Kellie Castle & Garden

Kellie Castle & Garden, Pittenweem: Hours, Address, Kellie Castle & Garden Reviews: 4.5/5

Kellie Castle & Garden
4.5
Monday
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
About
Kellie castle has a history spanning nearly seven centuries. From the original tower house built in the 1360s, it was extended and added to through the following 300 years, home to not only the daughter of Robert the Bruce but the Earls of Kellie and later the talented Lorimer family; artists, architects, sculptors and academics. Enjoy the many different rooms showing different ages of the castle, or while away a few hours in the beautiful walled gardens. In season, why not try some of the produce grown in the gardens? Please note the Castle is open from 1 April until 31 October on a reduced basis. Please check the website for full details.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

4.5
297 reviews
Excellent
155
Very good
112
Average
18
Poor
9
Terrible
3

lizandianp
surrey955 contributions
Aug 2021
How sad that nobody now lives in the castle, not even used for holiday lets.
We visited on a day when the castle was not open but the lovely little gardens were.
How the "man and a boy" keep the place looking so good is beyond my comprehension.
Immaculate lawns lovely flowers bulging fruit trees, it has it all.
Written August 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Flo12354
Levenmouth, UK129 contributions
Aug 2021 • Solo
Popped in here for a visit on a lovely sunny day. First visit to NTS site for a while and been Several years since I’ve been to Kellie Castle. Staff very friendly and helpful and informative.
Small gift shop.
Lovely walk as well.
Written August 9, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ian_lorraine_1908
Carnoustie, UK131 contributions
Aug 2021 • Couples
1st time return here in 20 years and had a enjoyable time loved our little walk round the castle&grounds each member of the team was friendly, helpful and very informative about each room
Written August 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jojoisginger
Roade, UK125 contributions
Jun 2021 • Family
Such a breathtakingly beautiful place! The gardens are so stunning….I felt like we had literally walked into the book: A Secret Garden! The smell was outstanding and the immaculate flowers and plants were so beautiful. We were all blown away and loved looking at everything, smelling everything and running around laughing. We stumbled on this delight totally by accident and I’m so glad we did!
Written July 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sal F
2 contributions
Jul 2021 • Family
Beautiful gardens and interesting exhibition.
Unfortunately the castle was closed .
Definitely will return
Have to commend the manager who was more than helpful in many ways .
Written July 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jim P
Livingston, UK5 contributions
Jun 2021 • Family
This place is not worth a visit. The tiny garden is very poorly maintained. Difficult to spend any more than 10 minutes here. The cafe was closed, covid being the excuse. The kids park is disgraceful, looks like it is being worked on. The woodland walk is a joke, a mucky path with overgrown nettles. The worst part? We were actually charged £9 for entry including £2 for a car park outside the gates. Don't waste your time nor money.
Written June 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi, and many thanks for your review. We're all sorry to hear you felt a visit to the castle and gardens was not what you were expecting. The walled gardens is full of both ornamental planting and produce. much of which is for sale once in season, and its all grown on organic principles. We are guessing that you paid for entry into the gardens which at only £3 for adults and £2 for concessions represents good value. As a member, you can of course receive free parking and free entry at all our sites as well as those of the National Trust in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. Please note that we are still in catch up after the covid pandemic, a time when the National Trust for Scotland, which is charity, nearly didn't survive at all. It will take us some time yet to get all of the gardens and estate back into shape again, as we don't use pesticides or other chemicals to manage the gardens. The café is closed as we are unable to find people who are able to operate it. What we do now have is a mobile kiosk offering artisan coffee, drinks and cakes. We hope you might visit us again where we'd be delighted to show you the work that goes into running the gardens and the castle for all to enjoy. With best wishes,
Written July 5, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

craigluscar
Dunfermline, UK13,260 contributions
Oct 2020
Visited the garden on a slightly wet day .There are marvellous autumn colour from the car park to the Castle . I had thought the gardens might be devoid of colour but there was still a fair bit showing . A lot of fruit still on the trees . The small gardners building in the corner has an honesty box and Apples and other veg for sale . The toilets are open which is handy for visitors . An enjoyable visit regardless of the weather
Written October 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

DJM1945
Montrose, UK1,800 contributions
Sep 2020
This is one of my favourite gardens as it is in a superb setting. Although it is not manicured it is has lovely borders and has a great variety of plants and vegetables.
Written September 18, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jules S
11 contributions
Aug 2020 • Family
Even though we weren't able to go inside the castle and the tea room was closed, it was lovely wandering around the beautiful gardens and strolling through the woodland.
Written August 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Therese C
Liverpool, UK7 contributions
Jul 2020
Visited here last week. The castle was closed because of Covid but the gardens and grounds were open. There was no charge for car parking or for visiting the grounds but there is a donation box. A lovely place. And a huge plus was that the toilets were open, unlike most other public places. in fact we visited again the next day mainly because of this. So 5 stars!
Written July 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 282
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kellie Castle & Garden

Kellie Castle & Garden is open:
  • Thu - Mon 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM