Cabo Pulmo Watersports
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
We are a diving shop located in Cabo Pulmo National Park. We offer snorkeling and recreational diving tours, as well as PADI certification courses (from Open Water to Dive Master). And as Richard says "whoever doesn't have a good time here, pays for the drinks", so come with all the attitude to have a good time. ;D
Cabo Pulmo, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Features animals

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Cabo Pulmo Watersports
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor
Want other options you can book now?
Show options
Travelers talk about
(6 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
252 reviews
Excellent
211
Very good
23
Average
8
Poor
8
Terrible
2

Jeanne
3 contributions
Jan 2022 • Couples
We went diving in Cabo Pulmo with Leo, and let me tell you we had the best experience! First of all they only take small groups which is super. Then the experience was really beautiful. We saw lots of marine life, bullsharks, fish of all colours, we went whale watching in between the two dives, and then ORCAS !
What a day. I would 100% recommend Leo and the Cabo Pulmo Watersport team.
Also Ivan the captain of the boat was great, chasing orcas and whales so we have the best time.
Written January 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for your recommendation, it is amazing how the sea can surprise us every day! We hope you will be back soon :D
Written April 5, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Markus
3 contributions
Dec 2021 • Friends
We very spontaneously decided that we want to dive at Cabo Pulmo the next morning. And although the weather forecast was not great and other companies had already canceled their tours, Leonardo arranged our trip very last minute, picked us up in the early morning in San José del Cabo, and made sure that we felt safe all the time and had a fantastic trip. He also made lots of pictures and videos under water which he provided afterwards. Thanks a lot, Leo!
Written December 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Richard Ewan
Calgary, Canada39 contributions
Jan 2022
We went for a snorkeling tour with Andy, and boat drive Rivalvo. It was a once in a lifetime opportunity because unbeknownst to us there was an Orca pod hanging out in the area. This is indeed was a rare and unpredictable occasion.
So we struck out and indeed found the pod and had a number of opportunity to snorkel with the Killer Whales. I mean, unbelievable.
We did end up doing some of the standard snorkels which included the Jackfish school and the reef. When on that portion of the tour we ended up seeing a turtle as well, which is super cool.
Overall I highly recommend this outfit, the gear and service was outstanding.
Written January 21, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
That day was crazy! We marvel with you when such unexpected encounters happen, haha. We hope to have you back for more adventures in the Park! Thanks for your recommendation! :D
Written April 5, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BoardingPass824265
13 contributions
Dec 2021
We went with Cabo Pulmo Watersports because the company we normally used was fully booked. Once we were on the water , the dives were great (as always). What I did not appreciate was the lack of communication upfront, and especially the length it took to get us ready. Not sure if it was a super busy day, but the paperwork and preparing the equipment took hours. We were not walk-ins, we had reservations way ahead. They need to approve the process.
Written December 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Baton B
Houston, TX34 contributions
Oct 2022
First a disclaimer: this is the only diving operation at Cabo Pulmo we are familiar with, so our comparison base is our diving with various operators elsewhere (La Paz, Bonaire, Belize, Cozumel, Roatan...) over the last ~15 years. Hopefully I am describing here a unique problem, not a general Cabo Pulmo attitude.

