Visit Abisko

Visit Abisko: Hours, Address, Visit Abisko Reviews: 4.5/5

Visit Abisko
4.5
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Write a review
About
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience Visit Abisko and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
293 reviews
Excellent
210
Very good
47
Average
15
Poor
7
Terrible
14

Lindalou086
Sydney, Australia32 contributions
Friends
Having arrived in Björkliden late on a Monday evening, too late, as it happened, to attend our scheduled sky station inspection due to weather that could only be described as a total whiteout, I felt it was unlikely I was ever going to see the aurora borealis. It had proved an annoyingly elusive phenomenon, as every previous opportunity had been stymied by wooly arctic cloud cover, blizzards of snow or wild winds.
As a final, last minute, dang the global roaming charges, which ended up costing almost as much as the tour, I booked the aurora chasers for the evening of Feb 24, whilst on a day tour to see reindeer. My expectations were not especially high.
The tour arrives with maniacal Lapland promptness, so be early at your pick up. Our guide, Claudio, had enough technology to run the Space Station loaded onto his iPad, and he only drove about 6 km to a truck stop, and there they were. Thanks to his excellent aurora guessing, we could not have missed it if we had kept our eyes shut. It arched across the entire sky, and although it is far more dim than you see on cameras, the brag value of your photographs cannot be overstated. General excitement ensued, as we spent over an hour snapping pictures with our cold, numb fingers. Claudio, our guide, was the wonderful combination of knowledgeable and non-intrusive while also being quite charming. He also took a photo of my friend and I on his own camera, and true to his word, emailed it to us a couple of days later. We took our photos on an iPhone with a ‘Northern Lights’ ap, and also got great results.
It’s something you have to do, if you have a travel bucket list, and I’m very glad I went.
Thoroughly recommended.
Rug up, dress well and use hand warmers.
Written February 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

xxElixx
1 contribution
We had a bustransfer from Abisko, to Kiruna. The bus driver was well on time, and an extremely experienced driver who made us feel very comfortable even when driving on an icy road. We were the only passangers. He also told us a lot of things about life in Abisko, the Sami and their habbits, and his own adventures as a bus driver. Instead of lost time, this transfer turned out to be an event on its own thanks to the beautiful landscapes as well as the amazing bus driver!
Written November 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

