only give this hotel a second chance if, for some reason, the management were passed at someone else.
Written July 28, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Mi H
Switzerland28 contributions
Family
Arriving in our rental car at 18:00h in the evening and parking on the practically empty parking lot, we, a family of four with two small kids, wanted to take a short swim in the sea and then drink something at the bar/restaurant, that seemed to be lovely.

On our way to the beach we were followed and then stopped by the barman asking us to pay 6 Euro for sunbeds and umbrella. Remember: 6 in the evening, beach heading northeast, no sunset...

Our explanations were rudely stopped by telling us that it is a private property. The bar man said, this are the rules we have to accept. He asked his 6 Euros again. The man told us “his rules“ in a rude and demanding way, so we decided to leave immediatly.

As I asked the man if he knows TripAdvisor he lost his contenance and tried to intimidate us, by wiriting the rental cars plates and saying, that he will find out our place where we stay.

I wonder if his behaviour brings him luck and satisfaction for all his future live. We wish all the best and ask: Out of business in a few years?
Written July 14, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

aksacam
4 contributions
Family
One of the best beach we have seen.
Ruined by the little rude/uncivil/arrogant beach manager. Better going anywhere else if you want to avoid bad vibrations....
Written July 26, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 61
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Plaka Beach