We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Island Tours
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
791
All photos (791)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good12%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“active volcano”(186 reviews)
“boat ride”(79 reviews)
“packed lunch”(61 reviews)
About
Cruise across the pristine waters of the Bay of Plenty to White Island (Whakaari) – New Zealand’s most active volcano. After being fitted with hard hats and gas masks, guides will lead you on an exploration of the crater floor. Experience roaring...more
Contact
Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Website
+64 800 733 529
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Whakatane
from $69.50
More Info
from $69.50
More Info
Reviews (955)
Filter reviews
861 results
Traveler rating
720
109
15
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
720
109
15
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews active volcano boat ride packed lunch live volcano gas mask white island once in a lifetime sandwich tour company flying fish new zealand unique experience steam vents sea conditions lunch box sea legs hard hats
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 861 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Put this adventure on your list. Great hosts. A live volcano upfront, under foot. A Once in a life time experience. Thanks to the captains, Dave and Mike and the crew.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Haydave
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Kia ora Haydave, Thank you for taking the time to post this review, we're thrilled you enjoyed your tour to Whakaari/White Island with us. Cheers

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall great trip! Here is our top 5: 1. Main crater 2. Kelsy (guide) 3. Dolphins 4. Kelsy again 5. Terrence and the lollies The main crater was truly spectacular, the only thing more stunning was Kelsy 😉 the dolphins was cool too and the...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank madsklovborg
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Kia ora madzklovborg, We're sure that Kelsey will be thrilled to know that you enjoyed your recent visit to Whakaari/White Island with her and the team, and we thank you for taking the time to post this review. Cheers!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

To stand on an active volcano has well and truly be ticked off my bucket list. The trip out was a bit rough and I did succumb to sea sickness along with others, but it was all soon forgotten when we arrived at the island...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank gallifreyfalls
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora gallifreyfalls, We're sorry to hear that you experience a bout of sea-sickness on your recent tour to Whakaari/White Island with us, but are thrilled that it didn't prevent you from enjoying the magic that is Whakaari/White Island. Cheers!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic experience. The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and really went out of their way to make sure everyone was having a good time (and had the photos to prove it). We had perfect weather. The island itself was like another world, and steeped...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Leanne B
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora Leanne, We're thrilled you enjoyed your tour of Whakaari/White Island with us, and thank you for taking the time to post this review and share your experience.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had an excellent trip with white island tours! Their staff were amazing! I am an individual with mobility issues and they handled everything so well. The day was beautiful and the sea flat, but still one young Japanese lad got violently sea sick. Just...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 61delphineh
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia ora 61delphineh, We pride ourselves on offering an experience "above and beyond expectations", so it was great to hear that you came away from your recent tour to Whakaari/White Island with us feeling like you were well looked after. That's something we're most proud...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was an awesome day. Everything was very well organized. We started around 8:30 in the morning. The boat ride to the island was more exciting than expected. We could see whales even pretty closely. Our captain was nice to slow down, even stop and...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank HIstvan
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia ora Hlstvan, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it was great to hear that you enjoyed your recent tour to Whakaari/White Island with us. Cheers!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Decided to do this trip despite having also visited Rotorua and was not disappointed. The trip we had booked was in doubt the day before because of high winds and they eventually made a decision to go ahead on the morning of the trip. They...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank dave2n
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia ora dave2n, It was great to hear that you enjoyed your recent tour to Whakaari/White Island with us, and we thank you for taking the time to post this review and share your experience. Cheers

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Extremely well presented. Knowledgeable staff and just natural beauty. Lunch on the boat was a nice touch. Highly recommend

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank JoshC1793
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia ora JoshC1793, Thank you for taking the time to post this review, we're thrilled you enjoyed your tour. Cheers!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have tried to do this tour twice and it has been cancelled twice. This first time it was understandable as it was raining, however the second time the weather conditions were perfect and the tour still got cancelled in a very unprofessional way as...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank RiccardoB1605
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi RiccardoB1605, We are sorry to hear that you were left disappointed by the weather-related cancellation of your tour, I can assure you we were too. The decision to cancel one of our tours is not made lightly and takes into consideration many factors (winds,...More

Reviewed November 9, 2018

White Island Tours are the only tour operator who are allowed to make berth on White Island with a guided visitor group. White Island itself is amazing and the tour was totally worth it for us. Just be prepared to receive outrageous service, do not...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 864tamase
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 nearby hotels
White Island Rendezvous
404 reviews
.01 miles away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
209 reviews
.16 miles away
ONE88 On Commerce
182 reviews
.89 miles away
Alton Lodge
62 reviews
1.09 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 61 nearby restaurants
L'Epicerie
191 reviews
.19 miles away
Spice Junction
256 reviews
.20 miles away
White Island Cafe
199 reviews
.00 miles away
Roquette Restaurant & Bar
314 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 40 nearby attractions
Mataatua: The House That Came Home
107 reviews
.06 miles away
Kohi Point Lookout
80 reviews
.99 miles away
Whakatane i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
54 reviews
.12 miles away
Puketapa Lookout
6 reviews
.29 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
205Daniel72
December 9, 2018|
Answer
Response from WhiteIslandTours | Property representative |
Hi Daniel, Yes we do. This can be booked either on our website or by calling us on 0800 733 529. On its website it is called "Tour of White Island ex Rotorua". Kind regards, Patrick
0
Votes
sweify54
October 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from gsrgtr | Reviewed this property |
Has to be 'Seen to be Beieved' If you are looking for a 'Once in a lifetime opportunity' and have the cash, NZ road trip to experience 'White Island as an Andesite Stratovolcano is truly amazing and has to be 'Seen to be... More
0
Votes
sweify54
October 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from WITManagement | Property representative |
Kia ora sweify54, If you could please direct via our website or info email address (sorry we're not allowed to list the address) and we would be more than happy to discuss your options with you. Cheers!
0
Votes