292ivanz
New York City, NY1 contribution
We hired initially just a van from Kiruna to Abisko. That trip was wonderful, with a driver who spoke excellent English, told us how much he loves coming to New York and who helped with our luggage and expertly drove along as high winds were sweeping snow across the road. On the way back we hired the same service after the railway suddenly cancelled our train without warning. Different driver, but same results, just a smooth, calm ride. This driver kept to himself, but played excellent jazz all the way down to Kiruna. Abisko itself is a wonderful place, with a microclimate ideal for seeing the aurora. And despite the earlier snowstorm, we got a beautiful clear night with a great aurora across the sky over the lake. The Visit Abisko website also features accommodations, activities etc. We stayed at the wonderful Abisko Mountain Lodge and booked the equally wonderful Lights Over Lapland Aurora Photo Tour. We spent only one night there, but could easily have stayed a couple more days. Well worth it.
Written March 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Laurens C
Moss, Norway6 contributions
Myself and two friends booked three activities through the Visit Abisko website, unfortunately the night we arrived in Narvik, the road to get to Abisko was blocked due to weather and continued to be blocked for the next three days, we then tried to take the train to Abisko so as not to miss our activities but the train line was also shut down. We tried to contact Visit Abisko to tell them of our troubles but nobody answered the phones that evening (from 4pm.) The next morning we continued to try and contact them to see if we could at least re-arrange our expeditions for another time. Finally later that day we were contacted by the owner Chad, he said there was nothing Visit Abisko could do at that time as they have a strict no cancellation policy, even though that is their own policy that they make, and we did not want to cancel we just physically could not make the expeditions at that time. He said there was a possibility to book us in to activities at another time.. two weeks later as I try to follow Chad up on this promise I have now been informed that is not possible. After we spent $1500 on activities Visit Abisko would not try to accomodate even slightly their client just prefer to take our money and blame their own cancellation policy for their lack of help... Very poor service overall, would not recommend.
Written February 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello 914laurensc, Thanks for your review. We always take our clients' feedback seriously and do our best to implement change when necessary. On the flip side of that coin, we do not feel that your review is a fully accurate or fair description of our interaction. First off, let us make it very clear that we are terribly sorry that the road to Norway and the train were closed for several days while you were in the area. We know that this was a very unfortunate situation and that it added frustration to your visit. We agree with the fact that you tried to call us after hours and that we did not answer your call when it came in. That said, I personally tried to call you back a few minutes later and did not receive an answer so don’t think it is right that you should say that we were unavailable to help. The next day, you called us again and spoke with one of the members of our office staff for nearly an hour. She spoke with you and your friends in detail about our cancellation policy and tried her very best to explain to you that this policy reflects our partner’s policies and that we cannot change them. After trying to reason with you for nearly an hour you asked to speak with the owner – so our owner gave you a call. He spent nearly 30 minutes reiterating the fact that we genuinely wanted to help, but that our partners who provide the activities you booked had a strict 14-day cancellation policy and that we would not be able to offer you a refund. During our call, we also mentioned that we would be very happy to help you make a claim with your travel insurance company. Sadly, you did not have travel insurance which is always a nice layer of protection since it can be difficult to predict unexpected events. This is a very important part of traveling, and we always recommend this to anyone who books activities with any agency. Now let’s discuss the promise you refer to in your review. Here is a copy of part of the email that we sent you on the 29th of January: "We realize that you have called several times and that you have sent email several times, and I’m sorry it’s taking us a while to get back to you. That said, there are lots of people contacting us at the moment due to the road closure/train closure. We’re doing our very best to respond to everybody in a timely fashion but obviously, this takes a bit of extra time. As I promised you on the phone, I will do my very best to speak to our partners and see if they would allow you to change your booking to another day in the future. Once you know the dates that you plan to travel again please let me know and I will do everything possible to help." As you can see above, the owner of our company promised to speak to our partners and see if they would consider making an exception for you and your friends – which he followed through on. We are truly sorry that you did not like the outcome, but this does not change the fact that we stuck to our word. We also want to point out that we asked you to please send your dates of travel so we could try to help. This information from you was sent to us 5 days after we requested it. In turn, our email response was sent to you 5 days after we received your new travel dates and while this may not be an ideal response time, you would have been able to call us on our phone line in order to get a quicker reply Finally, we want to make it clear that we also offered you several other solutions including discounts towards future trips with us in an effort to make this right and to show you that we did in fact care about you and your friends. Sadly, you did not mention any of this in your review. Thanks again and best of luck in the future!
Written February 12, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