We scuba dived with Cabo Pulmo Watersport 9 times over 3 days. We had one captain (Ivan) and two diving guides, varying by trip, total of 5. Some of them (Juanito!) were worse than others, but without exception, the diving guides were totally indifferent to show us anything interesting, focusing exclusively on policing. We haven't encountered that anywhere before. We are experienced divers and are always careful not to touch the reef (and we didn't). Nevertheless we were constantly reminded and berated on the boat about the distance we should keep. The concern over the reef safety seemed to be just the excuse for bullying (cannot find a better word). This seems to be a pervasive culture of the whole operation, unfortunately.
We were also rigidly, bordering on rudely, policed on the depth of our safety stop: it had to be exactly 15 feet, and not 16 or 17, which is plainly ridiculous.
Generally, the professionalism seems to be lacking; the guide Juanito completely misjudged the current on an occasion. Accidentally, he is the one to insist on the precisely 15 feet..
Realistically, this should be a firmly "one star", "terrible" review, but in fairness to a helpful a professional captain I upgrade it to two stars.
- Avoid!
Written October 18, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Worldtraveller428
Los Angeles, CA192 contributions
Aug 2017 • Couples
I never received confirmation that CPW received the payment I sent.
I never received any email or call in advance confirming our dive appointment.
I never received any email from your CPW about where to go or when. I later saw a one-sentence email saying to come dive at 9am but with NO NAME OF THE DIVE SHOP, so I thought it was A DIFFERENT SHOP.
I never received any email or call asking why we didn’t show up on the first day and if we were still coming on the second day or third day. Obviously if I had, I could have easily switched shops to salvage the situation.
I never received any email or call asking why we didn’t show up for the entire duration of the dive.
I believe that communication is needed on both ends for a successful business transaction and that I shouldn’t bear the entire responsibility, given the above.
I never heard back re any of the above and was not refunded the $367.95 deposit I gave them via PayPal.
They are horrible with communication and seem not to care about customer service.
Go dive with Pilu at Cabo Pulmo Diving. She’s fantastic.
Written September 15, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lisa, I am sorry that you feel you must post this to Trip Advisor when we have not been given the time to respond to your request. We are very concerned about customer service and safety and if you see our ratings, you know we take this seriously. In no way would we ever try to defraud a client or keep what is not our due. You booked with us at least 3 months ahead and our policy is to take a deposit for confirmation. We waited half a day for you to come, our dive guides and captains lost time and money and we turned away walk ins waiting for you in case you were late. We are a very large building in a very small dive village, there would be no way you could miss us. You paid us using our name, you emailed us using our name, how could you miss the fact that the woman you dove with was not us ? Did you not speak with her about your dive reservation when you met with her at the lodging? We are a large company, she is a single independent who happened to rent you a lodging. I am sorry for your mistake, but we did our best to confirm and set you up and it is not right that you post such a negative review when we are open to discussion with you. We waited for you ! We have been impacted by a very bad storm, lost internet for over a week, so my response is delayed because of Mother Nature and our lack of services here. I request from Trip Advisor that they look at this correspondence and remove your assaults and ask our clients to post their opinions to show we are dedicated to great customer service . I am sorry for what you feel is our fault , but we do this every day and have never had a situation where our clients go diving with a different company, spend 3 days in town and never ask about where they are or money deposited until the last day...this is not good business on either your side or your other company. I have no dispute with the other company, they are a good company and really have no part in this, this is your mistake not ours or theirs. Thank you, Chris Caseber and Ricardo Castro Fiol and the entire team at Cabo Pulmo Watersports
Written September 17, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DeepBlueDiver99
Canada36 contributions
Oct 2012 • Friends
When you first arrive in Cabo Pulmo, you will see a big blue fancy double level dive shop off to your left. Yes, it is a bigger and nicer looking shop, but please trust me, and drive just another 500 metres up the road till you come to Cabo Pulmo Watersports. I am a frequent visitor to Cabo Pulmo, and I have dived with both shops, and there is no comparison. Cabo Pulmo Watersports is owned and operated by locals (including Ricardo and his father, whose family has lived there for generations), and you truly feel welcome at this shop. Ricardo knows this reef system like nobody else in the village, and will go out of his way to make sure you have a great day. The newest guide working out of the shop is a fellow named Juan, and he too is exceptional at his job. There is also a young fellow named Leo who takes fantastic video, and can video your dives for you if you like. He has a Best of Cabo Pulmo diving video that he has produced, get him to show you.

The diving is exceptional here, with more schooling fish than you would find anywhere else in Baja. Seasonal massive schools of mobula rays as well, and Cabo Pulmo is right on the humpback migratory route in the Sea of Cortez. Loads of green morays, giant groupers, and plenty of stingrays as well. There is also a resident school of massive sea lions that are totally comfortable with snorkellers. This is a real paradise, very few places like it left on earth. The beaches are miles long and pristine, and you'll probably be the only one on them.

Just be aware, the road to get there sucks (last 30 minutes, anyway), there is NO nightlife (everything is quite by 9:00pm), no stores, the restaurants (3 total) open and close as they like, solar power only, and fresh water is a commodity. This is the exact opposite of Cabo San Lucas, a real taste of wonderful old Baja in a small village populated by great people. If you need to be pampered, can't live without AC, like to be surrounded by tourists and people trying to sell you useless crap, you'll quickly find you are in the wrong place.

Cabo Pulmo Watersports is by far the best option for exploring the ocean near Cabo Pulmo, and if you need or want anything beyond diving, just ask Ricardo. They can also arrange mountain biking, kayaking, horse riding, waterfall hikes, you name it.
Written October 19, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jan16Travels
Auburn, CA28 contributions
Apr 2011
I really wanted to dive on my trip to Baja but was concerned because I had a hurt shoulder and feared getting back on the to the boat could injure me further. I emailed Cabo Pulmo Watersports, and they assured me they have helped all sorts of people with all sorts of challenges.

The divemasters and workers there were all great. I was really impressed with the safety procedures they followed and their concern for the comfort of all. They suggested a warmer wet suit and that was a GREAT suggestion.

Before we got to the first dive site, we saw dolphins in the distance. We took a detour to see them up close and spent quite a bit of time following them. The 2 dives were great with a variety of fish and many fans and corals. After our two dives, one of the guests wanted to go closer to shore to see sharks and manta rays swimming beneath the boats. This was way above the call of duty, but we motored all over the place watching their shadows below us. It was a great adventure.

As for my shoulder, the divemaster simply lifted me out of the water, and it was the easiest part of the whole dive! I highly recommend Cabo Pulmo Watersports and Ricardo was a great divemaster!
Written April 25, 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

nanofish
Goleta, CA47 contributions
Mar 2011
We spent 4 days here, diving every morning and hiking in the afternoons. We did 2-tank dives from pangas, about 15 min from the beach. In mid-March the temperatures were about 65F (18C). Visibility ranged from 25 to 40 feet. We saw an amazing variety of fish life. On my favorite dive we just hovered in a baitball for the entire dive, with schools of huge amberjacks whipping through, and groupers waiting, tails to the bottom, to rush in whenever a chance sound distracted their prey. We also saw turtles, sharks, and sea lions (some large). During the surface interval we watched humpbacks, including a mother holding her calf across her nose with her enormous pectoral fins. We also saw schools of sharks on the bottom, and with fins sticking out of the water, from the panga. There's a bit of coral, remarkable just for being present, and some good invertebrates including different kinds of nudibranchs; but the fish are definitely the strong point. Our guides Pilu and Ricardo were safe, completely familiar with the area, and knowledgeable about the marine life. We brought our own gear but they were helpful with the glitches we encountered.

The area has excellent hiking trails as well, maintained by the locals in the empty country around town.

It sounds like the visibility is much better in the late summer and fall -- but there isn't as much fish life. The best time to dive is when the visibility suddenly clears, while fish are still around. This apparently takes some timing but it sounds amazing!
Written March 23, 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jean-Yves M
Vallauris, France2 contributions
Dec 2013 • Family
Ricardo and his team were very friendly and very professional. We were 6 divers without any equipment and we did a 2-tank dive on Dec 29th. The dive site is beautiful with so many different fish species.
However, the rental equipment at Watersports is old and is not maintained properly, and therefore dangerous. After our arrival, it took the whole Watersports team more than an hour to get us regulators that did not leak. They had to mix-and-match several sets and it seems that they had to bring out everything from the shop, although we were the only 6 divers going out that day. I still ended up with a leaky 2nd stage with a stuck control valve. They had to run to another store to get enough wet suits. BC's are old with missing or stuck valves. One of us had to surface early at the end of the dive because of a BC leak.
I Would not recommend Cabo Pulmo Watersports for diving unless you bring your own equipment.
Written January 2, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 143

Cabo Pulmo Watersports - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go