We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hoxton Special

Marazion, United Kingdom
More
About The Hoxton Special
The Hoxton Special is Cornwall's premiere spot for water sport and adventure activity enthusiasts. We are based at Marazion beach near St Michaels Mount. We offer Kite surfing lessons, power kiting, and kiteboarding. We also offer SUP, Paddleboard and Kayak Hire as well as Yoga sessions. On top of that we have a super cool little cafe where you can hang out and enjoy chilled vibe with a beautifully made coffee and cream teas. So pop on down to Marazion beach and check us out.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
See all hours
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travelers talk about

The Hoxton Special
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
148Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 143
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
RMKABC1 wrote a review Sep 2022
Oxford, United Kingdom22 contributions4 helpful votes
Booked a private lesson with Angus. It was absolutely fantastic. I am in my late 50’s and have never been on a paddle board before. Angus gave clear instructions was patient, and gave me the confident to get up and going safely and effectively. Equipment is first rate and I don’t think you could get a better setting -looking over St Michael’s Mount. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Vicky wrote a review Aug 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom9 contributions
Hired paddleboards for an hour for 3 teenagers - great spot and attentive chap who hired them. He noticed they had drifted out further than they should and was quick to get out to them and bring them back into the safer area - thanks for the vigilance! A nice area on the beach - would go here again - thanks!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MB wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
The MOST expensive cafe I’ve ever been to (and I lived in London for years!) Everything costs about 25% more than it should be (1 scoop of Kelly’s ice cream from a tub for £4!) and I’m afraid the service was not very good either. A very disappointing visit, after a long walk down the beach to get to them.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angus T, Owner at The Hoxton Special
Responded Aug 28, 2022
Hi! Sorry you found us so expensive! Just so our other customers don't get the wrong idea, a coffee for instance is £2.90 which is firmly .10-.30p below most other coffee shops in the area. Our Ice Creams are £4 pounds, and yes it's Kelly's, an excellent Cornish brand. What you omitted is that it is TWO large scoops, with whatever toppings you like. These include but are not limited to: Chocolate, Salted Caramel, Strawberry, Biscoff and Bubblegum Sauces. Then you may also choose form: Smarties, Reeces Pieces, Flakes, Honeycomb, Oreos etc etc. Lastly it's a real shame you did not get the experience you were looking for, we pride ourselves on our customer service and we always make sure to take the time make sure that people get the best experience they can.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James B wrote a review Jul 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Angus went out of his way to make sure I learned as much as possible in a safe and enjoyable way. Super chilled guy and very patient. Hoxton Special is a special place for sure. If you're in the area you should definitely pay them a visit for kitseurfing, paddleboarding or just for the coffe and bagels.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Arc202 wrote a review Jul 2022
Devon, United Kingdom24 contributions3 helpful votes
We hired kayaks from here and enjoyed our time. Staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The vibe was good and place was easy enough to find
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456