We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Shark Ventures

Features Animals
7 Kusweg | Corner Kusweg & Geelbek Str., Kleinbaai, Overstrand, South Africa
+27 21 532 0470
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
An afternoon with great white sharks

It is a great time going out on a boat to look and jump down in a cage looking at sharks. Now it... read more

Reviewed March 22, 2018
Bo K
Great White Shark Cage Dive

Amazing. Although it can’t be guaranteed you will see one, the crew at White Shark Adventures we’re... read more

Reviewed March 5, 2018
Ninette M
,
Thunder Bay, Canada
via mobile
Read all 299 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
White Shark Ventures invites you cage diving in the aptly named "Shark Alley", near the fishing village of Gansbaai, South Africa. Due to various geographical reasons, water temperatures and easy access to food, this area has earned worldwide recognition as the single most successful area to view the great white shark in a short period of time. In successful operation for more than 25 years, White Shark Ventures were the founders of shark cage diving in Gansbaai. Our tours are not only highly educational, as we also participate in documenting valuable research information on great white sharks, made available to Government Researchers and various Marine Biologists world-wide. Our directors and employees are passionate about conservation and rehabilitation of all wildlife species. Our company were the founders of the Great White Shark Protection Foundation, a body dedicated to the protection and preservation of great white sharks globally. Join us for the ultimate experience…
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
“dive master” (22 reviews)
“white shark” (38 reviews)
“cape town” (57 reviews)
LOCATION
7 Kusweg | Corner Kusweg & Geelbek Str., Kleinbaai, Overstrand, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 532 0470
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dive master"
in 22 reviews
"white shark"
in 38 reviews
"cape town"
in 57 reviews
"great whites"
in 33 reviews
"these guys"
in 13 reviews
"within minutes"
in 9 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 12 reviews
"shark cage diving trip"
in 4 reviews
"bad weather"
in 6 reviews
"light breakfast"
in 8 reviews
"natural environment"
in 5 reviews
"amazing creatures"
in 4 reviews
"hold your breath"
in 6 reviews
"cold water"
in 8 reviews
"from start to finish"
in 5 reviews
"face to face"
in 3 reviews
"sea sickness tablets"
in 3 reviews
Filter

21 - 30 of 255 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2018

It is a great time going out on a boat to look and jump down in a cage looking at sharks. Now it turn out, going in the cage, in cold water with big whites swimming by a meter was an experience but the visibility...More

1  Thank Bo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

Amazing. Although it can’t be guaranteed you will see one, the crew at White Shark Adventures we’re all professional, knowledgeable and made the experience a better one. The 3 White sharks we seen were incredible and a story to forever tell! We are both VERY...More

Thank Ninette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2018 via mobile

They take you on a 15 minutes trip into the ocean, then pretend they care about getting close to the sharks. In the end we didn't see any sharks and they didn't have the slightest sense of regret. They refuse to give a refund! They...More

Thank Husam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white-shark-diving, Manager at White Shark Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2018

We took you out on the ocean for 3 hours (not 15 minutes), exactly as we advertise. You were in the hands of highly experienced and qualified crew who have been working with sharks for many years, and they all tried their best to get...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2018

The cage diving was fine, yet highly depending on group #. The second group was the luckiest. Also: stay on the left of the cage, near the bait!! The video quality on the thumb drive was poor, and email requests left unanswered.More

Thank Nikolay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white-shark-diving, Manager at White Shark Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Thank you for your review. The quality of our video was good but not fantastic, due to the lighting on the day. This is something we cant do much about but it was still the exact same quality which was screened at our office, before...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018

On our trip it was pretty bad visibility, we did see one shark, but not the great white,was also pretty small. We couldn't see shark while we were in cage, but we saw shark when we were on boat. It's pretty expensive experience so I...More

Thank JerryMoon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white-shark-diving, Manager at White Shark Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Thank you for your review. On our website and all our literature, we clearly state that we cannot 100% accurately predict the visibility at the diving area. It is only once we arrive at the diving site 10 km’s out at sea, that it is...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

The ride to the Boat from Cape Town is long, as stated. It took 3+ hours both ways. The breakfast and lunch are decent in my opinion. We did not see any great whites on our trip and, therefore, we are obviously disappointed. This is...More

1  Thank Niki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white-shark-diving, Manager at White Shark Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Thank you for your review. On our website and all our literature, we clearly state that we cannot 100% accurately predict the visibility at the diving area. It is only once we arrive at the diving site 10 km’s out at sea, that it is...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017 via mobile

First of all I did some research and I knew that when it comes to mother nature nothing is garanteed. But I think there are some things that these companies can control or adapt to. So, in our day the visibility conditions in the sea...More

Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white-shark-diving, Manager at White Shark Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017

First of all we are truly happy that you had such a great tour and saw not only Great Whites, but also Bronze Whaler sharks on our tour. Unfortunately we cannot “control or adapt” to sea conditions and visibility as these are nature and out...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

Great value! Extremely fair price for the quality of the day. Pick up and drop off, light brekky/snacks and a good size lunch afterwards. Since there was time I was able to go into the cage twice 🙂 bonus! Even when you're not in the...More

Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

Any good reviews are most likely a result of white shark sightings. We did not see any white sharks at all. We took a chance and were unlucky. This is the nature of the excursion as nothing is guaranteed other than your transfer, meals, and...More

Thank chud1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white-shark-diving, Manager at White Shark Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Hi Chud Thanks for your review. All guests are aware that it is a long drive to and from the diving site. It is for this reason that we guarantee the latest and most luxurious busses available in the shark diving industry. Unfortunately we cannot...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

Originally signed up for the hunting and breach tour but this one was cancelled due to the season. But I had a great time with white shark ventures, made two cage dives and saw 5 great whites. Enough time to interact and see the shark...More

Thank Christopher_U89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Baleens
625 reviews
14.30 miles away
Birkenhead House
451 reviews
14.81 miles away
Harbour House Hotel
1,057 reviews
14.88 miles away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
762 reviews
14.96 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Fijn Coffee
5 reviews
.00 miles away
Kloeksathome
398 reviews
4.28 miles away
Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant
666 reviews
2.49 miles away
Blue Goose
503 reviews
2.44 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Marine Dynamics
1,796 reviews
.12 miles away
Supreme Sharks
170 reviews
.13 miles away
Great White Shark Tours
1,112 reviews
.05 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mantababe
September 17, 2017|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
99Garfield99
August 26, 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jcarm270 | Reviewed this property |
did not use SCUBA because the visibility at the time of year we were there was only about 10-15ft and it was explained to us that the scuba bubbles tend to make the sharks really wary so they will not come in close to find... More
2
Votes