Mead Open Farm

Mead Open Farm, Billington: Hours, Address, Mead Open Farm Reviews: 4.5/5

Mead Open Farm
4.5
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Write a review
About
You can expect the very best family day out at award winning, Mead Open Farm. Meet furry friends and join in with daily animal activities including bottle feeding lambs, pony grooming, and stroking rabbits and guinea pigs! Outside, little daredevils will love the High Ropes Course and Rock Climbing. There’s plenty more outdoor adventure to discover including Crazy Golf, Jumping Pillows, Go-Karts and Tractor Rides. Plus for rainy days, Mead Open Farm boasts Shaggy's huge Indoor PlayWorld, children can brave giant drop slides and fire ball cannons. And to ensure play for all, toddlers will love to explore Mini Moos imagination village. Plus NEW Veggie World indoor play, climb the veggie tower, whizz down slides and explore the giant pumpkin! Hungry? Shaggy's PlayWorld Cafe is open every day, Perfect for brunch, lunch or an evening munch. From February Lambing to Freaky FunFest and Magic of Christmas, visit the website for special events, educational visits and birthday parties.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
737 reviews
Excellent
426
Very good
200
Average
62
Poor
33
Terrible
16

Sophie L
7 contributions
Oct 2021 • Couples
This was our first experience with horror mazes and The Howl did not disappoint. There are five mazes to experience - Squealers Yard was our favourite followed by Twisted Toppers. The most disappointing one was Red - I feel like more could have been done with the concept and I didn’t really feel it was jumpy enough. That being said, the actors and actresses in every maze and the ones roaming outside are so disciplined not breaking character even once which added to the authenticity of the whole experience.

There is a bar with good quality alcohol so you don’t mind paying the reasonable asking price for it. Food options are plenty with a hog roast outside, waffles, coffee/cake trailer and inside there is a kitchen that serves burgers, hot dogs and there is a vegan option as well. They have a massive pick and mix cart too (the biggest one I have ever seen) £1.45 for 100g but BEWARE this adds up quick! The house band inside and DJ outside were a really nice touch and made it feel like a proper night out.

We went early October so it wasn’t too busy but I can imagine towards Halloween it will be very very packed with long queues for the mazes, bar and for food so bear that in mind.

The most negative part of the night for me was having quite a lot of teenagers hanging around doing what groups of teenagers do. If you wanted to go and enjoy a ‘adult’ night out then you would be disappointed with this. Some of the them had got into the play equipment which was closed off and security had to go and get them down. They would scream and run away from the actors outside in a very over the top way which was really annoying. In the queues for the mazes they would be shouting to each other and letting their mates cut through the line. Even in the mazes themselves you could have the whole maze ruined by an idiot in front proclaiming ‘I’m not scared this isn’t scary’ and proceeding to take pictures or put their torch on when it’s not allowed. And then to go back into the maze if your experience was ruined the first time will cost you £6 (if you pay for the £25 standard ticket) which seems a bit unfair.

I have given 5* despite this as overall the whole experience was good and we enjoy our night. I appreciated the work that had gone into the make up, costumes and the sets themselves. Will definitely go again next year!
Written October 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and wish to return! We appreciate your feedback and are happy you enjoyed the mazes and whole live experience. Our mazes are of different scare levels to cater for everyone – it’s great to hear that you enjoyed the scarier mazes! Most of our visitors are very kind and respectful of each other, so we are sorry to hear you had a negative experience with some of the other visitors. We would always recommend speaking to a member of staff at the time of your visit should you have any concerns about other visitors or if your visit is being affected in any way and we will be happy to help. We look forward to seeing you next year! Many thanks, Mead Open Farm
Written November 11, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jessica standard
Marston Moretaine, UK13 contributions
Aug 2021 • Family
Party of two (adult and 3 year old) Animals feed is only £1 for a bag full, plenty of farm animals to see. Lots of outdoor things to do for younger ones and older ones. Lots of different things go on in the holidays my son always loves the trackter ride. This month they had a foam party on my 3 year old loved it I also got very wet 🙈 my son was wearing his head phones as he has austim the staff where really good when they where using there mics or playing music always asked us If I would like them to turn it down, I throught that was really good the staff noticed my son had headphones on and offered to turn things down. All in all a great place to wear the kids out 😉
Written August 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi, Thank you for your kind review. We're so pleased that you had a great day out with us and enjoyed all the activities including End of Day Foam Party, feeding our furry friends and the Tractor Ride. It is very important to us that all our staff are friendly and helpful so we're very pleased to hear your feedback and we will make sure to pass this onto our team here. We have lots of exciting events coming up and we'd love to welcome you back again soon. Many thanks, Mead Open Farm
Written August 31, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TJHagger
34 contributions
Oct 2020 • Family
From the staggered entry times to the pre ordering at the restaurant they seem to be doing everything they can to keep people safe from Covid.
My step daughter has special needs and the girls in the barn with the rabbits were just amazing taking time to talk to her about her animals at home. She even got to feed the chickens with broccoli.
They really made her day extra special so thank you!

Lunch tables were well spaced and I though the food was good value at just over 6 pounds for nuggets, chips and beans. Good quality and all delivered safely to us on a tray in closed cartons.
its
Support the local businesses where you can so they are here for many years to come! we will be back soon.
Written October 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Emma A
Ampthill, UK11 contributions
Feb 2022
So disappointed with this place, with all the money that has been invested in improving the venue it is very much lacking in good old fashioned hospitality.

We've been visiting since my my son was a toddler, now 16 years old we popped along with his 88 year old grandfather to relive the memories.

Firstly I appreciate that during COVID only bookings online were accepted. However, continuing to do so once restrictions are lifted, alienates the older generation who want to treat their family for the day but are unable to use the internet to do so. I also take great exception to being charged 50p for doing so (I have no choice) and then being thanked on receipt for placing the booking online (of which I also have no choice). Also why are the p.m. sessions not cheaper? I presume you don't turf the a.m. bookings out at 12.30 so they can stay the whole day if they wish?

Whilst I really do not wish to spend my whole morning ranting the main issues were the staff. It took the reception lad a good while to recognise we were standing in front of him as he wanted to finish his conversation with his colleague. As a whole, the staff were stand-offish, unwelcoming, un-engaging and looked thoroughly bored! The only exception were the 2 sheep guys - well done you 2, very funny.

The second moan is the restaurant, who on earth decided to put the ordering till in front of the entrance swing doors, there were blockages of parents with prams crashing into the 3 groups of people crammed in front of the counter. I only wanted 3 takeaway hot drinks, why isn't there a separate counter?

Whilst I appreciate we may not have been the usual Mum/baby group that visits, as mentioned my father is elderly and in the beginnings of memory lost so it was more of a day out for him than us, and unfortunately you've taken your eye of the ball and this family will not be recommending Mead in the future.
Written February 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Emma A Thank you for your review - we always appreciate when our visitors take the time to let us know about their experiences.  Whilst we are delighted you have enjoyed visiting Mead Open Farm for many years, we are extremely disappointed to hear about your most recent experience and hope to address some of your concerns.  With regards to booking online, this step was taken initially with Covid in mind so that we are able to manage arrival times for entry to the farm and avoid long queues on arrival.  Alongside other visitor attractions who continue to operate in this way,  this system has been positively received by visitors hence the reason for keeping this in place.  The booking fee is in place to cover the associated costs to Mead Open Farm for third party services such as technology and processing fees.  You may be interested to know that on Weekdays during term-time, we do have an After-School price which allows visitors to enter the farm from 3.30pm at a discounted rate.   Feedback regarding all of our staff is usually extremely positive and we are often recommended as being friendly and welcoming, so we are extremely disappointed to read your comments.  We have notified the head of department to discuss your feedback with their team accordingly.   Having separated our Grain Store Kitchen from the main Playbarn, we are continually evolving this area to transition to more of a restaurant-style service whereby orders are taken at the entrance and food and drink is served directly to tables.  We have found that this has significantly reduced both queuing and waiting times for our visitors and again, feedback is usually very positive, so we are sorry to hear that you felt inconvenienced by the set up on the day of your visit.   Again, we would like to re-iterate that we are extremely disappointed to hear that your experience was not as you had expected, as it is very important to us that all visitors have an amazing time at the farm and take away great memories.    We would be really grateful if you could email us at info@meadopenfarm.co.uk for the attention of our Operations Manager, so that we may look into this further and assist you.   Many Thanks, Mead Open Farm
Written March 11, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Glyn Smith
5 contributions
Jan 2022
Since deciding not to renew my annual membership two years ago, as Mead had simply pushed their prices North of reasonable, I took advantage of a buy an adult, child free promotion for January.
True to their greedy ways, Mead levy a 50p booking fee for each online ticket, even those that are free! An easy way for them to make money before you even arrive.
Upon arrival, nothing much has changed. Some of the few attractions are closed, noably the outdoor activities. After riding the broken go-karts, it appeared the only investment made, is to partition off the expensive 'canteen' from the playbarn. This was probably done to ensure that all who occupied those tables, dined on their expensive food. We sat in the playbarn and ate our own food as most people did, which was not possible whilst the canteen was part of it, a back-fire for Mead. Cleanliness is lacking in any dining area..tables left uncleared, with no visible cleaning staff.
My main gripe is with their pricing. Two adults and two children membership for 12 months is currently an eye-watering £370! Was reasonable value when I joined a few years ago, but the have since grabbed every penny they can. Why are adults (chaperones) still more expensive than children? Will not bother with Meadagain. They would do well to perform a bit of park maintainance during the quieter Winter months, such as weatherproof picnic tables, that are all left to rot. Would not recommend.
Written January 23, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are sorry to hear your comments regarding our price. Whilst our January offer meant that our child ticket was free with the adult ticket, we still do need to charge a booking fee of 50p to cover the costs to us for third party services such as technology and fees associated with processing bookings. We do feel that we are able to offer a good value, full day out for the whole family, especially Members, with most events and extra activities included in their passes. We are always listening to what our visitors want in order to reinvest back into the farm, such as with the addition of our huge Veggie Washer indoor play area in recent years. So much team work and planning also goes into building on our events programme every year with new shows activities and walkthroughs included in our events, to ensure a really memorable and exciting day out for everyone. It is disappointing that you were surprised to find a few of the attractions were not open. Most of our outdoor play areas remain open throughout the year, however as the safety of our visitors is our first priority, we do need to keep some activities closed in the Winter months as they may be dangerous or slippery when wet or in inclement weather and our admission price reflects this. We do state which activities are open on our website, so we are disappointed that this was not clear to you ahead of your visit. Our team do their utmost to ensure that our eating and seating areas remain as clean and tidy as possible, however if something is missed, we would encourage visitors to come forward and let a member of staff know during their visit, so that the problem can be addressed as soon as possible. We do have an allocated picnic area within the playbarn that our guests are welcome to use to enjoy their food from home, we are sorry this was not made clear to you. To see all of our allocated picnic areas, we recommend having a look at our map, downloading our app or asking a member of staff for help. We would like to reassure you that our cleaning measures are robust and our staff follow a cleaning schedule as well as regularly checking areas for cleanliness between cleaning times. We also still have extra measures in place including more frequent cleaning and sanitation of all areas. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your feedback.
Written February 24, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MrsGoldcrest
Luton, UK20 contributions
May 2022 • Family
We visited here a few weeks ago, I can’t believe how expensive it has become! We have been taking our kids here on & off for approximately 15 years but this will probably be our last visit.

£80 for 5 of us to get in, our youngest being only 22 months old but still being charged the same as the older two. I’m struggling to understand why the adult tickets are, what they are too?

Then the visit to the shop is ‘eye watering’ expensive. Nearly £2 for a coke! Really need to rein it in guys. I think next time we’ll just go to Whipsnade, which is a similar sort of cost but at least you feel you’re getting more for your money.
Written June 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you felt your visit was expensive as we do feel that we are able to offer visitors great value for money, with so much included in entry such as special events, animal activities, huge indoor play and outdoor play. We also ensure we are priced competitively and in line with other similar attractions. Visitors may be interested to know that we are also currently running an offer throughout June 2022 which allows children to go free with a full paying adult. Throughout the Summer we will be offering a 'Summer Pass' which allows unlimited visits from 23 July to 4 September for £26. Many thanks, Mead Open Farm
Written June 16, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

_kabbyevans
Leighton Buzzard, UK160 contributions
Jan 2020 • Family
We have been coming to the mead open farm for 8 years and we have a family membership.
I remember the farm being a great place witch you felt safe and sound and well taken care off.
The farm is not a cheap place for food and drink that’s very basic offering ,but we can live with that because the children have so much fun.
We have noticed a change a big change in our humble opinion.
Our children have not enjoyed the last 3 visits and therefore we will not return again and will not renewing membership or recommend the farm in a positive way.
Bigger older children are out of control in regards to the younger smaller children being picked on, pushed over.
Now when we have confronted these older children they are sooo rude to the mothers telling them F off and so on!
Our children have left crying and upset their so called happy afternoon has been spoiled by travelers children.
When we have called to speak to management to advise what’s been happening and what’s going wrong with customers care, we are told not much they can do in regards to whom comes in Mead open farm. We understand that to a point! So when I Advise the farm should check the CCTV cameras , sorry no camera in that part of the play era.
I have to say a lot of parents we have spoken to about the farm and issues ,they have had similar problems and customers service is poor.
Shame we used like this place, it’s become a rundown dive with not much care for the long term members.
This used to be a decent place with decent customers .Now it’s rude travelers children play ground and that’s not for my children.
Written January 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We’re pleased to hear that you have been visiting us regularly for 8 years and that your little ones have had lots of fun visiting us. We’re however very sorry to hear you feedback regarding your recent visits. We do highly value all our members and we’re very saddened to hear about your experience with other children at the farm. Although we do welcome everyone to the farm, we do not tolerate violent or rude behaviour. Thank you for informing the team, the senior team take this matter seriously and will ensure we can be of more help if any incident occurs. It is very important to us that all our visitors have an enjoyable day out with us. We do highly value your feedback and we will pass this onto our management team straight away. We have lots of exciting events coming up including ‘Lambing Is Back’ this half term with lots of adorable new-born lambs expected and we do hope you will give us another try again soon. Many thanks, Mead Open Farm
Written January 31, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mel.
Oxfordshire, UK243 contributions
Jan 2022 • Family
We visited here today (an hour away from us) after seeing the free child offer with a paying adult. We visited with a 2 and a 4 year old. The food was lovely and tasted fresh and we spent about 5 hours here. The gift shop was really reasonably priced as well. Kids loved it all. Not a negative but something we noticed for people worried about covid. The soft play had a sign outside about timed sessions and I believe I saw this mentioned on the website but we couldn't see anyone monitoring this. We stuck to the time slot on the board outside but couldn't see anyone being told to leave or any cleaning being done like it says on the website, even when we left people were still coming in. We only saw one staff member and that was at the top of the slide. Didn't bother us but may do for people worried about covid. We would love to return but only when there is an offer on like today, we believe the price we paid today was reasonable for the size of the park. All in all we had a great day!
Written January 23, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for leaving us a review of your day. We are so pleased that you had a great day out with your family and that your children enjoyed their visit to us. We are also delighted to hear your feedback about your meal and we will be sure to pass this on to our catering team. We would like to assure you that we do still have COVID measures in place, including extra cleaning, face covering requirements and sanitisers, in addition to scheduled sessions in the soft play at the moment. We try to stick to these sessions as closely as we can, however sometimes we do need to deviate slightly from the timetable, which may have been the case at the time you visited. We do state this on our website, however we are sorry for any confusion at the time of your visit. We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks, Mead Open Farm
Written February 10, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

happiness_32
10 contributions
Aug 2021 • Family
Before visiting I looked on the website and found little information on disability access and if anything was needed for the disabled ticket. We had an hour journey so arrived and needed to use the bathrooms. We found some cabins by the park with steps. the men’s were closed, and there was no signs of if or where any disabled toilets were. We went into the soft play, there were signs for disabled toilets but there was a barrier so they weren’t accessible. As we were leaving I asked in the grain store and found the disabled toilet, which was absolutely filthy, and not easy to get to with multiple double doors and buttons far away from the door.
Overall the farm felt tired and unkept, especially the golf course, the balls and clubs were broken, and there was mud / old grass cuttings on the course. There was no / very little social distancing in place. There were signs to sanitise yet most of the dispensers were empty.
The farm felt unorganised, there was little information on what was happening and when. There were slides closed in the soft play but no signs why. Other members of the public were saying how poor it was. We didn’t know when the rabbits would be out so it was lucky dip of walking in at the right time. There was little staff around to ask anything.
We recently visited a farm which cost around half the price of mead open farm, which was clean, amazingly organised even down to being able to book each activity and time slot on arrival, and a table was allocated for each person in the soft play.
Overall I felt disappointed, our three children said the day was okay but for the price there are definitely better places to visit.
Written August 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We’re saddened to hear your feedback as it is very important to us that all our visitors have an enjoyable day out with us. We’re sorry that you did not find our disability access information. We do have a Disability Access Statement on our website under the ‘Plan Your Visit’ page: https://www.meadopenfarm.co.uk/plan-your-day-out/. We also address this in our FAQ’s page and this information is available at the point when you purchase your ticket. We’re disappointed to hear about your experience regarding our toilets. All our toilets remain open, however they are regularly cleaned, so we do apologise if it wasn’t available at this time. We do have signage around the farm for the toilets, including at the front of our catering area and at the side of the Big Barn. We also have a new App available to download for free, which shows you a list of all the toilets available and where they are located. We will however review our signage from within the play areas and make sure that they’re clear. We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of the disabled toilet. We would like to reassure you that we have a strict regular cleaning regime to follow health and safety regulations. We do also encourage all our visitors to speak to a member of our team on the day and we will be more than happy to fix the issue straight away. During your visit, we work hard to make sure that there are lots of exciting and fun activities to enjoy including our new Festival of Fun event with festival shows running every 30 minutes, end of Day Foam Party, Party Tractor Ride and much more. We’re disappointed to hear about your experience in our Indoor Play. We work hard to make sure that there are lots of fun activities available including our Magical Veggie Wood Play Area, huge slides, zigzag net climbers and more. Following government guidelines, whilst many of the restrictions including social distancing have been removed, we are continuing to act carefully and remain cautious for the safety of our staff and guests. We have kept a number of measures in place including timed arrival slots and Indoor Play Sessions, as well as thorough and regular cleaning schedules for indoor play. We’re sorry to hear that you felt there was little information available on our activities. We do have an up to date timetable on our website: https://www.meadopenfarm.co.uk/childrens-farm-bedfordshire/timetable/. Plus, all customers are sent a pre-visit email advising them to download our App which has all of our activity information on. We do also have signs throughout the farm park about our Festival of Fun activities and at our Animal Barn. We do appreciate all feedback and we will make sure to pass your comments onto our management team. Thanks, Mead Open Farm
Written August 12, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

r52goo
Luton, UK22 contributions
Dec 2020 • Family
Went for the Santa roof top ramble and elf academy. One scheduled in for 4pm and the other for 5.30. Both were pantomime type shows which was not clear from the descriptions. Each session lasted for 15 minutes. Problem was after the elf academy had finished and we were outside at 4.20 we had a problem how to spend the next hour or so. Most of the activities are outside and were wet as it was drizzling.

Saw the goats and the ponies but Mead isn't really about animals it's more activity focused. That killed 10 minutes.

Luckily we managed to get into the earlier show at 4.30 and see Santa having a 10 minute ramble. Again, not suitable for a 2.5 year old.

Positives were that the santa and the elves were very helpful when taking photographs at the end. Negatives were that the two shows were short and spaced out so far apart for reasons which are not clear.

Bear in mind that if it is wet weather then all you have is the indoor play area or the restaurant. Obviously with Covid the numbers in both are restricted.

I do not recommend Mead in poor weather with 2 year old children. Unless you are desperate that is and wish to support a local business. We have been there in good weather and its a different experience completely.
Written December 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 736
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mead Open Farm

Mead Open Farm is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM