We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Les Contamines-Montjoie Ski Resort

Open today: 8:50 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
well groomed pistes, fun/varied slopes and almost no queues

A great place to spend a week of skiing. Family friendly and very calm. I am surprised to see... read more

Reviewed February 5, 2019
506nadjaf
,
Malmo, Sweden
Christmas in the French Alps

Wow, absolutely fallen in love with this place, so beautiful. Skiing, ice skating, lovely family... read more

Reviewed January 4, 2019
nicolaj275
via mobile
Read all 176 reviews
All photos (103)
All photos (103)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good34%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“wide slopes”(2 reviews)
“off piste”(6 reviews)
“fab views”(2 reviews)
About
The Contamines ski area is located in the charming village called Les Contamines-Montjoie in the Haute Savoie french Alpes region. The ski area has two sides one in les Contamines and one in Hauteluce in the Savoie region. The ski area has a total...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:50 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
604 route des Moranches, 74170 Les Contamines-Montjoie, France
Website
+33 4 50 47 02 05
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
42
14
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
42
14
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wide slopes off piste fab views mont blanc black slopes great resort fresh powder small resort signal runs beginners gondola snow ski lift gervais abilities
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The resort is small. As a group with above average ability (we do reds and some blacks), by day 2 we had done virtually every run in the whole resort! The Pros: Once you have got up to Signal (top of the second gondola) the...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank searanm
SECMH, Responsable relations publiques at Les Contamines-Montjoie Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, We thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on our ski resort. We are glad that you appreciated our free indoor picnic area. During the busy period, there is usualy a line-up in the morning for the first gondola because most...More

Reviewed February 13, 2019 via mobile

Big ski area but too many cable cars. Also poma lifts make some runs inaccessible to some. Fab views of Mont Blanc. Most slopeslide restaurants are food only and as usual, VERY expensive.More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Val H
SECMH, Responsable commercial at Les Contamines-Montjoie Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Hi, We are happy that you appreciated the fabulous views of Mont-blanc while skiing on our ski area. We have four cables cars, maybe you were talking about the numbers of chairlifts ? Regarding, the mountain restaurants in our ski area or other ski areas,...More

Reviewed February 5, 2019

A great place to spend a week of skiing. Family friendly and very calm. I am surprised to see reviews saying that the lifts keep breaking because we didn't experience a single day of closed lifts during our week in January. The ski area is...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank 506nadjaf
SECMH, Responsable relations publiques at Les Contamines-Montjoie Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2019

Hi, We thank you for your recommendation. We are glad you a had a great time on our ski area. Looking forward to welcome you again in the future, Best regards,

Reviewed February 5, 2019

If you want to be brought up to speed as to what is going on at Les Contamines I suggest that you first read my review of last year. Unfortunately, the problems I mentioned then persist.The "Gondola of Signal ",critical for the operation of the...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank george p
SECMH, Responsable relations publiques at Les Contamines-Montjoie Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

Dear Sir, We are happy to hear that you found our staff polite and willing to help. As you mentioned, we had some technical problems during the end of January beginning of February. The Signal gondola lift was closed for two days Feb 4&5, this...More

Reviewed January 4, 2019 via mobile

Wow, absolutely fallen in love with this place, so beautiful. Skiing, ice skating, lovely family feel. Perfect location, with Saint-Gervais-les-Bains and Chamonix close by. Only downside was we struggled to find restaurants open for food before 9pm. We often ate in the chalet after very...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank nicolaj275
SECMH, Responsable relations publiques at Les Contamines-Montjoie Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2019

We thank you for your recommendation ! We are glad you had a great time in Les Contamines ! On your next ski trip do not hesitate to ask at the Tourist office to know the opening hours of the restaurants. Normally, they open around...More

Reviewed April 15, 2018

Family friendly, lovely people at the remontées and good overall ambience. The only thing that could be improved is the roselette chairs and the one going back to the signal. They are the old style and a bit slow and brutal when they arrive! Only...More

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank dom l
SECMH, Responsable commercial at Les Contamines-Montjoie Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Hi, We thank you for your recommendation ! We are also glad to know that you had a great time on our ski area ! Regarding your comment, we are happy to announce that the next chairlift to be change will be Roselette, the environmental...More

Reviewed April 1, 2018

I live in Geneva and I am an expert skier and snowboarder and most of my twenty-two days of skiing so far were spent at Les Contamines, Montjoie. There appears to be a serious management problem with the resort which is evidenced by frequent breakdowns...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank george p
SECMH, Responsable commercial at Les Contamines-Montjoie Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear client, Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to advise on your recent experience on our ski area. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our services. As you said February, is a...More

Reviewed March 29, 2018

This resort was great. It has fabulous slopes for all abilities and even the ski school is right there if you like me need a refresher on you technique.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Theda F
SECMH, Responsable commercial at Les Contamines-Montjoie Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Hello ! We thank you for your recommendation ! We are glad that you liked our ski resort ! Looking forward to welcoming you again on our ski area, Best regards,

Reviewed February 17, 2018

I visited this resort with friends for 4 days in January and had a great experience. We were a group of 30-something intermediate-to-experienced skiers and found a great range of blue and red pistes to keep us satisfied for most of the trip. We were...More

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Puton-your_flipflops
SECMH, Responsable commercial at Les Contamines-Montjoie Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2018

Hi, We thank you for your recommendation. We are glad you liked our ski resort and we are looking forward to welcome you again ! Best regards,

Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

Just returned from another great week’s skiing in Les Contamines. What a hidden gem - certainly recommend. For beginners and more advanced skiers. Lovely views over Mont Blanc.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank SuzanneWindridge
SECMH, Responsable commercial at Les Contamines-Montjoie Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2018

Hi ! We thank you for your recommendation ! We are glad you liked our ski area and we are looking forward to welcome you again next year !

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 nearby hotels
Hotel La Chemenaz
244 reviews
.09 miles away
Le Christiania
58 reviews
.49 miles away
Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil
177 reviews
.69 miles away
Le Coin du Feu
49 reviews
2.93 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 29 nearby restaurants
Restaurant la Table d'Hotes Savoie
143 reviews
.62 miles away
Le Restaurant L'O a la Bouche
268 reviews
.51 miles away
Le Carnozet
182 reviews
.59 miles away
Le Husky
116 reviews
.85 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 8 nearby attractions
Eglise Notre Dame de la Gorge
105 reviews
.68 miles away
Musee d'Art Sacre de Saint Nicolas de Veroce
14 reviews
2.98 miles away
Base de Loisirs du Pontet
30 reviews
1.63 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Nessie_Hunter222
September 11, 2017|
Answer
Response from SECMH | Property representative |
Dear Stephen, We thank you for your request. As we are the lift company we suggest to contact the Contamines tourist office who could help you finding the best accomodation for your holidays. (contamines/com) Best... More
0
Votes
Google Translation