B C
Bangkok, Thailand21 contributions
Friends
The standards of tours claiming they will help you chase Aurora seemed to be mostly a tourist trap and fake claims. For one, the guide didn’t seemed to want to drive beyond 20 minutes and would only drive you to Lake Tornetrask and parked there, claiming that’s the place to watch Aurora whether the sky there was cloudy , snowing or raining. Friends on another trip to Abisko faced very similar experience. The Abisko government needed to stop these operators from calling themselves “The Aurora Great Chasers” if all they did was to park beside the lake and gave some faux stories. Seemed like this place is managed mostly by Unprofessional operators , please be warned. They don’t seemed to care that many people travelled far for a once in a lifetime Aurora viewing opportunity
Written January 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for you review and for traveling with Visit Abisko. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your trip with us recently and that you felt the experience under delivered. We would like to address some of the points that you raised in your review. As the only fully licensed transportation company in Abisko it is not true to say that we are an unprofessional organisation. All of our drivers and guides are fully qualified and have many years of experience of driving and guiding. Our customers are extremely important to us, and as you can see from the majority of our other reviews, our employees often go above and beyond to deliver a exceptional experience to our clients. Our Great Aurora Chase is one of our most popular tours and regularly allows our visitors the chance to spot and see the Aurora even when conditions are challenging. During your tour it seems that you were taken to one of our locations close to Lake Torneträsk. This location would have been chosen by the guide after making an assessment of both the weather forecast and the actual conditions that he was observing that evening. The Aurora is a natural phenomenon and as such, just as with any wildlife watching tour, seeing the Aurora is never guaranteed. We can however guarantee that our guides will always try and maximize our guests' chances of seeing the Aurora, to the best of their abilities. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and welcome you back to Abisko in the future.
Written January 2, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kristien
Brussels, Belgium6 contributions
I joined the ice climbing tour with Visit Abisko. We were only three and hence had a lot of time each to climb on a frozen spring, my guess would be about 6m high. Our amazing guide was kind and easygoing, he gave us a good & short introduction so we could start climbing almost immediately and a lot of advice and tips while we were at it. He was very patient so I felt very safe to make mistakes or take a lot of time seeking my next step. I enjoyed this experience a lot and will definitely do it again when I get back to Abisko!
Written January 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Lesli F
1 contribution
We booked the Great Aurora Chase to hopefully see the Northern Lights. It was overcast so we did not see them, which I understand is always a risk. My complaint is that we tried to contact them because we had a change in accommodation and wanted to adjust our pick up location accordingly and the number that was provided on our confirmation email was out of service. We tried email as well and received no response. We ended up walking from one train stop to the other to be picked up. Our driver, Pers Ander was awesome. Very friendly and an excellent host. It was a fairly pricey event that produced no results, but the real disappointment was the inability to contact them beforehand.
Written January 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Lesli F, Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with your guide. Per Anders is a great asset to our team and we always love to read positive feedback about his work. We will be sure to pass on your kind words ☺ We are terribly sorry to learn that you had a hard time getting in touch with us. We checked all the phone numbers on your booking confirmation and can confirm that all the numbers you were provided are in good working order and are in service. We suspect that you may have inadvertently misdialled or that the country code might have caused problems as this can often be the case when calling numbers outside of your home country. We are also sorry to learn that you accidently chose the wrong pick up point when making your reservation. Our team is always keen to help with mistakes like this but it looks like your email must have come in after office hours, which would have likely meant that you got a response the following day. Thanks again for visiting us. Please know that you are always welcome in Abisko and that we look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Written February 12, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shaun Venter
Johannesburg, South Africa22 contributions
Couples
We did the 4 hour wilderness tour on snow mobiles. It was an adventure but the weathe was crazy!!! The winds and snow was very intense. It was still very enjoyable but the weather restricted us alot in that we couldnt travel over the lakes aswell as we couldnt see much of the scenery.

Our guide was really good and helpfull and offered us help when we needed. Would have given 5 stars if we couldve seen more sights.
Written January 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Rowdy VG
1 contribution
I took a bit of a gamble to take the this tour (with camera included) rather than the cheaper aurora chase without camera.. It was so worth it! To capture the Aurora Borealis yourself was truly special! Especially since the northern lights is not always too easy to see with the naked eye, the camera was like a translator to show you how beautiful the lights are even when they are not as visible as you see on pictures you find on Google Search.

Using the cameras was very easy too, as I am no expert on cameras by any means, but our guide Mikel was amazing! Very happy to help you with your camera settings, very patient, and most importantly very very enthousiastic!
Written February 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Kim H
Columbia, MD58 contributions
I stayed here for four nights and highly recommend this hotel for many reasons. First, the staff is amazing. From being greeted at reception to the lovely women who cleans each day, they are all so nice. Next, the location is ideal. It is right next to the supermarket, the train station is a short walk but most of all, you can easily walk down to the lake for walking and Aurora watching. It is about a 30 minute walk to the museum, river and TouristStation. Also, the facility works perfectly. You have your own room, shared bathroom and shared kitchen and lounge space, The kitchen has everything you need to cook your own meals.
I think what I was most grateful for, though, was the cold weather clothing they provide for you. While I thought I brought warm enough clothes, I was quickly shipped to the clothing room where I borrowed everything else I needed for the week.
Written February 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 217
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Visit Abisko

Visit Abisko is open:
  • Sun - Sat 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM