We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverhills

Closed Now: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Open today: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Review Highlights
Lovely treatments just not such a warm welcome

We came last week for treatments and afternoon tea. We found it was a bit disorganised and didn’t... read more

Reviewed June 17, 2019
lovelylady125
,
Whitstable, United Kingdom
via mobile
Lovely Afternoon Tea and Spa Treatments

Receptionist unwelcoming, not very helpful and intimidating. Once we got past her the other staff... read more

Reviewed June 5, 2019
Deborah T
,
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Read all 259 reviews
All photos (26)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good23%
  • Average17%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible12%
Travelers talk about
“my mum”(17 reviews)
“course meal”(6 reviews)
“nice size”(3 reviews)
About
Exclusive health club and boutique day spa in Ipswich, Suffolk However you choose to relax, Riverhills (formerly Clarice House Ipswich) is the perfect retreat. Conveniently located just off the A14 in Ipswich, Suffolk, our classic country house...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Clarice House Bramford Road | Clarice House, Bramford, Ipswich IP8 4AZ, England
Website
+44 1473 463262
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
79
62
46
39
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
79
62
46
39
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews my mum course meal nice size couldn't fault birthday treat groupon voucher outside area scones negative reviews staff were friendly food was lovely high standard at lunchtime excellent value for money cup of tea burger full body massage
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

From start to finish we had such an amazing days. Reception staff were welcoming and friendly, with big smiles and their faces and they could not have done more to set the day off to a good start! We had coffee and bacon sandwiches which...More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Deeeeeebbie
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for your amazing review! We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day at Riverhills and were looked after so well. It's great to hear the food was incredible and you received great treatments too. Looking forward to seeing you back at Riverhills...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

I visited here with my daughter and two of her friends. We have been here before and enjoyed ourselves but this time things were that little bit better. We had a warm welcome at the desk - there was a slight mix up with treatments...More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank holidaylovers75
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Glad you had such a lovely day with us at Riverhills and received a warm welcome from our team. It's great to hear you enjoyed your massage and facial and felt so relaxed. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited the spa with my 21 year old daughter and we had the most amazing, relaxing and blissful day! We had a lovely warm welcome on arrival. The facilities are stunning and the treatments were 10/10. I absolutely love a spa day and this...More

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Cathy W
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your review! We're really pleased you and your daughter had an amazing, relaxing day at Riverhills and enjoyed your treatments and food. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed June 17, 2019 via mobile

We came last week for treatments and afternoon tea. We found it was a bit disorganised and didn’t feel very welcomed, I had to run around getting stressed out for the basic things like a locker key and towel which I was entitled to, as...More

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank lovelylady125
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with some elements of your day. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities and your treatments.

Reviewed June 8, 2019

Had made an appointment to have a look around Riverhills with a view to joining. Arrived 10 minutes late due to traffic to find the person we were scheduled to meet had already gone to lunch. (Made us wonder how long she was allowing for...More

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Caroline G
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

We're really disappointed to hear of your experience at Riverhills. We would really like the chance to discuss it further. If this is something you're happy to do, please can you email your details to membership@riverhills.co.uk

Reviewed June 5, 2019

Receptionist unwelcoming, not very helpful and intimidating. Once we got past her the other staff were friendly and helpful. It was rather warm in the pool area and the level of chlorine in the jacuzzi made our eyes smart but I assume they know what...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Deborah T
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Thanks for your feedback. We're pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea and treatments, we'll let the restaurant team know you particularly enjoyed the scones!

Reviewed June 5, 2019

This was our second visit here was welcomed by Hannah in reception who was lovely and informative, chose our lunch and opened a tab for the day which saves you carrying money around with you. The subbeds could do with cushions as very hard wood...More

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Jacky851
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're pleased that you and your son received a warm welcome to Riverhills and enjoyed your massage and facial. We are sorry that the manicure did not have chance to fully dry. We do hope...More

Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

The building is lovely and we were so lucky to be there on a sunny day. This allowed us to enjoy the outside sun loungers! Lunch was lovely too! We were entitled to three treatments the first was the full body massage. Mums was ok...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank LoveHolidays033
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our facilities and food, however it's disappointing to hear that your full body massage was not as enjoyable. It's great that your facial was amazing. We would like the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and...More

Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I visited this lovely place for first time and we've had an amazing day. The staff was very helpful and kind, receptionist, waiter. The lunch was delisious.I really enjoyed my 2 course meal,soup and salmon. Facial was wonderful and the body massage...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank 507elenay
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

Thanks for your lovely review! We're pleased to hear you had an amazing day at Riverhills. We hope to see back again soon.

Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

Visited good Friday with friend.When we arrived we were very hurried around, my friend hired robe which was given while we waited in changing room but no towels were given.Got changed and went back to reception to ask for towels she said there will be...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank carly418
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2019

Apologies for the confusion around the gowns and towels, glad it got sorted for you in the end and sorry if things felt rushed. We're pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea and your back massages.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Best Western Gatehouse Hotel
230 reviews
1.12 miles away
Premier Inn Ipswich (Chantry Park) Hotel
714 reviews
1.59 miles away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
711 reviews
1.86 miles away
Premier Inn Ipswich North Hotel
697 reviews
1.90 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
The Bramford Cock
100 reviews
.42 miles away
Indian Ocean
69 reviews
.55 miles away
Bekash Tandoori
72 reviews
.94 miles away
The Sproughton Wild Man
261 reviews
.92 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
The SHED
30 reviews
.90 miles away
Anglia Indoor Karting
45 reviews
.48 miles away
Ipswich Escape Rooms
160 reviews
.72 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Charlotte H
March 5, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Clabburn1 | Reviewed this property |
I don’t think it was very much to be honest don’t know the exact amount. It is a nice robe and we also hired towel and had a pair of their flip flops ( which you keep) Robes, towels and flip flops, plus 3 lots of drinks 1... More
1
Vote
W1421OKmaureenb
January 6, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JudyL71 | Reviewed this property |
We stayed at premier inn chantry park. Clean, comfortable and reasonable. Enjoy 😊
1
Vote