Helmsley Walled Garden

Helmsley Walled Garden: Hours, Address, Helmsley Walled Garden Reviews: 4.5/5

Helmsley Walled Garden
4.5
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Built in 1759, Helmsley Walled Garden is a five acre garden sitting beneath the imposing ruins of Helmsley Castle. It provided the vegetables, fruit and flowers for the table of Duncombe Park until just after World War 1 when it was leased as market garden. Abandoned after it closed its doors for the final time in 1984, it fell into dereliction. Restoration started in 1994 and since then the Garden has gone from strength to strength through the dedication and care of staff and volunteers. Visitors can now enjoy restored glasshouses full of colour, a double herbaceous Hot Border running the length of the Garden or sit and enjoy the tranquillity of the Garden of Contemplation. A Clematis Garden showcases over 100 different clematis varieties and in the vegetable patch, a new attraction is the edible flower garden, showing some of the flowers that can bring new colour and style to salads and other dishes. Vegetables and fruit from the Garden go into the delicious dishes prepared in the Vinehouse Cafe. Visitors sit beneath Victorian vine cultivars to enjoy soups, salads and open sandwiches as well as delicious cakes and desserts. The Plant Centre sells a wide selection of herbaceous perennials, some of which visitors will find on display in the Garden. Staff can help visitors with any questions about what might go well in their gardens. The Garden shop also sells a range of useful garden sundries such as gloves, string and seeds as well as gifts such as jams, chutneys and biscuits. Other items available include a range of heritage tools and garden artefacts. The Garden also works as a social enterprise, providing social and therapeutic horticulture to people with a wide range of difficulties and disabilities. Specialist therapists provide a structured environment for supported volunteers to gain skills and self-confidence whilst undertaking horticultural tasks in a safe environment. There is full wheelchair access to the Garden as well as the Cafe. Toilets and disabled toilets available Dogs are welcome on leads
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

4.5
595 reviews
Excellent
337
Very good
158
Average
59
Poor
27
Terrible
14

louiseholistic
Penarth, UK776 contributions
Gorgeous
Sep 2021 • Couples
We thoroughly enjoyed a couple of hours here one sunny September afternoon. Delightful gardens below the castle ruins. Something of interest around every corner and some very striking planting combinations. Lots of autumn colour to enjoy. Well worth a visit and we look forward to returning at a different time of the year to see what else is in flower.
Written September 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Houseleek
North Yorkshire, UK4 contributions
Excellent day out , lovely lovely garden .
Sep 2021
The gardens were glorious in the sunshine ,the dahlias and sunflowers were especially spectacular. I should imagine there would always be something interesting to see or ideas to take away for any body with an interest in gardening what ever the season . Shop contains plants , produce to buy as a donation , interesting books and gift items .
The staff were very helpful and friendly , we really enjoyed ourselves . Couldn’t recommend more highly .
Written September 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oh Houseleek, hat a thoughtful and generous review, thank you so much. I know what you mean about planting ideas, I often find myself noticing a particular plant combination and thinking that would work in my garden. Few of us have double herbaceous borders 100m long, and thank goodness we don't because I can tell you it takes a lot of work: but despite its size, its not overwhelming. I'm glad you enjoyed the garden, the plants and the shop and I hope you'll be able to visit again sometime soon. Thank you again. With all best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Written September 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Cathreb
18 contributions
Well worth a visit
Aug 2021
Beautiful garden in a lovely setting. The backdrop of the castle really made it. Spent a lovely couple of hours here on a beautiful sunny day. Great cafe too!
Written September 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Cath, Thank you for your kind and very succinct review. The garden, the café and the castle all praised in less than two lines. Brilliant stuff. Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to review us, I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and I hope you'll be able to visit again sometime soon. Thank you again. All best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Written September 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

JeffB64CPR
Derby, UK236 contributions
Very pleasant garden in a very busy town
Aug 2021
The garden had the appearance of a site that had suffered a little due to the pandemic, with some gaps in borders etc, but was still a very worthwhile visit. The setting, with the backdrop of the Castle, is picturesque; there are some very lovely areas in the garden, notably the entrance area adjacent to the cafe, and the cut-flower area. Definitely one to come to again. Cafe food very good - lovely cake!
Written September 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Jeff, Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to review us. We do have some gaps in the borders it is fair to say as we are in the middle of a massive overhaul of many areas which (as you so rightly surmised) took a pasting when we were locked down and unable to come to work. The garden is maintained almost entirely by volunteers who are tireless in their efforts to keep the garden beautiful. We are still playing a little bit of catch up as far as the planting goes as we don't have a bottomless plant buying budget, more's the pity. But thanks to you and all our lovely visitors, we will have more money to spend on plants. We are almost entirely funded by the revenue raised by visitor admissions and if I tell you it costs £11,000 a month just to stand still, you get some idea of how much we have to raise to keep ourselves in business. I really hope you will be able to visit again to see the progress we are making. We are working on extending the seasonal colour at either end of the year, brining the Long Border back into its full glory and (what I will be doing next), creating a wild flower area at the bottom of the garden to showcase some of Britain's beautiful wild flowers. In the meantime, thank you again. All best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Written September 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

GreenerHaze
Leeds, UK47 contributions
Lovely garden
Aug 2021 • Family
Absolutely beautiful garden in a very picturesque setting. My young kids had a great time running around as well. There were plenty of benches to sit and just be peaceful as well. I highly recommend visiting this garden.
Written August 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you, thank you, thank you. It is not often we get reviews from visitors with young children and it is great to know that they enjoyed themselves as much as you. We really appreciate your recommendation. I hope you'll be able to return until the children are bored teenagers who don't want to be out with their parents! We've all been in both scenarios. Your visit helps to keep us going and we hope you get some time for a quiet moment or two of contemplation in the hurly burly of life right now. With very best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Written September 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

elaine h
1 contribution
Don't waste your money
Aug 2021 • Couples
We paid £16 to basically look at disheveled beds with loads of gaps and weeds,disappointing varieties of plants.to think we were charged for this only to be then guided to the tea room which is obviously where they prefer to be making the money.please please don't waste your money ,our garden at home would put them to shame.
Written August 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, Thanks for your review and for letting us know how unhappy you were with your visit. I wish you had spoken to someone at the time as I could have spoken with you and addressed your concerns. That said, I am somewhat baffled and saddened by your review and with respect, would refute every word. The garden is not dishevelled or empty and our palette of plants is anything but boring. The Hot Border is in full bloom, the Long Border has gaps awaiting planting, as does the Secret Garden but they are both tidy and blooming. The only border I would say is in need of work is the one I am currently working on which is the wild flower border. Planted earlier this year, I am working my way through the wild flowers we don't want to allow the ones we do want to spread. This is painstaking work and I freely admit to not making the progress I would like as quickly as I would like. Our garden provides therapeutic horticulture opportunities for all our volunteers and they work incredibly hard to make the garden the stunning place it is. I simply don't recognise the garden you are describing as the one I am looking at right now. We don't make money from The Vine House Café which is a separate business. We work closely with them and hope that everyone will enjoy both the garden and the café. Finally, everyone who visits, helps to support the garden. We are a charity, looking after and developing the walled garden and providing therapeutic horticulture for all. We thank all our visitors for supporting us and hope they will benefit from taking time out of the busyness of life to relax in the tranquillity of the garden. I'm sorry you felt you wasted your money, I can assure you it will be put to good use in supporting all the work we do. With all best wishes, Tricia Harris, ,marketing and communications manager
Written August 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

DY R
Kew, UK9 contributions
Nice surprise!
Jul 2021
We were referred here by someone staying at our hotel and were very happy we decided to give it a try. There's an amazing array of different gardening spaces with a wide variety of plantings, from annuals through to vegetables. The gardeners are volunteers and the whole thing is a charitable effort. It's definitely something the gardeners of Helmsley should be rightly proud of. The cafe has great food, too!
Written August 9, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the garden and The Vine House Café . It's wonderful to know that you so enjoyed the different areas of the garden. It is designed so that one area flows into another and the garden goes from formal to relaxed in different areas. The vast majority of the work in the garden is undertaken by our volunteer team and a compliment like yours is very much appreciated. Thanks for visiting and your support. I really hope you will be able to visit again and enjoy the peace and colour of the garden. I hope so. With very best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Written August 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Di444
Manchester, UK41 contributions
Gorgeous gardens
Jul 2021
An amazing garden full of unexpected turns and spaces all beautifully maintained. The herbaceous borders are magnificent. The cafe offered delicious homegrown fair and lovely service.
Written July 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the garden and The Vine House Café . It's wonderful to know that you so enjoyed the magnificence of our herbaceous borders. The vast majority of the work in the garden is undertaken by our volunteer team and a compliment like yours gives us all a real shot in the arm. Thanks for visiting and your support. I really hope you will be able to visit again and perhaps see the garden in the clothing of another season. All best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Written August 7, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

nickpayne82
Leatherhead, UK802 contributions
Stunning Gardens & Amazing Food
Jul 2021
Had read about the garden before we visited Helmsley, and it is superb. A real credit to the volunteers being an oasis of peace. The different styles for each areas are an excellent idea, and with all of the plans and the ever present Castle is an amazing place to just sit and be. The Vine House Cafe (yes they do have a vine in there) is amazing with really great food. Great friendly service. This is a very calming place and should be on any ones list of places to visit. Cannot wait to go back when we are next in the area.
Written July 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Nick, I felt myself blush faintly when I read your review, it is so glowing. Thank you so much for recognising all the hard work of our volunteer team who work their socks off getting the garden to look the way it does. We take a quiet pride in the beautiful and tranquil atmosphere of the garden, it really does have a sense of place. I feel it and I'm here all the year round. It is a space to take a little time out from the rush and busyness of life and relax and I'm so pleased you felt it. The garden is designed to flow through from formal areas to less formal to relaxed and naturalistic and again, thank you for seeing and appreciating this. You must be a canny gardener at home. I hope you'll be able to visit again soon and see the garden in another garb as it changes through the seasons. With all good wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Written August 7, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Louise G
4 contributions
Lovely but needs to be better publicised !
Jul 2021 • Couples
Visited here on a very warm Sunday afternoon. Helmsley itself was extremely busy, struggled to find somewhere to park, but the walled garden was an oasis of peace and tranquility (sounds like a cliche but true!). Lovely to wander around the garden, plenty of places to sit in the shade and just take in the atmosphere, smell the scent of the flowers, extremely relaxing. Also dog friendly which I felt was unusual. Staff friendly and approachable, one lady went with my partner to identify a particular plant, voluntarily without being asked. The cafe attached also nice, good hygiene measures. We had coffee and a scone which were just right. Just need to sign post the place better ! I think people aren’t aware of it - to their loss !
Written July 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Louise, It's wonderful to hear that you felt the garden was an oasis of calm as that is just how we want everyone who visits to feel. That being in the garden is a little time out of the hustle and rush of everyday life and a time to relax and unwind a little. We all need it, perhaps more than ever right now. I think it might have been me who went with your partner to identify a plant as I am not good at plant identification without either a picture or seeing it in front of me. I'm glad it was helpful. I'll be passing your compliments on to The Vine House Café and I whole heartedly agree with your verdict on the scones which are my weekend indulgence. We do our best to publicise ourselves but in the end, if people find us, we are always happy to see them. I do hope you'll return to see how the garden changes through the seasons. Thanks for visiting. All best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing and communications manager
Written August 7, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 592
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing