We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Omega Divers Chania Diving Center

Features Animals
Almyrida, Greece
More
About Omega Divers Chania Diving Center
Omega Diving Center Chania, is a PADI 5 Star Diving Resort which offers recreational scuba diving and courses for novice and experienced divers maintaining the highest possible standards of diver safety and education.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Omega Divers Chania Diving Center

Boat Trip and Snorkeling Tour in Chania

Immerse yourself in the Aegean Sea with this 3-hour guided snorkeling trip from Chania. All equipment is provided. Swim in the crystal blue waters in Almyrida Chania and explore reefs, caves and see the Elephant Cave of Crete.
Read more
3 hours
from $84.01

Scuba Diving for Beginners in Chania

Immerse yourself in the Aegean Sea near Chania with this exciting scuba dive for beginners. Learn how to dive from an experienced instructor and then head under the water to explore the sea life in the Aegean.
Read more
3 hours
from $107.22
355Reviews7Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 319
  • 23
  • 5
  • 4
  • 4
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lærke B wrote a review Oct 16
1 contribution
The sweetest staff and they are good at their job. I took a rescue diver course and an adventure dive and both were amazing! Thank you Omega!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from OmegaDivers, Front Office Manager at Omega Divers Chania Diving Center
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your nice words Laerke! It was a pleasure meeting you and we are really happy that you enjoyed your time with us as much as we did. We really appreciate your kindness and it was a great bliss having you joining us for your course and dives! We hope we will see you again in the future for more dives and underwater adventures.
Read more
Katrine Marie H wrote a review Oct 4
1 contribution
Fantastic experience with the amazing omega diver team. Safe and fun. The instructors are great. Would definitely recommend a trip to the elephant cave.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from OmegaDivers, Front Office Manager at Omega Divers Chania Diving Center
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Katrine and Andrea, Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us as well. It was a pleasure having you onboard! We are really happy you enjoyed your time with us too, and it is even a bigger joy that you made your first underwater steps as divers with us. You are more than welcome to join us in the future for more dives and aquatic adventures.
Read more
Tom Webster wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
First of all, the owner (Manos) is the rudest person we have ever met. Since we could understand some greek, we were able to figure out how rude he was with all of the employees. Moreover, the wetsuits are in a terrible condition. Full of holes and really really old. For sure they do not keep you warm. Furthermore, we forgot what safety means... The boat is really small and we were at least 13 people on the boat, not to mention that nobody was wearing a mask and no proper distance between the divers. The boat also, broke down and an SPG exploded!!! Of course there is no refund and we were also asked to pay by cash (greek way of getting away with taxes) . To sum up, this is really a pity because the instructors were really good and helpful with everything.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from OmegaDivers, Front Office Manager at Omega Divers Chania Diving Center
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Tomas, Obviously, you are completely confused because you review us on the Discover Scuba Diving program, which is a shore diving program, while in your review you refer to a boat dive program. In that context, we can't recall who you are. Although we feel sad about your alleged bad experience with us, you are providing false and misleading information, and for this reason, we need to set things straight. None of our diving suits are torn. Our equipment is always checked daily and is up to date. May I remind you that our diving center, which is a five-star resort, is also a retail diving store, so it is extremely easy for us to replace used, torn, or faulty items. We may politely ask our customers if they prefer to pay in cash when they book or buy something from the diving store, but we always provide a legal tax receipt to all payments, and we accept credit cards when it is convenient for them. Our company is based on solid ground and not familiar with 'the Greek way of getting away with taxes'. Cash payments primarily allow us to avoid the currency exchange cost. We always provide facemasks to our participants as they enter the minivan should if they do not have their own, to ensure their safety. The maximum capacity of each of our boats is 8 divers guided by two PADI instructors, so there is no reason to have more divers in one boat since we have another boat for that exact reason. Regarding minor problems with equipment during the diving programs they rarely ever occur but there is such a possibility, as in all diving centers around the world. As a well organized diving center, we always have spare equipment onboard in all our programs and we solve any possible problems on sight. Finally, our Manager Manos is a natural loudspeaker and is not rude to our staff, which corporates with the company for many years. We understand that your opinion on him is based on your poor Greek and on a brief acquaintance, so it is overly judgemental and unfair, like your entire opinion of our center and the Greeks, and honestly, goes way beyond from just being rude. What is clear to us, and probably to anyone who reads it, is that your review was written based on your obvious dislike for our manager and surely because you were not refunded, since obviously there was no reason to. Thankfully we have over 300 positive reviews that prove the efficacy of our team, and the true quality of our equipment and services.
Read more
frenchiwilson wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom159 contributions12 helpful votes
I completed four dives with Omega. All took place from a boat. Two were incredibly boring and short. The wreck dive and Elephant cave were extremely fun and interesting. On the first day I was in a group of 3 divers and 2 instructors and unfortunately a diver struggled with his mask so we had to wait around underwater for him before they decided to send him back with one of the instructors. This meant our dive was quite staggered and boring. On the second day I was in a group of 7 divers and 2 instructors and again you could tell some divers were more advanced than others. I think it would have been better if they looked at the experience and qualifications of each diver and put them into groups based on that. I appreciate sometimes an experienced diver can have an issue that hasn’t occurred before and this holds a group up, but it was clear these issues were frequent not one off. Furthermore, the centre put together your equipment for you and we had to kit up in the water meaning you didn’t have a chance to check your own. Whilst they were probably doing this to save time and be helpful, I think it’s extremely important to do your own so you have faith in what you are using. It was nice that they took photos in the caves of everyone so you didn’t have to have a camera with you.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from OmegaDivers, Front Office Manager at Omega Divers Chania Diving Center
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Frenchie, We would like to thank you for participating in our diving programs and for your kind feedback. We are so delighted you enjoyed the Elephant cave and Wreck dive as they are regarded as the highlight diving destinations in the Chania region. The first dive in both programs typically lasts approximately 45-50 minutes. It is true that mixing divers of all levels in one program can potentially be frustrating for some of the more experienced ones sometimes and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience. We always try to form our groups based on the level of expertise of our divers, so as setbacks like the ones you refer to do not occur and all the participants are happy and satisfied when diving with us. That is why our primary questions to the participants are their certification level, number of dives, and when their last dive took place. Unfortunately on some occasions, we do not have a sufficient number of divers of each level to form an individual group. Also, we help our guests to collect the right sizes of equipment, in case they need to rent one, and then we assembly the scuba unit for them so as to provide better services. Furthermore, there is always plenty of time, so we encourage our guests to double-check their equipment themselves. In that way, both our staff and our guests are familiarised with their gear.  We would like to thank you again for your kind feedback and hope to have you again on board on your next visit to Chania.
Read more
Gary C wrote a review Sep 2020
Caister3 contributions
First time trying Scuba diving. Great team, very friendly and helpful. supported me so well (as a novice). Highly recommended. Thanks especially to Andrew and Maria
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from OmegaDivers, Front Office Manager at Omega Divers Chania Diving Center
Responded Sep 17, 2020
Thank you so much for your nice words! It is our first priority to assure that all our guests are having an unforgettable first-time experience with scuba diving, while, of course, they feel safe and protected underwater! Hope to see you again, and it will be a great joy to have you join us!
Read more
Previous