Mida Creek

Mida Creek, Watamu: Address, Mida Creek Reviews: 4.5/5

Bodies of Water • Nature & Wildlife Areas
About
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Top ways to experience Mida Creek
Popular mentions

4.5
748 reviews
Excellent
491
Very good
201
Average
42
Poor
11
Terrible
3

Liesel81
Kigali Province, Rwanda614 contributions
Awesome boat cruise and sunset
May 2021 • Solo
Took a boat cruise on the creek and then watch the sunset afterwards amazing. I loved it. Definitely recommended.
Written May 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Valentine M
7 contributions
Mangrove forest visit
May 2021 • Family
The canoe ride was relaxing. The guide/person rowing the canoe was engaging. We got to see crab traps, fish traps and birds. We climbed the mangrove trees for pictures it was amaizing.
Written May 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

PinkIncs
Nanyuki Town, Kenya62 contributions
Really Disappointed
When we were arranging this tour, I asked if there was a car park or (since pickup was included on our ticket) if it was better to be sent a driver. We were sent 2 tuk tuks at an additional cost of 2000ksh (again pickup was meant to be included). This was even more annoying because there would have been plenty of room for us to park our own car on site meaning we also wouldn't have to pay for a return journey of 1,500ksh (total 3,500ksh extra just for transport when we had our own).

The canoe ride through the mangroves was actually a canoe ride skirting around the mangroves. It was fun at first but at no point did we "enter" the mangroves despite our eldest daughter repeatedly asking when we were "going in". We saw 2 different types of birds, no fish and no marine life despite being told there were "many many fish" there were none.

Then, instead of returning us to land as arranged so we could head off for our evening excursion on a dhow we had hired, we were taken 2.5 hours to the middle of the creek and had to be rescued by the dhow due to rising tides and darkness falling. The dhow owner wasnt happy and neither were we. In the words of the guide "If the dhow doesn't come, we will be all awash". So with young children we were in the middle of the creek, cold, wet and stranded. The guides then had the nerve to hitch a ride part way back on the dhow we had paid a small fortune for!

The ride itself was good fun for the first hour but after 2.5 bum numbing hours we had enough.

A complaint was made to Viator who process the tour and payment on behalf of TripAdvisor and we were told "sorry, it won't happen again" not really good enough when you put a family in this position.
Written April 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harrison_Karisa
We are very sorry that we have not been able to offer you a satisfactory experience but I feel like we need some context about your review. First of all, it's specified in the listing that pickup it's not offered for free but it's available at an additional sum. It's also important to say that, since you had the Dhow tour booked there was no point in making you return to the camp since the end of the Dhow tour was on the other side of the lagoon, there was no point in coming back to Mida Creek. About the content of the tour: we're sorry that it didn't turn out how you expected, wildlife sightseeing it's really a matter of luck and cirumstances, in the same way a Safari guide cannot guarantee you'll be able to see a white rhino, in no way we can predict what we'll be able to see. We do everything we can to make the ride fun and entertaining but we can't control when birds and fishes will show up. We're really sorry for what happened, I feel like there was some misfortune and miscommunication involved but we hope that what you'll bring home after this experience won't be just a bad evening.
Written April 11, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dahuvariable
Fribourg, Switzerland1,058 contributions
Absolutely stunning
Mar 2021 • Couples
Great visit on a small boat in the mangrove. All the trees are amazingly beautiful with their roots in the water. We also went on a dhaw to have sundowners. It was a marvelous moment.
Written March 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Thomson
Amsterdam, The Netherlands580 contributions
Stunning views from the boardwalk
Mar 2021
At golden hour I walked the boardwalk at the creek. Stunning views, beautiful creek. I did not take a boat at the creek but I heard you can canoe there and I saw people swimming and enjoying themselves.
Written March 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Beverlyn O.K
Nairobi, Kenya81 contributions
Boardwalk & Canoe ride at Sunset
Sep 2020 • Friends
The adventure starts from the “wobbly” boardwalk as you balance yourself as you walk till the end, this was such a thrill Board your canoe here and the calm ocean gently rocks you to the creek, if the tide & water level is low you can get off at garden of eden to catch the sunset as the water turns to a shimmery gold, such a sight to behold!
If you’re adventurous you can kayak, stand up paddle boarding or float around the mangroves in the creek experiencing it all and hopefully see some birds hunting in the shallow waters.
We used a local guide who was very informative & affordable.
Written November 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anuj R
London169 contributions
Hidden Gem on the Kenyan Coast
Nov 2020
Book your excursions through the Watamu Treehouse, you wont be disappointed. Try Kayak, a dhow safari or even Stand Up Paddle.
Written November 4, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brenda I
2 contributions
PEACEFUL
Oct 2020
This was one of the most peaceful rides I have ever been on. The canoe ride was so much fun I almost fell asleep just by how soothing the water was. It was almost as if it was lulling us to sleep lol. This is definitely something I would do over and over again
Written October 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shiro
3 contributions
Sunset!!
Oct 2020
the sunsets are breath taking and the boat ride through the Mangroove tunnel is another experience worth trying!
Written October 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sheila K
Nairobi, Kenya26 contributions
Quiet and Peaceful
Sep 2020 • Family
Took a sunset cruise on the creek from
Hemingways. Beautiful views. Ocean was calm in the creek, and the sunset was beautiful.
Written September 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 201
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing