We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Farmers Cart - CLOSED

Review Highlights
Nice but overpriced

Had a look round the shop which is lovely and can't complain too much for their pricing in there... read more

Reviewed October 8, 2016
via mobile
Wet day out

Nice food, service OK and not too dear, which is what cafes are meant to do; right? The cafe is... read more

Reviewed July 29, 2015
Godfrey M
Driffield, United Kingdom
Read all 59 reviews
All photos (9)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good25%
  • Average18%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible15%
Oct 8, 2016
“Nice but overpriced ”
Jul 21, 2016
“Change not always for the better”
At the Farmer’s Cart we pride ourselves on the quality, freshness and variety of produce raised and grown on the farm. Choosing from the wide selection of home-grown fruits and vegetables, home reared meats and freshly baked goods available in the...more
Towthorpe Grange Towthorpe Lane | Towthorpe Moor Lane, Towthorpe, York YO32 9ST, England
Improve This Listing
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
See what travelers are saying:
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 59 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

Had a look round the shop which is lovely and can't complain too much for their pricing in there. However when it comes to the piglets farm, it is quite expensive luckily I have one child so wasn't such a massive outlay but if you...More

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Rhianna250812
Reviewed July 21, 2016

Visited today for the first time since the closure. So disappointed to find such a change. Bagged sandwiches and 3 types of jacket potatoes, soup and A few cakes was all the food available. We were introducing a colleague to the delights of the farmers...More

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank quilla282
Reviewed April 24, 2016

nothing like it used to be. the baby has definitely been thrown out with the bathwater. no cooked meals & the rustic prettiness is gone, now it is bare, very cold & has a greatly reduced range mostly self service sandwiches, & a small range...More

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Ann A
Reviewed December 15, 2015

They did have a fantastic shop and delicious restaurant, but these have all now closed. Only the piglet farm for the kids was left last time we visited.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Brian R
Reviewed July 29, 2015

Nice food, service OK and not too dear, which is what cafes are meant to do; right? The cafe is before the entrance to the attraction so you can eat without having to pay any entrance fee.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Godfrey M
Reviewed June 10, 2015

Our grand children report it is a lovely place to go and play. Lots of things to do and animals to see Cafe is good but was a little cold on our last visit. Food was good, steak sandwiches and the steak was cooked just...More

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank dianepeter9821
Reviewed June 2, 2015

I visited a while ago and then again recently and was disappointed with the changes as far as the shop and cafe go. The loss of the shop has changed the atmosphere for the worse as it breaks the link between the fresh food on...More

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank Jane A
Hannah W, Manager at Farmers Cart, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2015

Hi, Thank you for your review. I am so sorry you are disappointed with the changes. The café in fact hasn’t changed at all, same staff, same menu! Our menu is just about to change for the summer, perhaps you missed the Lite Bites Menu...More

Reviewed May 27, 2015

my first visit for a few years. we chose to sit on the decking for coffee but was told our poodle would have to sit behind the fence on the grass. no signs informing you of this. we took a takeaway and visited the loo...More

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank dutchessYork
Hannah W, Manager at Farmers Cart, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2015

Hi, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and on Facebook. We do not allow dogs anywhere where we serve food. That is our policy. As a dog owner myself I know dogs can be well behaved, but some can’t and when we are...More

Reviewed May 1, 2015

Have visited here a couple of times when visiting York. Always enjoyed the market here with a great variety of produce out of their own fields and a nice selection of pretty much organic meats. I will miss it since we worked with our hosts...More

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank GeorgeC866
Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

Having visited one Wednesday lunch time we decided to eat before entering piglets Me my partner and little girl of 6 ordered 1 no jacket potato and 2 sandwiches with a side of chips Along with coffee a juice and a glass of water all...More

2  Thank caroline g
View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Holiday Inn Express York
687 reviews
2.62 miles away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1,315 reviews
3.87 miles away
Premier Inn York North Hotel
1,085 reviews
4.03 miles away
Beechwood Close Hotel
439 reviews
4.14 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Bluebell Country Inn
110 reviews
1.18 miles away
Millers Fish & Chips
301 reviews
1.19 miles away
The Ship
209 reviews
1.31 miles away
The Black Horse Inn
75 reviews
1.46 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Redmayne Lodge
77 reviews
1.59 miles away
Tenpin York
47 reviews
2.78 miles away
Breezy Knees Gardens
391 reviews
3.48 miles away
Piglets Adventure Farm
675 reviews
1.88 miles away