We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Claremont Landscape Garden

364 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Claremont Landscape Garden

364 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
364Reviews3Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 156
  • 136
  • 57
  • 11
  • 4
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jean F wrote a review Nov 14
Great Bookham, United Kingdom206 contributions102 helpful votes
We live just a few miles away and usually visit for a walk about four times a year, it is always enjoyable. Yesterday, a Friday during the November lockdown, we had booked ahead, as is necessary now. At first all was well, the lake was peaceful in the sun and a black swan swam past. We set off up the hill, following the longer one way system. It soon became obvious that, at 11.30 am, there were a good number of people there, most of them with no thought of 'social distancing'. When we returned on the narrow path around the side of the lake, there were more people than I have ever seen there before, walking straight towards us, barging past on the narrow path - we weren't walking slowly, it was impossible and, to be honest, upsetting. The café was doing 'take away' coffee; most people got their coffee and then walked down a very narrow path and against the one way system to some seats. When we finally made it to the car park, cars were piling in and a member of staff was finding parking spaces for them. Obviously the NT cannot be responsible for the behaviour of its visitors, but, in view of the Covid restrictions, more thought is needed here. Too many people are being admitted, it was like a free for all. Very sorry but we won't be back any time soon - very disappointing.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxanne_CLG, Visitor Experience Officer at Claremont Landscape Garden
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Jean F, we're really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to Claremont. Since the second lockdown was implemented we have reduced our daily maximum capacity and we are constantly reviewing this, and our one way routes and signage, as we absolutely want our visitors to feel safe in our garden. Our car park is quite small and as demand for our garden is very high at present, we do ask visitors to stay no more than 2 hours per visit. However there can be times, particularly in the middle of the day, when the car park seems very busy so we try to help get visitors parked quickly and safely. As you point out, we can't take responsibility for individuals actions, and as a charity, unfortunately we don't have the resources to be in the garden manning the paths. However, following your comments, I have updated the signage along the lake path so it's really clear to visitors that the path is one way only. We do hope you will visit us again soon, and if you do, please get in touch with staff on the day if you have any concerns. Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us.
Read more
Terri T wrote a review Nov 4
1 contribution
Had a wonderful time on my first visit to Claremont with my 3 month old daughter. Due to the beautiful weather it was busy and the car park was well managed with the really friendly staff who were working. We had a lovely welcome by the lady on the entrance to the gardens too. There was clear signage for the one way system around the gardens and hand sanitizer at the entrance and exit which was appreciated, it felt like they were doing all they could to ensure a safe visit. The seating in the outdoor cafe area was well spaced, clean and tidy where I enjoyed a yummy hot chocolate. All in all a really lovely visit and I will definitely go back.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxanne_CLG, Visitor Experience Officer at Claremont Landscape Garden
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello territX394UG, thank you for your lovely comments! We want everyone to feel safe when they visit us so we're glad you found the one-way system easy to follow. Our hot chocolate is good isn't it, we enjoy carefully dunking our shortbread into it! We look forward to welcoming you and your little one back on your next visit!
Read more
Lisa E wrote a review Nov 4
1 contribution
Beautiful vistas with friendly staff. Everything was clean and we felt safe. Our visit was topped off with a lovely hot chocolate!
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxanne_CLG, Visitor Experience Officer at Claremont Landscape Garden
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi U6006PAlisae, we've worked really hard to ensure everyone does feels safe when they visit so we're really pleased to hear you did! And we're totally biased of course, but we find our hot chocolate yummy too! We hope you'll come and see us again soon.
Read more
Stockhouse wrote a review Oct 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom33 contributions16 helpful votes
Henry, our 4 year old, absolutely loved it! The wicked witch was brilliant, she made us all jump. Frankenstein was great on his tractor too. Henry also loved the Spider Web to climb through and even though it was pouring with rain we had a great time. Coffee and cake was very good too😊
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxanne_CLG, Visitor Experience Officer at Claremont Landscape Garden
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Stockhouse, thank you for your wonderful comments. The Witch asked me to tell you how much fun she had making you jump, she's already looking forward to next year! In the meantime, we hope you and Henry come back for another visit and cake soon.
Read more
hannahebarritt wrote a review Oct 2020
Surbiton, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
We visited during October half term 2020. The autumn colours were stunning and it was a great place for children to run off some energy. There was a brilliant Hallowe'en trail with pumpkins, riddles, games, facts, bats, a web to climb through and a witches house. The children (age range 5 to 8 years) all had a brilliant time. We spent a fun three hours there. Parking was easy, the toilets were clean, the staff were friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxanne_CLG, Visitor Experience Officer at Claremont Landscape Garden
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi hannahebarritt, thank you so much for your lovely comments! We love hearing how much fun you and your children had over Halloween and hope you'll visit us again soon.
Read more
Previous