We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Island Tours

Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
+64 800 733 529
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Outstanding and different from Rotorua

The trip was cancelled the first day i booked so i was moved to the next day, at first i could not... read more

Reviewed September 2, 2017
jesusda81
,
Mexico City, Mexico
Amazing experience

The weather was adverse and we were well informed to expect a rough trip, the staff were amazing... read more

Reviewed August 15, 2017
Lynette A
,
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Read all 792 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Join the White Island Tours crew aboard the luxury cruiser 'PeeJay' for a 6 hour adventure to explore New Zealand's only active marine volcano - White Island. Sitting 49km off the coast of New Zealand's North Island, this is one of the world's most accessible live volcanos. With the majority of the volcano sitting beneath the sea it means we are able to disembark directly into the crater complex - no mountain climbing required. Being a live volcano there is little doubt that White Island is home to New Zealand's most impressive geothermal activity. Visitors are able to get up close to roaring steam vents, bubbling pits of mud, hot volcanic streams and the amazing lake of steaming acid. The vivid hues of yellow and orange resulting from the abundant sulphur on the island make it a photographer's dream. Experienced guides will lead visitors on a two hour exploration of the inner crater, providing a fascinating commentary on the geology of the island as well as stories of attempts to mine sulphur. Along with volcanic and geothermal features, you will see the remains of the sulphur factory which have survived multiple eruptions since being abandoned in the 1930s. Once back aboard PeeJay there may be time for a swim from the boat before being served a light packed lunch which can be enjoyed while viewing the outer walls of the island where Pohutukawa forests grow and large Australasian Gannet colonies exist. Our journey home often provides the opportunity to spend time viewing dolphins, whales and other marine life. We hold the necessary government permits to interact with these animals and it's a great way to end an already amazing day. Tours depart daily (weather permitting) from Whakatane.
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good12%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“active volcano” (160 reviews)
“packed lunch” (51 reviews)
“live volcano” (59 reviews)
LOCATION
Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 800 733 529
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 716 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2017

The trip was cancelled the first day i booked so i was moved to the next day, at first i could not understand because the day cancelled was sunny and not windy. I was able to take the tour the following day and i understood...More

2  Thank jesusda81
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jesusda81, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experience. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your tour to White Island with us, and appreciate you taking a moment to share your understanding of the complexities around our decision...More

Reviewed August 15, 2017

The weather was adverse and we were well informed to expect a rough trip, the staff were amazing, there was always one of them upstairs with us caring for our safety. Arriving on the Island they worked as a well oiled machine. The walk and...More

2  Thank Lynette A
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Hi Lynette, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your experience. The crew will be thrilled to hear that, in spite of rougher seas, you had an outstanding time. Likewise, we're pleased to hear that you appreciated all of the...More

Reviewed August 8, 2017

Wow what a trip. I know many others have been here, but when you are on the island its as though you have just discovered it. We drove over from Tauranga for the day arriving in Whakatane at 0900hrs still 1 degree Celsius . We...More

1  Thank Dave M
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Hi Dave M, Cheers for the great review! We love hearing from our passengers, and were pleased to note that our staff had such a positive impact on your experience. Excellent advice re winter to summer visitor ratio too! #justdoit

Reviewed August 8, 2017

The trip was ok, but it's a long boat ride and to be honest, there isn't that much to see. It's more the thought that you are walking on top of an active volcano that makes it exciting. I also found the price to be...More

1  Thank Rosetwigs
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Rosetwigs, I'm sorry to hear that your tour to White Island fell below your expectations, though we are pleased to hear you did experience the excitement of walking around the inner crater of an active volcano - it's pretty neat! Unfortunately, we cannot please...More

Reviewed August 8, 2017

This was one of the last places we visited in New Zealand and we were back and forth about booking the tour (mostly due to the price). However, we were so glad we did! White Island is like stepping onto another planet, completely fascinating! The...More

1  Thank Laura L
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Hi Laura L, We are so pleased to hear that you had such a great time visiting White Island with us, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. Cheers!

Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic tour to an active volcano! We weren't sure if we were going to be able to get out there as Cyclone Debbie and Cyclone Cook had just passed through. The sea was a little rough getting out there so be prepared if...More

2  Thank Rashelle D
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Hi Rashelle, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it was great to hear that you found the tour to White Island to be so worthwhile. We always love hearing from our passengers (post trip) and appreciate you taking the time to...More

Reviewed July 31, 2017

It's not every day that you get to walk in the crater of an active marine volcano and White Island Tours make sure you have a safe and instructive experience in doing so. We took the opportunity while on the British & Irish Lions Tour...More

Thank jsd26
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Hi Jsd26, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was great to welcome so many British & Irish Lions supporters on our tour (and to White Island) throughout the series, and we're thrilled to hear that you found the experience to...More

Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

The staff on the tour were amazing, constantly checking that everyone was okay and comfortable during the trip out to White Island. The island itself was another world, the information provided by the tour guides was informative and they were mindful of all participants, and...More

Thank CHOCGOBLIN
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Hi Chocgoblin, We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to White Island with us and that our staff has such a positive impact on your experience. Thank you for your review and recommendation, it is most appreciated!

Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Very interesting place to visit and the tour company has a well oiled machine that makes bookings and organisation very easy. Great boat trip, good island commentary (altho our guide could have been a bit less didactic/more interactive), nice lunch. Appreciated hosts commitment to keeping...More

Thank HelenJG786
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Hi HelenJG786, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experience. It was great to receive your feedback and to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Cheers!

Reviewed July 22, 2017

This trip is worth the money, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit, the staff were friendly, welcoming and informative. The excursion on the volcano was about 90 minutes long, interesting and well guided. Lots of parking opposite the boat departure point, the boat trip itself was...More

1  Thank pmgreenwood
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Hi pmgreenwood, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to White Island with us and that you found the experience so worthwhile. Unfortunately, a hot drink is not an option because of...More

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Babinka Restaurant & Bar
298 reviews
.19 miles away
Spice Junction
203 reviews
.20 miles away
L'Epicerie
159 reviews
.19 miles away
PeeJays Coffee House
176 reviews
.00 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Whakatane River Walk
160 reviews
.17 miles away
Mataatua: The House That Came Home
89 reviews
.06 miles away
Kohi Point Lookout
64 reviews
.83 miles away
Whakatane i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
41 reviews
.12 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jenny B
January 31, 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Paula D | Reviewed this property |
hi jenny I really don't think it would be suitable for children that age. there is a bit of walking over rocks and stuff. Also lots of dangerous stuff around.But an amazing trip otherwise. treat yourself and get a baby... More
1
Vote
Patchjudy
December 15, 2016|
Answer
Response from WhiteIslandTours | Property representative |
Hi there, our tour is $219 for adults and $130 for children aged 4 to 15 inclusive.
0
Votes
Ann H
July 24, 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Schosta | Reviewed this property |
We only booked the day before but checked the forecast first.
1
Vote