Mid Yorkshire Golf Club
Mid Yorkshire Golf Club
4.5
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles84 reviews
Excellent
64
Very good
11
Average
3
Poor
4
Terrible
2

lauralovesgolf
Sheffield, UK46 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Played here after a heavy rain fall overnight. Surprisingly the fairways and green were very dry. Even though some of the par 4s were short accuracy was important as they are well guarded by bunkers or water hazards.

My only fault was when we returned to the clubhouse a member of the club was swearing constantly very loudly and none of the staff had a word wirh him especially as there was also a function on with children present.

We will definitely play the course again
Written July 13, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

mike w
Wakefield, UK1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2012 • Family
Visited with the family after being recommended by a friend to go to the newly refurbed fairways restaurant sunday lunch. All I can say is Excellent value, excellent meal, excellent friendly helpful staff. I would highly recommend a vist to anyone. way better than your 2 for 10!
Written August 4, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

PeterTheSaint
30 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2019 • Friends
Our golf Society played here on Sunday 30th June 2019, and what an awesome venue it is.
Close to major road network, which meant we were only 10 minutes from the M62.
We had bacon butties before play, which were all freshly served.
The venue and course itself were both immaculate and very clean.
It’s so good that we are thinking of returning next year
Written July 2, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Peter Thank you for your review, I'm glad you all enjoyed the food & the golf, the course itself has had a lot of work over the past year which has been worthwhile. I will pass your lovely comments onto the staff. We look forward to your second visit very soon. Kindest Regards Karen
Written September 17, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

goneroaming
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates172 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2018 • Business
A catastrophe of errors

Attended a charity dinner this evening and I have never had such a laugh.

Firstly bin ends of wine were being sold at £10 a bottle. Great value! However not when the bar can’t find a corkscrew. So house wine was offered for same price.

Starter was a lovely tomato soup. Sadly no soup spoons on the tables. Maybe the 3 weeks notice of the menu wasn’t enough time.

Oh salt and pepper please - we will just go and get it.

Side plates still need to make an appearance!

Now after the starter of soup and bread has been served and eaten ... three portions of butter have arrived at the table for 10 people. An interesting way of serving a starter. Oh and the butter was frozen!

Main course : lamb shank! Served on a bed of mashed potatoes served along with roast potatoes, cauliflower, broccoli and a few carrots.

The main course was superb. Great flavours. Cooked very well.

It was amusing asking for mint sauce as I was told it was already in the lamb. Despite this a young lady found us some.

When another lady was asked for more - we don’t have any more it’s in the gravy. Somehow she must have gone int he garden and got some and made it as it magically appeared. This circus continues!

Up next is desert .....

And it continues you couldn’t make this up.

Desert is treacle sponge and custard. Of the 10 people on my table - 2 asked for ice cream instead of custard.

Sadly there’s no ice cream as the freezer is broken.

I described this earlier in the evening as a pantomime - I think it’s more like an Ealing comedy.

I do wish to point out that most of the waiters and bar staff are great and so apologetic.

Sadly some of them don’t see the irony.

And where is the manager one might ask ... the one who exposed the previous manager for embezzling allegedly. Oh not here it would seem. Perhaps he knew what an absolute dogs breakfast it was going to be!

Treacle sponge and custard .. or cream for those that asked for ice cream ....
The treacle sponge was cold. The custard was tepid ... the cream was single and was cold. Evidently the fridge worked!

All in all this was a cock up from start to finish.

If I was a member, captain or manager of this place I would be embarrassed and resign.

If you’re looking to book any event - go somewhere else.

P!ss up brewery applies!
Written September 13, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear goneroaming I will not thank you for your in-appropriate review, you had time during the event to sort out anything that was not to your liking regarding the food, you actually praised the staff who were serving that evening. Ian the Organiser was very appreciative & grateful for the use of our venue for his fundraiser, I noticed you did not thank him at all for all the effort he had put in to make this event possible. For your information it is industry standard to serve cream to pour "single & cold!" We are not allowed to serve de-frosted ice cream as this would be a health hazard, therefore as the freezer had broken down all food that was in it was destroyed in accordance with EHO. A manager does not work 24/7 at any venue & it is no business of yours as to the Managers working hours. It was totally biased as you clearly had a personal connection to the previous manager who left over 5 years ago. It is out of order to accuse the now Manager of exposing someone for embezzling, this has nothing to do with the event that night & for this reason we will be seeking advice from our legal department. On that note were are glad that you are not a member, Captain or Manager as this is not the correct way to approach us.
Written September 17, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

PeterTCheshire
Barrowford, UK89 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2019 • Friends
Our Golf Society played here on Sunday 30th June 2019, and what a superb venue it is.
Close to the motorway network, yet hidden away from the road noise, the course was in fantastic condition.
The course was well sign posted, and the pro shop well stocked.
All the staff were very helpful, and the bacon sandwiches were tasty and much needed.
Would recommend this for any golf Society looking for a great venue in West Yorkshire.
Written July 1, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Peter We are very pleased that you enjoyed your golf day here with us and that we met & possibly exceeded your expectations. I will pass your comments onto all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you all again very soon. Kindest Regards Darrington Golf Club
Written July 2, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

martinrc31
Pontefract, UK4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2018 • Friends
Went for drinks didn’t realise it was so much cheaper then all others round here was quite pleased and food service to others looked nice a mean a £5 for burger can’t go wrong at all other place s I know it’s double that and clearly are not happy when comes to you half the time but here it’s reasonably and fair.
Written August 24, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Martin Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your drinks & food here when you visited us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Regards Karen
Written August 29, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Scott W
Bedale, UK10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2016 • Friends
All round excellent course and friendly staff .This golf course is a little hidden gem and well worth a visit .The course has holes that are both varied and rewarding, and sometimes a challenge !. All in all a great value venue well worth a visit.
Written April 18, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you Scott, for your review of the golf course I will certainly pass on your comments to the green keepers who have had quite a battle against the wet weather this Spring but have managed to keep the course open. We look forward to your next booking.
Written April 19, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Patrick T
Lincoln, UK108 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2016
mid Yorkshire golfs fairways restaurant really has to be the best restaurant around. relaxed atmosphere very well trained staff the food its always first class brilliantly presented and priced at a level that no one could complain about and it was very busy but every thing runs like a swiss watch, again a big well done to you all .
Written March 7, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you Patrick for your review from Mother's Day Sunday Lunch, we are happy that you once again you found it to be a great experience. It was a very busy lunch time with a lovely atmosphere and I will pass on your comments about the food being First Class to Gary our Head Chef. The staff are pleased that you enjoyed it and the "well done " from your group is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you all again very soon.
Written March 8, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

VALERIE J
Wakefield, UK1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2015 • Family
A huge "thank you" to all the staff at Mid Yorkshire Golf Club,
from all our guests at mums 80th birthday Sunday lunch on
1st February 2015. Everyone commented on the venue and how impressed they were
with everything. We were a party of 32, from the very young to the very old.

The waiting staff were very friendly and nothing too much trouble.
The lunch was outstanding from presentation to quality, thank you chef and your team.
We will recommended you and sing your praises!

A special thank you to Michael and Katie from Valerie x
Written February 2, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
What a great review about your mum's 80th Birthday lunch thank you from you and your guests for taking the time to write about your great experience. The staff were very pleased to read your comments about them and I have passed on your lovely remarks regarding the food and the presentation to Chef and his team in the kitchen. We all hope that you visit us again soon!
Written February 3, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Christine7157
Redcar, UK5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2013 • Friends
Played this course 3 times recently. Superb course. Everyone makes you welcome from the professional to the caterers and bar staff. The clubhouse has recently been decorated and is very nice. The food is tasty, well presented and well priced.
Written September 26, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 84
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Mid Yorkshire Golf Club - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mid Yorkshire Golf Club

Mid Yorkshire Golf Club is open:
  • Sun - Sat 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM



RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars