We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wild Spirit Dog Sledding & Bushcraft

#3 of 13 Tours in Are
Are, Sweden
More
About Wild Spirit Dog Sledding & Bushcraft
Wild Spirit Dog Sledding and Bushcraft offers exciting Sled Dog Tours and Stoneage Bushcraft Workshops in Northern Sweden. Based 30 minutes from Åre, our husky tours and workshops are offered against the stunning wilderness backdrop of Ottsjö, giving you an authentic taste of Sweden’s Arctic Wilderness. Please contact us directly for booking information and prices
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Wild Spirit Dog Sledding & Bushcraft
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
21Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MR cool l wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
A great experience together with the guides and the dogs of course. I can highly recommend to try this.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
David B wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
What a superb experience we had with wonderful people, dogs, atmosphere and surroundings! A special thanks to Ellie and Richard for giving our son (and his parents) memories he will never forget! He cried on the way home because he missed you already. We did a full day tour and the day couldn't have been long enough. Highly recommend! Thanks guys!
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Dawn R wrote a review Mar 2021
Stockholm, Sweden1 contribution
This was an incredible experience that we will definitely repeat next time we're in the area. We went with our 6 and 8 year old who thoroughly enjoyed it! We felt that we were fully supported by our guide and received excellent instructions prior and during the tour. A tip would be to take the disposable hand warmers and have them somewhere handy, especially if you have small people on the sled. We were totally in awe of the scenery, operation and especially the dogs. Claire and Ellie were extremely friendly and very professional. See you in 2022 :)
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from ClaireH3108, Owner at Wild Spirit Dog Sledding & Bushcraft
Responded Mar 30, 2021
Hi Dawn! We are so happy that you had a fantastic trip, and a huge warm welcome next year. Love your tip of the day very appt! Lots of Hugs Claire, Richard and Ellie x
Read more
Monika R wrote a review Mar 2021
Lund, Sweden40 contributions15 helpful votes
We had a lovely dog sled tour with our little kids. Ellie and Richard were wonderful and such friendly guides.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from ClaireH3108, Manager at Wild Spirit Dog Sledding & Bushcraft
Responded Mar 30, 2021
Thank you Monika, we are happy that you enjoyed your experience, warm welcome back! Take Care Claire, Richard and Ellie
Read more
Patrick R wrote a review Mar 2021
11 contributions3 helpful votes
I wanted to make a little debrief of our experience last monday as I got no response from the manager of the firm. The sled dog mountain tour was really a bad experience because the quality of the trails was just awful on most of the part of our tour. We were stuck with the dogs more than ten times. We had to withdraw all the time the snow off the sled so I and my wife we fell several times because our feet sank in the snow deep while driving. The guide was ok. She did her best in very bad conditions, but was alone. Franky speaking we did twice such a tour in Finland and had a lot of fun but this time there was no pleasure at all and it was even dangerous. I think if the manager knew that the snow was not good enough it would have been better to cancel the tour. The kids din't have any fun apart from the dogs'meeting and they were even afraid that we will all fall off the trail in the deep snow. In a nutshell, we were really disappointed by the fact that nobody from the firm apologized and even dared to respond to our comments. I would not recommand such a firm that doesn't assume its responsability.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from ClaireH3108, Owner at Wild Spirit Dog Sledding & Bushcraft
Responded Mar 30, 2021
Wild Spirit pride ourselves in our customer service and health and safety. The day of your tour was a blustery day, but it was deemed safe. There were tricky parts, which our dogs and guide worked hard to get you all through. The conditions on the day of your tour were unexpected, unfortunately we were unable to predict how wet certain sections of the trail were going to be. Because we live in the mountains the weather can change quickly and the snow conditions can change very drastically from day to day. Which then leads me onto our safety, our guide has on call measures if she deems the tour unsafe, or an incident occurs, she is NEVER alone. Our dog sledding tours are adventure dog sledding tours, we are taking you out into the nature and one of the wonderful aspects of nature and adventure is that it changes and provides us with many different experiences. However you have to acknowledge that we are not in control of the nature, and sometimes it will provide us with more challenging conditions as it did on the day of your tour. This is specified in our terms and conditions. However we do acknowledge and apologize that this tour was outside your personal comfort zone given the weather conditions. Our guide kept in contact with base kennel throughout the tour, we were on standby should the conditions have deteriorated whilst your were on the tour. There was another group on your tour, who had a fantastic time, and we had great feedback from them.
Read more
Previous