Tekapo Springs
Tekapo Springs
4
Sports ComplexesSpasThermal Spas
11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
About
Tekapo Springs has the perfect mix of exciting and relaxing activities, 364 days a year! Located in the Mackenzie Region, halfway between Christchurch & Queenstown, we have incredible views of Lake Tekapo & the mountains. Soak up the stunning views from our hot pools or chill out in the Kids Aqua Play Area with cooler shallow & deep pools and interactive water features! Temperatures range from 28 – 38.5℃. Try our steam & sauna rooms with cold plunge pool. In summer try the fun 18-hole adventure Mini Golf course or thrilling Aqua Drop (150-metre downhill waterslide). In winter, ice skate on the outdoor rink or ride the exciting snow tube! Indulge yourself with a massage or facial at our Day Spa with treatments designed to for pure revitalisation! Sample the delicious menu at our café. By night, soak in the stars with Tekapo Star Gazing, New Zealand's only hot pools & stargazing experience. With the perfect mix of relaxation & recreation, Tekapo Springs is a must-do for everyone!
Duration: 2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Tekapo Springs and nearby attractions

See what travelers are saying
  • Kalley and Jo
    Christchurch, New Zealand3 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Go for the Hot pools not the Day Spa
    Visited with the family, did ice skating, hot pools, ate in the cafe and I had a 60 min massage in the Day Spa. The extra surcharge on all credit card transactions was disappointing. Good to see a new great hair dryer in changing rooms. The Day Spa experience was disappointing, no soft music in the therapy room, no nice scents, lacked atmosphere, bed wobbly and the female massage therapist lacked customer service and friendliness. Short and sharp comments "move your legs". Massage was good, she just needed to be friendly in the minimal moments of interaction. I wouldn't recommend going there for the Day Spa, go for the hot pools. It's a shame as with a change of atmosphere in the Day Spa, it could be so much better.
    Hi Jo, thank you for taking the time to review us. Please note that we've taken on board your feedback in regards to the day spa and will definitely follow up with our therapists. Your comments help us to discuss improvements with the team, and we will work on this. Thank you and we hope to see you back some day.
    Written July 11, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written July 2, 2023
  • James F
    Perth, Australia30 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Friendly staff but overpriced experience
    Nice setup but the hot pools are similar to many others. Being adults only in the hotter pool is annoying, especially with kids that can handle it. The price is quite high for what you get, and disappointing you can’t purchase ice skating at the same time to use hot pools in the evening when you arrive in town and the ice skating the following morning. Should just be one pass for each rather than only for use within one day. Also limited amount of showers in the changing rooms meant waiting for everyone to get changed to leave. For the price I expected more. Maybe cut $20 minimum off the family price to show better value. The ice skating was great and the kids loved it! Definitely the highlight. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially in the ice skating area.
    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review us. Our combo tickets indeed are to be used within one day as we want to motivate our visitors to make it a full day experience. Your comments in regards to the showers are duly noted and will be discussed with the team. We hope you appreciate the fact that we are fully privately owned (don't receive any council/community funding as most of our competitors do) and do regular competitor price checks to see if our price still reflects our offering.
    Written July 11, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written July 4, 2023
  • ChristchurchJules
    105 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    So pleased we did this tour
    The Tekapo Springs Star Gazing Tour was fantastic. We thought the night looked cloudy and were surprised to find that they thought it was ok to be outside. It was actually clear and fabulous so don't judge it by what you see in the village. After a friendly welcome and the opportunity to get a water or hot drink, our guide (Kaydyn) gave us an intro including a multichoice relaxed quiz and then we headed to the star deck. They had blankets if people wanted them but it wasn't too cold. The walk was only a few minutes along a gravel path. Telescopes were set up and they had extra staff to look after a small group at each telescope. Kaydyn introduced each thing we were looking at and gave us interesting facts and then the staff member at each telescope talked the small group through what they were about to see. After about 45 mins we went back to the reception area, got changed, and went into the hot pool for the last half of the tour. Kaydyn continued to answer questions as we floated around on the hammocks and looked at the stars. Bliss. We thought that this was a slick operation. There were lots of staff making sure everyone knew where to go and what to do. We'd definitely recommend doing this and found it I formative, interesting, organised, and just the right length.
    Hi Jules, fair to say we're blown away by your amazing review! Thanks heaps for taking the time to give our future visitors such detailed information about the tour. We couldn't have worded it any better! Great to see you really enjoyed our tour from the start until the very end. We hope to see you back some day :)
    Written July 16, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written July 15, 2023
  • whimsicalbuyer
    Singapore, Singapore214 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fun but watch for the wind when walking in and out of pools
    Our big group ranged from seniors to kids and we all enjoyed Tekapo Springs. The Aqua drop wasn't open when we were there but we paid for the Jumpernaut for the kids. Our 12 and 8 yr old preferred spending time in the pools rather than the Jumpernaut. Walking in and out of the pools was a bit chilly so you might want to rent robes (we brought robes for the kids). Tekapo Springs charges an admin fee when paying by credit card, so you might want to consider bringing cash if you don't like to pay such charges. We had lunch at the cafe before leaving and found the food to be decent for an attraction park.
    Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review. We're very sure our future visitors will find this very helpful. Hopefully see you back again some day in the future :)
    Written July 19, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited December 2022
    Traveled with family
    Written July 17, 2023
  • Ben K
    Fleet, United Kingdom26 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Good if nothing else to do
    Was very crowded on a saturday afternoon in winter, including a lot of children. Luckily there was an adults only pool but also very busy. Big queue to get in and changing rooms were pretty disgusting. $3 for locker hire.
    Hi Ben, thanks for taking the time to review us. Winter time is indeed our busy time of the year, especially in weekends and school holidays. If you're looking for some quiet time, we hope you could visit us some day on a weekday and it will be lots quieter with plenty of space! :)
    Written August 29, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written August 26, 2023
  • Kari Hakala
    Shanghai, China790 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Relax and gaze the stars
    Tekapo springs is nice facility by the mountainside overlooking the beautiful lake Tekapo (lake that is made by melting glaciers). They have 3 pools from 35C-37C, a massage centre (book early very hard to get times), mini golf course in the back and then restaurant/ coffee shop. Their sauna is a Turkish steam sauna which is fine, personally like the Finnish style sauna better. The place is good for star gazing but booking early is needed
    Thank you for your super informative review! We're sure this will be very helpfull for our future visitors. We hope to see you back some day in the future!
    Written November 29, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited November 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written November 15, 2023
  • Jordan S
    24 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Unforgettable star gazing experience
    We had a great experience with Tekapo Stargazing. It started on the Stardeck where we spent time looking at 4 spots in the sky, at nebulas, galaxies, and dying stars. Then we spend time in the hotpools listening to trivia and more star spotting. Theres something so special about being about to see the Milky Way Galaxy with your naked eye. We also saw Orion, the Southern Cross, multiple travelling satellites and many shooting stars. An incredible night that I will remember forever!
    Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Reviews like yours are so valuable to us, they really make our day! It's great to see how many learnings you've taken from our fun but also informative star gazing tour. The night sky still amazes us too, having lived here for years!! Thanks again for participating in our tour :)
    Written January 29, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited January 2024
    Traveled as a couple
    Written January 21, 2024
  • Quest25739077846
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Glenn the legend
    Loved my time at Tekapo Springs, sadly my car battery died as I had left my lights on. Glenn from the maintenance team helped me out and we were good to go, he’s a good egg. Tū Mēke
    Hi there, it's not often that our maintenance team gets the pride in our reviews! :) Thanks and we're glad we could help you out with the car battery issue. We'll definitely pass the thank you on to Glenn!!
    Written February 13, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited January 2024
    Traveled solo
    Written February 2, 2024
  • Paradise33805967583
    1 contribution
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nice Looking pools, Expensive Slide, Temperature mid 30'c.
    Our family enjoys Hot Pools and holidays are always a good time to experience new ones. After Camping at Mt Cook and doing the Hooker Valley Glacier walk we chose these pools for being close, not having to be there by a certain time and the Summer slide looked fun. Highlights. Loved the Products available in the Shower. Nice Landscaping. The Plunge Pool for diving/jumping. The splash pad "waterfall/shower" massage. Easy pools for our 7yr old to enjoy. Friendly Staff Our Average bits. The slide is really expensive for what it is...we got a few good grazes from the Velcro strips and all tried to get 6 rides in, it's a bit of a rough ride. Sitting in the pool you don't get views of the lake. The hottest pool kids pool is 36'c and Adult pool is 38'c. While it's pure spring water it's not Hot Mineral pools. Compared to other Hot springs we visited we were a bit disappointed especially with the cost - mostly due to adding on the Slide pass. They looked nice the plunge pool was fun but we didn't leave with that "HOT SOAK" feeling.
    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write this informative and extensive review. It definitely gives us something to talk about in our next team meeting and we're sorry to read the slide was a bit of a disappointment for you. We appreciate you've given us some constructive feedback as we're always on the lookout for things to work on/improve!
    Written February 13, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited February 2024
    Traveled with family
    Written February 3, 2024
  • Davinia H
    152 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Highly recommended
    This place is an absolute MUST when visiting Lake Tekapo. Beautiful pools of different temperatures. We also loved the Sauna and Cold plunge pool. Very invigorating. The only difficulty was finding the entrance!!!
    Hi Daviniah, thanks so much for taking the time to review us! We're glad to see you had a fantastic time with us and very much appreciate your honest feedback re entrance. We'll bring this up in our next team meeting to see if we can improve this.
    Written February 28, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited January 2024
    Traveled as a couple
    Written February 22, 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,360 reviews
Excellent
590
Very good
462
Average
191
Poor
75
Terrible
42

SallyLouise91
42 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019
My husband and I decided to go here on our honeymoon and treat ourselves to a spa package each. We both got the ‘Revive Pass’ which included a facial, massage and access to the pools, sauna etc.

The pools were busy (even in the middle of the day in Summer) and I much preferred the private pools we’d experienced in Queenstown.

The spa is just above the pools, so I didn’t find it to be very quiet or relaxing. I was also put in the last room, next to the toilet, so the flushing kind of ruined the ambiance.

The massage and facial I received were awful.

During my massage my therapist focused predominately on my palms and ears, and would just stop altogether at times. I think she was tired or just couldn’t be bothered. There also wasn’t any method to it. E.g. usually when you get a massage they do one side then the other. Mine was just random from start to finish.

When it came time for the facial I was worried, as I have adult acne and was worried they’d just give me some standard facial without considering my complexion, skin issues etc.

During my facial she covered my eyes with a wet wipe (no eye mask for me) and repeatedly used/moved the oil from the back of my neck onto my face, which made me scream internally. She then did a ‘peel’ which she rubbed in and blotted with tissues at times. It was truly awful. None of the oil (on my neck, back or face) was wiped off before I left, and all I wanted to do after our spa experience was go straight back to our accommodation to have a shower and wash my face. Oh and when we left, she tried to sell me products!

Contrastingly, my husband had the best massage and facial he’s ever had. He received everything I was hoping for. His massage was amazing. His therapist used warm essential oils, while I’m pretty sure mine used plain coconut oil. He had his face cleansed, steamed, exfoliated, multiple treatments, moisturised etc. which just made me even more upset.

I didn’t get their names, and honestly I’m trying to forget the entire experience, but his therapist was French and mine had dreadlocks.

