Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa

Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa: Hours, Address, Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa Reviews: 4.5/5

Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa

Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa
4.5
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Welcome to Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa The best place to escape, Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa is an easy drive, just 90 minutes north of Christchurch. The best place to indulge, with a range of pools including relaxing rock pools, soothing sulphur pools, an array of water jets and bubbles - at a range of temperatures. Plus a luxurious day spa with a range of treatments, private pools, sauna and steam rooms. The best place to act like a kid, with an activity pool, lap pool, lazy river, water slides, garden picnic areas and the Tea Kiosk Café & Grill. Quite simply – the best place.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Top ways to experience Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa
Popular mentions

4.5
3,810 reviews
Excellent
2,139
Very good
1,200
Average
325
Poor
85
Terrible
62

sylvijade
Hastings, New Zealand4 contributions
Terrible service
Oct 2021 • Couples
Disgusting customer service. The online booking system is extremely confusing stating to book for labour weekend, this is the only way to get to the booking system for other days. I called several times for assistance and didn’t receive a call back until two days later when all the places were filled. The Irish woman I spoke to was extremely rude and only called to tell me how busy she was.
Written October 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Michelle T
Timaru, New Zealand523 contributions
Great relaxation
Oct 2021 • Solo
Nothing nicer than sitting and relaxing in these pools. This is the 3rd time I've visited them and each time I enjoy it more. The pools that have water that lands on your shoulders and back is like a gentle massage. It's nice to see other people just sitting and relaxing as well
Written October 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

WandJ
Dunedin, New Zealand6 contributions
Spa package
Oct 2021
Couples spa package was well worth it, a real treat, especially the massages by Jeanette and Maia. Friendly and helpful reception staff (Jill)
Written October 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

lynet2017
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand71 contributions
Discrimination at its finest
Oct 2021 • Family
We can only go away on the school holidays because of my job and the fact the kids are at school. Our boy has special needs. He has a card that states he needs an adult with him. Everywhere else this is honoured. I was smugly informed that at Hanmer pools in the holidays they don't accept the card. So my boy didn't get to go and relax. And that was the whole point of our trip there. They said it was due to Level 2... but that makes no sense as he wasn't taking up more of any resources than any other person there. And they said that the card would be honoured during week days that weren't during the school holidays so level 2 is clearly not stopping them then. Utterly disgusted.
Written October 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

NgarK
44 contributions
Great family fun!
Oct 2021 • Family
Excellent outing for our family of 4. $89 for 3 hours of fun (Covid / School Holidays sessions). It was a cold and rainy morning but in the water was lovely! We tried to stay in as much as possible.

Slides were fun, our eldest loved them! We enjoyed the hexagon pools. Great family fun.
Written October 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

cameronandhannah
Wellington, New Zealand51 contributions
So wonderful!
Oct 2021
What a wonderful place! Though with level 2 restrictions we could only be there 3 hours, we were never bored. From the relaxing hot pools for everyone to enjoy, to the raft slides which brought such excitement to the children, this was definitely a great experience.
Written October 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TeatamiraCoffeyy
Auckland, New Zealand50 contributions
Super fun!
Oct 2021 • Friends
I was unsure about the thermal pools and water rides but this was the most fun I’ve had in ages. The pools were lovely and relaxing but the rides were awesome! I wouldn’t recommend the solo slides for anyone who doesn’t swim or is anxious with water - you get really thrown around and even I (a strong swimmer) found it quite unpleasant (some kids were crying). But the duo slides with floats are heaps of fun - you just want to go again and again. The cafe does nice wedges, coffee wasn’t great. The changing rooms have swimsuit dryers which is brilliant if you’re travelling.
Written October 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm so pleased to hear you had a great time on the Super Bowl and Conical Thrill. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the solo slides. We hope to see you back for some more fun again soon!
Written October 11, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kiwitravelnut
Nelson, New Zealand17 contributions
So much variety of pools but expensive.
Oct 2021
So many different pools to choose from that you can never be bored. However, the price for us with grown up kids is very steep!! They have pushed up the prices over the years and just gone a bit ar now.
Written October 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for the review Linley. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed trying all of the 22 pools we have to offer. Sorry to hear you felt your visit was expensive. We revised our pricing structure in 2019 to reflect the addition of 5 new thermal pools, and to include slide entry. Under 5s are also free, and the inclusion of slide entry has made a visit cheaper for many families. If you haven’t signed up already, we also have our PoolsPlus programme. It is free to join, and members save on single entry tickets every time they visit. You can learn more here: https://hanmersprings.co.nz/about/poolsplus/
Written October 11, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Galiya2013
Dunedin, New Zealand65 contributions
enjoyable family visit
Oct 2021
if you want to spend excellent pampering time outside in the rain, choose Hanmer Springs.
This was my 4th visit to the Hanmer Springs, since 2017, probably would come again
Written October 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MichelleG
Whanganui, New Zealand8 contributions
Hot and cold
Sep 2021 • Family
We had a wonderful time despite the hail and cold. We managed to do the water slides too. The hot pools were even better due to the poor weather
Written September 27, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Great to hear you had a wonderful time with us. I agree it is lovely to be in the pools when the weather is poor. Hope to see you again soon!
Written September 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 3,648
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing