We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Explore Orkney Tours

Unit 3 Quarry Road, Finstown KW17 2EN, Scotland
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Orkney

We had 9 people in our group. We found Kevin via phone call when we got off the ship. We wish we... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2017
Fcf57
,
Vernal, Utah
Wonderful day

The tour got off to a rough start...there was one other couple and we both had emails from Susan... read more

Reviewed June 24, 2017
J H
,
Castle Rock, Colorado
Read all 86 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent91%
  • Very good4%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
LOCATION
Unit 3 Quarry Road, Finstown KW17 2EN, Scotland
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great tour"
in 8 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 6 reviews
"standing stones of stenness"
in 6 reviews
"skara brae"
in 12 reviews
"italian chapel"
in 4 reviews
"private tour"
in 3 reviews
"magnus cathedral"
in 2 reviews
"guide kevin"
in 2 reviews
"company"
in 9 reviews
"sights"
in 9 reviews
"highlights"
in 7 reviews
"orkney"
in 51 reviews
"van"
in 5 reviews
"ships"
in 4 reviews
"knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"ring"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 84 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2017

We had 9 people in our group. We found Kevin via phone call when we got off the ship. We wish we would have found him before our cruise. He took us all for a tour of the sites we wanted to see, and then...More

Thank Fcf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017

The tour got off to a rough start...there was one other couple and we both had emails from Susan saying that the guide would meet us at 8:30..,. we waited and waited. Trevor showed up and realized we were not happy. He was very apologetic...More

Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploreOrk, Owner at Explore Orkney Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

My sincere apologies for the mix up for the start times for this tour date. On investigation an initial email was sent stating an 0830hrs start which was changed by request from one of the guests to 9am. Trevor arrived at 0845hrs as he always...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017

I would not recommend this tour group for cruise groups, given the frequent times cruise ships are unable to dock. It sounded like a great tour, and we were disappointed to miss. I am sure if we had the opportunity we would have expressed the...More

1  Thank Faroffplaces1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploreOrk, Owner at Explore Orkney Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Explore Orkney likes to acknowledge all reviews both positive and negative to enhance and improve our tours. The issues appear to be our refund policy and the ability of ships docking in bad weather. We make it very clear to all our guests what our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2017

Our May 1st Caribbean Princess cruise was unable to dock in Kirkwall. The ship's Captain reported high winds and the unavailability of tug boats to provide docking assistance as the issue. Explore Orkney Tours reported no such conditions and the problem lay with the ship's...More

2  Thank clmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploreOrk, Owner at Explore Orkney Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Explore Orkney likes to acknowledge all reviews both positive and negative to enhance and improve our tours. The issues appear to be our refund policy and the ability of ships docking in bad weather. We make it very clear to all our guests what our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2017

We had only one day to visit Orkney and we hired a car and driver to make the most of the sights we were interested in seeing. Sue from Explore Orkney Tours met us at the ferry and drove us around the island, making stops...More

Thank Mary Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2016

We took this tour November 22, 2016. Our guide was very knowledgeable, very personable, down to earth and genuine! We learned so much and a had a great time. We would definitely recommend this tour to a friend. The forecast for Orkney in November is...More

Thank Scrabby2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016

I spent my two days in Orkney with Explore Orkney tours, and I could not have asked for a better experience. It was the end of the season, and I was the only person on the tours both days, but the tours were still run...More

1  Thank JoCombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2016

We spent a magical day near Stomness on Orkney with Trevor as our guide. We learned an incredible amount that day about the early peoples who inhabited that area. Trevor was an absolute gem of a guide. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Thank Kelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2016

Explore Orkney requires 100% prepayment of the tour cost. The Explore Orkney website indicates that 50% of the tour cost will be refunded if a cruise ship does not call at Orkney. In August 2016 the Caribbean Princess did not call at Orkney due to...More

3  Thank HappyTravels2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exploreOrk, Owner at Explore Orkney Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Explore Orkney would like to apologize for the delay in processing this persons refund. However this review is not truthful or accurate. We tried on several occasions to contact this person whose emails were being returned. Contact was eventually made and the above explained. At...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016

Wonderful experience! Great to have a small tour and avoid the timing and locations of the larger groups. Family-run business. Our guide, Trevor, was knowledgeable and personable and we enjoyed our day tour. Growing up in the community, he brought a good perspective on life...More

Thank Halekauwila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Mainland
Standing Stones Hotel
187 reviews
3.98 miles away
The Foveran
130 reviews
4.91 miles away
Polrudden Guest House
44 reviews
5.21 miles away
The Ayre Hotel
399 reviews
5.39 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Gerri's Ice Cream Parlour
56 reviews
4.33 miles away
Matt's Snack Van
10 reviews
4.00 miles away
The Foveran Restaurant
482 reviews
4.91 miles away
Helgi's
745 reviews
5.49 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Maeshowe
553 reviews
4.32 miles away
Corrigall Farm Museum
50 reviews
4.38 miles away
Standing Stones of Stenness
352 reviews
3.59 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Explore Orkney Tours staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;