We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Havilland Aircraft Museum

432 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

De Havilland Aircraft Museum

432 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
432Reviews6Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 276
  • 133
  • 16
  • 5
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Qtulip wrote a review Dec 2020
Cheltenham11 contributions
Wonderful place to visit - everyone will find things to enjoy here. Very interesting and very helpful staff
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence P, Volunteer at De Havilland Aircraft Museum
Responded 2 weeks ago
Many thanks for your kind words and we are glad you had an interesting time. The volunteers and staff are always looking to assist our visitors so it is nice to get this feedback.
Read more
Robert Richardson wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Being a lifelong aviation enthusiast I have, on many occasions, visited the de Havilland museum at Salisbury Hall. There exhibited, is a collection of some of the most important, and indeed beautiful, aircraft this country ever produced. I have a particular interest in the de Havilland DH 104 Dove and decided to drive down to the museum to gather information on the example residing there. In light of currant restrictions I thought the wisest course of action would be to contact someone at the museum with a view to taking photographs of the Dove interior, something that in the past would have been encouraged. I telephoned the museum a number times to be greeted by the answer phone, I also emailed but received no reply. I’ll take a chance thought I, long drive but it will be worth it. I was surprised to find an upmarket lottery funded version of the old museum with a new upmarket entry fee to match. I was bitterly disappointed to be told that, as it was undergoing restoration, looking inside the Dove would be a health and safety issue. This I fully understand. What I do not understand is why nobody had the courtesy to answer my calls or email thus making my long journey unnecessary. Robert Richardson 5531
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurence P, Volunteer at De Havilland Aircraft Museum
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are sorry for the delay in responding to your comments. We apologise for the problems you have had organising your visit. During the time period you mention we had major phone problems which meant answerphone messages were inaudible. This took a number of weeks to get resolved. We apologise about the email problems, responses have been delayed due to staff being on furlough.
Read more
StAlbans Nostalgia wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
Great local museum - The de Havilland Aircraft Museum, is a volunteer-run aviation museum in London Colney, Hertfordshire,
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael N, Volunteer at De Havilland Aircraft Museum
Responded Dec 4, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review about our Museum.We've just opened following the second lockdown and we'll be open all through December and into the New Year closed only on Mondays and Christmas and New Years Day. Please check out our website for opening times and special events.
Read more
dazzerlee1 wrote a review Nov 2020
London, United Kingdom71 contributions39 helpful votes
A supposed spooky weekend visit for the grand kids paid a lot of money just for them to be let down it was advertised as a spooky halloween type event when my Mrs asked why it was not what it sounded like they said there was a bear hunt for some chocolate buttons well a total rip off for them used to love this place but wrongly lead by what they claimed for the kids very sad will not go back ever after this you lost some good customers.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael N, Trustee at De Havilland Aircraft Museum
Responded Nov 10, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at our Museum and really sorry that you had a disappointing visit. Our Halloween event was focussed around our collection of Vampires and venoms and we ran previously successful quizzes and a bear hunt plus over the Halloween weekend we had a "meet the vampire pilot" who engaged with many visitors of all ages. We hope that you will visit again particularly when the Covid restrictions are relaxed as we have a lot of interactive children's activities that are waiting to be put back on display.
Read more
Kathy L wrote a review Oct 2020
Potters Bar, United Kingdom45 contributions16 helpful votes
Regular visitors here, the staff (many are volunteers) are great and the planes and information interesting. For an trip out, highly recommend!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about De Havilland Aircraft Museum