We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Live Life In Tents
Live Life InTents is a unique adventure tourism company providing camping and glamping experiences along with river tubing and local adventures. Located on the Cabot Trail in Margaree Forks, LLIT is your one stop shop for everything adventure related on Cape Breton Island.
Read more
Travelers talk about

Live Life In Tents
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
14Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 11
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MFD wrote a review Aug 2020
Boucherville, Canada4 contributions2 helpful votes
Made the booking. We live just outside of Margaree in Inverness. The whole experience was awesome. Friendly staff. It was a beautiful day. The water is clear and beautiful. Fun was had by all. Gave us real expectations, explained we might need to paddle or walk in some areas but it didn’t make the trip any less amazing. The scenery and the fish and the mountainous hills all around it was just great. I definitely recommend it for anyone near or far. Meghann Dunphy
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Kathryn B wrote a review Jul 2020
Halifax, Canada6 contributions1 helpful vote
Great private camp site with limited sites available. The staff are great and the place is very easy to find. Spent 1 night there, meant to be 2 but we are fair weather campers and rain was on the way! Bathroom facilities are kept very clean but if you are not used to the "outhouse" experience, be prepared.... Showers actually had hot water, rare, and were very clean. It was also very easy to do your dishes, we always have our own little dish pan but again, nice to have hot water. The only thing I wish was a bit better was the fire wood, it wasn't the best and was quite wet, making it hard to keep a fire going and not have it too smokey. One of my favorite parts of the site was that you could pick a site with a raised platform, this was a really nice bonus if you have a small tent like us! It is really well located to a number of great spots, I am sure that there are some great hidden gems. We ventured to the river ourselves (wear long pants) and it was nice to cool off on a hot day there but be careful of the current- no wonder they can do tubing so easily on the river. I definitely want to do the tubing excursion next time. We also drove to Gypsum mines and went into the Cabot Trail a bit to hike Blueberry Mountain (won't be on the Cabot Trails website, a local spot). The hike there was beautiful and from what we are told, similar to the Skyline Trail but we were able to take our dog on this trail. Will be back for sure and have already told our friends about it! Thanks for a great (but short) trip!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Terri MP wrote a review Jun 2020
Nova Scotia, Canada1 contribution
Went on a tubing adventure with Live Life In Tents (LLIT) late July 2019 for my best friend's bachelorette party. Any time you're organizing for a larger group of people there's more planning involved and I appreciated how accommodating LLIT staff were through the whole process. Tubing was delightful and everyone had a blast! The following weekend in August LLIT arranged a Garrett Mason campground concert so we drove back down from the mainland to camp at LLIT and it was one of the highlights of our summer. Intimate Garrett set and then you just have to walk up the hill back to your tent and have a bonfire with your new friends at their neighboring campsite - that's a primo Cape Breton summer night right there. We're already planning our next summer 2020 stay at LLIT to combat the COVID-19 blues with Margaree Valley views :)
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Matt wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
You always hear: "Support Local" and I for one am totally in support of this movement. However, you may want to reconsider that air b n b or hotel in this not so glamping establishment. The owners and staff are unprofessional and unorganized. Live Life in Tents needs to be reminded that they are providing a service and that their guest deserved to be treated with better care and attention then they are currently providing. I left from my stay with Live Life in Tents feeling uncomfortable and to be honest a little scared to provide an authentic review online due to the bullying and threatening emails that had followed my stay as soon as I disclosed that I could not in good faith provide a positive review based on the treatment I had received during my stay with them. Book with caution.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Live Life I, Owner at Live Life In Tents
Responded Sep 4, 2019
You also always hear: "Don't steal" and especially from a small local business. Just so the reader is aware - this person and his partner have decided to create multiple accounts to slander us and the Salmon Pool Inn because they decided they didn't need to pay for their dinners and dine and dash. This was our response from the same rating on google. We did our best to accommodate you on your stay with us during the hurricane that hit our area on the second night of your stay. We went out of our way to offer you, and everyone else staying with us, safe harbor at a local inn so that you could escape the high winds and heavy rainfall if you wanted it or didn't feel safe staying in a tent during the storm. I remember you taking the offer happily and we even offered you a discount for the inconvenience of having to move locations from which you thanked us for. I had also informed you, and everyone else who took us up on the generous offer, that the inn's restaurant wasn't open but would probably offer you a small menu shall you choose to do so but any incidentals would be at your own expense. Cathy went out of her way to accommodate you and everyone else during their stay, opening up her kitchen to cook your food and let others cook their own. Early the next morning I had received a call from the manager of the Salmon Pool informing me that you and your partner had left without paying any of the food you had ordered the day and evening before. I proceeded to email you notifying you that we would charge you for the meals if you did not get back to us which I never heard back so, we charged the $69 for 2 x quesadillas & 2 x pulled pork sandwiches to your bill. At this point, I had started to received threatening emails from you because we charged you for meals you decided to not pay for. To avoid having the Salmon Pool filing a report to the local RCMP for non-payment of a bill, we thought you might rather sort it out amicably but after the extensive and aggressive emails, we offered you a full refund so you could sort the issue out with the inn and the RCMP from which we got more aggressive responses.
Read more
Mario wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Not a good visit overall. The tent is nice and it is nicely furnished. I would give the tent itself 4 stars. We stayed in it and it was raining and it leaked all night. We woke up wet, the wind uprooted several pegs and the tarp was flailing all night. The next day the tarp ripped. The washrooms are non-existent. There is two port a potty for the whole site, if you are advertising glamping then actually have washrooms. They pride themselves on reducing their carbon foot print and have solar showers but those showers could have used a wooden door instead of plastic shower curtain flowing with the wind and exposing you to the elements. The water is barely hot with the propane fores ones and the solar one would only work on a super sunny day. There is only a faucet to fill up water, no spot to wash ypur face or anything. The campground isnt much to write home about, it is a flat piece of land overlooking the road, you are surrounded by the hills and that is very beautiful but cape breton has way better sights to see so pay less and tent somewhere worth it. Customer service lacking big time, it is sad because we want to support local small businesses. The owners need to understand that they are providing a service to their customers and that the customer is paying for that service. Fighting with your customer and threatening and bullying is not the way to go about to leave a good impression. Several other people that had stayed there said they were bullied into not leaving reviews.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Live Life I, Owner at Live Life In Tents
Responded Sep 4, 2019
It's very unfortunate that you and your partner have decided to create multiple accounts to slander us on every platform available with inaccurate and untrue statements about your stay. Not to mention opting out of mentioning a lot of facts including the one where you dined and dashed at a local inn and proceeded to threaten us with negative reviews because we charged you for the food you ordered but did not pay for. At no point during your stay did you ever bring any concern up to us about the site, which is accurately described on our website from which you booked. I should also note that during your stay we did get hit with high winds and heavy rain due to a cyclone moving through but at no point did any of you mention anything about waking up wet, the flys (or tarps as you say) are only used to protect the tents from UV rays, not rain. The tents are, in themselves, weatherproof but, the fact of the matter is that the rain hadn't started until after you had left the site for the day. During this time we had arranged for rooms to be held at a local inn (The Salmon Pool Inn) for all guests if they choose to keep out of the weather - we ended up getting 60mm+ (Highest rainfall all year). You both happily obliged and I also give you a discount for the inconvenience. I had also informed you that the manager may open the kitchen up to you but any incidentals would be at your own expense. Cathy went out of her way to accommodate you and everyone else during their stay, opening up her kitchen to cook your food and let others cook their own. Early the next morning I had received a call from the manager of the Salmon Pool informing me that you and your partner had left without paying any of the food you had ordered the day and evening before. I proceeded to email you notifying you that we would charge you for the meals if you did not get back to us which I never heard back so, we charged the $69 for 2 x quesadillas & 2 x pulled pork sandwiches to your bill. At this point, I had started to receive threatening emails from you because we charged you for meals you decided to not pay for. To avoid having the Salmon Pool filing a report to the local RCMP for non-payment of a bill, we thought you might rather sort it out amicably but after the extensive and aggressive emails, we offered you a full refund so you could sort the issue out with the inn and the RCMP from which we got more aggressive responses.
Read more
Previous