Tekapo Springs somehow need to ensure some consistency with their spa treatments, because paying $135 to have your face smothered in second-hand oil is not okay.
Written January 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear SallyLouise91, Thank you for taking time to place feedback about your recent experience at the Tekapo Springs day spa. We’re very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your treatment. Your therapist has had over 18 years in the day spa industry and regularly gets great reviews so it’s very disappointing to receive this feedback. We have spoken to the therapist as well as the day spa manager to ensure that our massage techniques meet the needs of our different guests. Regarding your facial, we have all guests complete a consultation form prior to treatment so we hope that you spoke to our team about the particular requirements for your skin type. We’re sad to hear that you didn’t enjoy your facial and your comments have also been passed on to our day spa manager to ensure we communicate with our guests and tailor the treatment to suit their needs. Regarding the busy nature of our complex, your visit was in the summer school holidays and in the middle of the day which can be very busy. Fortunately, our passes allow all-day/multiple-entry to the pools which means you can enjoy the pools in the morning as well as evening when it is quieter. We are delighted to hear that your husband’s treatment was amazing and hope that you will return again to enjoy an amazing experience for yourself. Kind Regards, Amy Menard
Written January 19, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jodie W
Wellington, New Zealand2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021 • Couples
I was really excited to visit the Tekapo Springs and my partner surprised me with a 45 minute pregnancy massage and ticket to the springs. Soaking in the springs was enjoyable with lovely views, but the massage was highly disappointing for a number of reasons. The massage started off with me sitting backwards in a chair without any head support for the back massage which was very uncomfortable for my neck. Then the massage therapist told me to lie flat on my back on the table for the leg and arm massage which is dangerous for a pregnant woman in the third trimester as it can cut off blood flow in the main vein, if I hadn’t known this and refused it could have been very unsafe. The massage itself felt very short, and didn’t include the head massage which was offered at the start. Turns out it was short, I was in and out in 30 mins, when I questioned the time length at the spa reception they asked if I wanted to “upgrade”. Overall it was extremely pricy ($90) for a short unsatisfactory experience. I mentioned the problems with the massage at the main reception and apart from taking down the details they did nothing to remedy it. In short, expensive, not what was promised and an apparently untrained pregnancy masseuse with dangerous practice: Avoid the spa and stick to the pools.
Written March 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi jodiew767 Thank you so much for taking the time in leaving your review. We are sorry to hear of the experience you had whilst receiving your treatment at our Glacial Day Spa. I know our Spa Manager has tried contacting you re. your visit, we would of course like to rectify the issues and although some may not be as fixable we can certainly work on therapists training going forward which is why we do thank our customers for feedback. I will follow up again with regards to contacting you as we would like to offer a full refund.
Written March 28, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

michlaz21
Sydney, Australia406 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Friends
We had planned this trip as a surprise for my sister who is in remission from cancer. I was emailing and communication with the day spa to book spa treatment while at the hot spring. They requested credit card details so I contacted the hot springs. The gentleman who I spoke with was lovely, he amended our booking from 8 people to 5 and advised us that we didn’t need to leave our credit card. The call was the day before are treatment.
We arrived the next day ready and excited only to be advised that our booking was not there. Silvia the manager for the hot spring, made so much effort to figure out what was happening. I showed her the emails and the 12min phone log to the hot spring to confirm my conversation. This point everyone was upset. The spa manager was called who then advised us that she removed our booking because we didn’t leave our Credit card details and booked other people in. She was all happy and smile, I was in disbelief. I advised her that she had my details why didn’t she contact me and only was told you didn’t leave your credit card. I advised the manager you can see the email and how booking was amended from 8 to 5 people wouldn’t you question it by sending an email back to confirm? Her answer to me I had no contact details, but she new about the email!!!

Silvia then stepped in to assist as she could see how upset we where. She managed to only fit 3 people in for treatment while the others used the springs. Silvia did offer a discount and we where appreciative for all her effort.

The treatment are nothing special. The day spa are basic room, we basic treatment at an overprice.

Silvia thank you for your effort, the day was upsetting as everyone was really looking forward to it though was spoiled. I would have rated our experience 1 star though i am appreciative of your effort with us.
Written January 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Michlaz21, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Tekapo Springs. Please accept our sincere apologies for the mistake with your day spa bookings. We understand that you had an amazing trip planned with your friends and family so we’re very sad that your experience was less-than-optimal. We would love to offer you some free hot pools passes to use for another visit and will be in touch to arrange this for you. The mistake with your bookings was due to a miscommunication within our team. We have followed up with our staff to ensure that our day spa booking process is strictly followed so we can avoid disappointing our valued customers in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to review Tekapo Springs. This feedback is very valuable as it helps us ensure that all of our customers have the amazing time they deserve. Kind Regards, Amy Menard
Written January 22, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sandra B
21 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 • Couples
Very underwhelming and definitely not worth $35 per adult for entry to pools that feel much like your local pool with warm water at many times the price. The view is I guess what you pay for but there are no bubbling hot tubs, no ice pool etc like an onsen in Asia if that’s what you are expecting. Even a small locker to store things is not complimentary with a $3 minimum price and towels have to be hired- not the price the principal. If you are staying in a accommodation with a spa or big bath save your money and use them.
Written December 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Sandra, We're sorry to read we couldn't live up to your expectations. We personally feel like we actually do charge a fair price, also given the fact that our tickets are all day, multiple entry. Please note that we in fact do have a plunge pool in our steam & sauna area, which is about 8 degrees, so pretty cold! We also have free storage cubicles available if you'd prefer to store your items for free. We don't advertise having (bubbling) hot tubs of some sort, but we appreciate your opinion. Kind regards, Tekapo Springs.
Written December 6, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rebecca C
Auckland Central, New Zealand19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022
We enjoyed booking in for the snow tubing session at 2.15pm online. Lots of laughs and we felt safe while challenged whizzing downhill on the tubes. One hour was definitely long enough and it was lovely to have a soak in the hot pools. We didn't mind that the locals were playing in an ice hockey tournament (which is why we didn't go ice skating). Mr 10 and Mr 6 years old enjoyed eating hot chips watching the scrimmage. Wish we'd booked my husband in for a massage which was the only thing that would've made our stay better.
Written August 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Rebecca, thanks heaps for your lovely review. We're glad you and your family had such an amazing Tekapo Springs experience. Maybe see you in next time for a round on the ice rink and a relaxing massage? :)
Written August 5, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

83114
30 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2020 • Friends
I visited the hot pools in the weekend, first time visiting and as much as it was nice to sit in the warm water and look at the view where you could see it as lots of the plants have grown so you can’t see much of a view sitting down. I really didn’t think it was worth the $27 entry fee plus the $3 for a secure locker for my belongings. I was also highly disappointed with the very small changing rooms they have for the amount of people that visit plus the lack of privacy if you wanted it. Also as much as they put salt around the areas people walked was rather slippery due to the salt melting
I won’t be rushing back
Written June 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi 83114a Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent visit and highlighting the things you have. I have passed this information on to Maintenance in regards to the flora needing to cut back and the need of more salt being used on the colder days has been raised as a Health & safety matter so I can assure you this will be remedied going forward. We do think the price point reflects a fantastic offering an unlimited day entry to the pools and was due to be raised this season but due to current situations we decided to hold the price increase. We do know the changing rooms aren't the largest, but we do have a Family Room that could have been utilised should more privacy have been required.
Written July 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KeekoNZ
Wellington, New Zealand125 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 • Family
We went here after walking up Mt John. We paid $87 for our family, we could only go once and with only the pools being open (there’s only three pools, one of which is adults only). It really wasn’t worth it, the prices are still set at foreign traveler prices. Simply not worth it - I feel bad saying this but I wouldn’t pay anymore than $50 so we won’t be back.
Written September 30, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi KeekoNZ Sorry that you feel that our entry price isn't worth a visit, I would like to mention that the family price does include all day entry for the entire day and is valid for up to 4 children and 2 adults, so we do feel this is more than a fair price. We do also have cooler pools located by the Aqua Play area and down behind.
Written October 5, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alasdair-Charlotte
Levin, New Zealand17 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 • Family
The Springs offered a variety of hot pools with spectacular views. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. My children enjoyed the experience. I loved using the plunge pool after the hot room - well worth it.

However, in comparison to other water parks we had visited during our month in the Sth Island the cost was significantly higher for a lot less.

In saying this, it was a great experience. and possibly the best pizza in town.
Written January 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Alasdair-Charlotte Thank you so much in taking the time to leave us a review. It is always pleasing to know our staff , location & facilities have been enjoyed. The pricing reflects an all day entry for you to come and go as many times as you like within the day, therefor we feel this reflects well for the offering. We do appreciate your feedback though and pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit especially the pizza!
Written February 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

The M
Canggu, Indonesia29 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021
We visited on 8th April 2021 and booked the Stargazing Tour. Upon arrival we were greeted by the tour guide Sam, who provided us and the other participants 2 hours of superbly professional insights of the stars, constellations and history. The first hour is spent viewing the night sky and seeing specific sights through the telescopes. His 'laser light' pointed out everything we needed to see and more. The second hour was spent in the hot pools on floating beds viewing the skies with additional commentary and answering of questions from the visitors.
We were very fortunate to have a very clear night and although originally planning to the the Good Shepherd pictures etc, we had absolutely no regrets changing our plans and going to the stargazing event.
Huge thanks to Sam and his small team for the event and it proved to be a top highlight of our Sth Island tour.
S&D
Written April 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi S&D Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience on the star gazing tour! We are so pleased you had such a fantastic time, we are very fortunate to have an amazing team of guides that enjoy sharing their knowledge and passion for our beautiful night skies. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to Sam! Hope to welcome you back in the future.
Written May 20, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MoolooSwampy
Auckland, New Zealand214 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020
We'd been looking forward to our hot spring soak towards the end of our holiday, having been in blizzard-like conditions in Southland the week prior. The pools are beautifully located, with picturesque views back towards the forest further up the hill and out towards the township. However, there are a few things that were not up to scratch:
1. The changing rooms are not really big enough. When we arrived the place was fairly busy but not absolutely packed, and yet it was difficult to move in the changing rooms, let alone find a spot to change (though the showers, togs-spinner and other facilities in there were great).
2. The hottest pool is only 38 degrees, which is pretty tepid compared to Hanmer, Rotorua, Taupo and the other geothermal resorts. This means the idea of soaking for an extended period of time is not terribly appealing. The other issue is that this pool is only for adults (16 years plus), so when the 37 degree pool was out of action because of an 'incident', all the kids had to move to the 36 degree pool on what was not a warm day.
3. If there was a hotter pool (say 40 degrees), the fairly expensive entry prices might be worth it, as you would be more likely to stay for longer. We only lasted an hour before we gave up, and went home for a hot shower to warm up.
Written October 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi MoolooSwampy Thank you for taking the time in leaving us a review of your recent visit. Our changing rooms are on the smaller side and this is at the forefront of our mind during busy periods, but we are glad you enjoyed they added touches such as the tog drier etc. You are correct in stating we only have three hot pools, the hottest being 38.5C. We do sometimes have issues that cause us to drop a pool and in this instance we apologise for the inconvenience caused but yes we do try to keep the hottest as our 'adults only'. Where the pools may not be as other hot pools around the country, I would like to highlight we are not a geothermal bathing facility. We are purely focused on family's and with that in mind our pools are 1-2C cooler than those of other facilities. The entry price of $27 per adult we feel sits well in the market as this is for an all day entry. We thank you again though for taking the time to review us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Written October 28, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,252
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Tekapo Springs - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

Frequently Asked Questions about Tekapo Springs



All Lake Tekapo HotelsLake Tekapo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Lake Tekapo
All things to do in Lake Tekapo
Day Trips in Lake Tekapo
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars