We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
COVID-19 Update:To limit the spread of the coronavirus, attractions may be closed or have partial closures. Please consult government travel advisories before booking. More information can be found here.
Message from Tripadvisor: Temporarily closed

Helmsley Walled Garden

555 Reviews
Message from Tripadvisor: Temporarily closed

Helmsley Walled Garden

555 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in Helmsley
York Pass
$60.04 per adult
Popular: Booked by 187 travelers!
Full view
Location
Contact
Cleveland Way, Helmsley YO62 5AT England
Get to know the area
North York Moors and Whitby Day Tour from York
Day Trips
North York Moors and Whitby Day Tour from York
62 reviews
Explore the majestic Yorkshire Moors, and discover the area's impact on English religion, culture, and more, on this day tour from York. Enjoy a scenic drive through North York Moors National Park, explore ancient monuments, and soak up views across the Yorkshire coast and for miles across the Yorkshire Dales.
$60.04 per adult
555Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 311
  • 152
  • 56
  • 24
  • 12
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Appreciate that this wasn't the best time of year to visit but disappointed as was looking a bit neglected. New pricing is likely to discourage visitors, particularly those living in the North Yorkshire area, which in turn will affect shop sales, plant sales and cafe sales.
Read more
Response from Tricia H, marketing manager at Helmsley Walled Garden
Responded Nov 26, 2019
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the garden. I think it is fair to say that as we close at the end of October the garden is perhaps not at its best. We are currently overhauling quite a lot of areas. If you look at the east wall we have created an Iris Border there with more planting to follow. The Alphabet Garden is being planted up, the Gravel Garden is undergoing a total refresh and replanting. The Hot Border is looking somewhat unkempt as I have removed all the dahlias for overwintering and our volunteers have dug out all the golden rod that was no longer wanted in the border. A lot of work is going on which perhaps you weren't aware of but this garden is cared for very much by all our volunteers and staff. We are a small charity working hard not only to develop and maintain the garden but also to provide opportunities for therapeutic horticulture for adults disadvantaged by disability or mental ill health. Everything we do is funded through visitors to the garden, plant sales and donations. Just by visiting you have helped us with that work and we thank you for that. Regarding pricing, it costs £700 a day to open the garden and maintain it. We don't increase our prices without very careful thought and the latest rise is in part driven by rising costs of everything from fuel for the lawnmower to water rates to the cost of potting compost. We appreciate that every visitor has chosen to visit us and that their visit supports us not only in running the garden and also in supporting disadvantaged adults and perhaps we need to be saying that more clearly. I do hope that you'll come again in 2020 to see how the garden is developing. All best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing manager
Read more
It is a pleasant enough walk around the garden if it is a nice day but personally I was somewhat underwhelmed and thought it was expensive in comparison to other places with not much to see.
Read more
Response from Tricia H, marketing manager at Helmsley Walled Garden
Responded Nov 4, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to review the garden. You don't say exactly when you visited but I'm guessing it must have been at the end of October as we are shut for the winter from 1st November. I think I would agree that whilst there is much in the way of autumn colour, the garden needs more structural planting specifically for autumn and winter and you might be interested to know that we are working on this very thing over the next twelve months. June Tainsh, garden manager and myself are looking to develop areas of the garden so that they are performing in Ocotber. So there should be more to see in both October and also in April when we reopen to the public. Perhaps you will come again to see how we are getting on? I hope so. All best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing manager
Read more
Heard a lot about this garden, the only thing we really enjoyed was the tea room, my sister and I enjoy gardens and tea rooms, the garden was disappointing, uncared for, lots of weeds, unkempt beds, didnt take long to go round it, not worth the money, have been to much larger
Read more
Response from Tricia H, marketing manager at Helmsley Walled Garden
Responded Nov 4, 2019
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to the garden. I think it is fair to say that as we close at the end of October the garden is perhaps not at its best. We are currently overhauling quite a lot of areas. if you look at the east wall we have created an Iris Border there with more planting to follow. The Alphabet Garden is being planted up, the Gravel garden is undergoing a total refresh and replanting. The Hot Border is looking somewhat unkempt as I am in the process of removing all the dahlias for overwintering and our volunteers have dug out all the golden rod that was no longer wanted in the border. A lot of work is going on which perhaps you weren't aware of but this garden is cared for very much by all our volunteers and staff. We are a small charity working hard not only to develop and maintain the garden but also to provide opportunities for therapeutic horticulture for adults disadvantaged by disability or mental ill health. Everything we do is funded through visitors to the garden, plant sales and donations. Just by visiting you have helped us with that work and we thank you for that. One small point is that the garden and the Vine House Café are separate. The café is run by brother and sister team Sam and Mollie Chapman and I will pass on your appreciative comments to them. Now that you know a it more about us, perhaps you will come back to see how we are progressing. I do hope so. With best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing manager
Read more
What a lovely and expansive garden. Fabulous glass houses (in use) and Helmsley Castle stands guard over the garden. Lots of borders and the garden is in sections. Not huge and that's fine as everyone can enjoy it without missing out on anything. Volunteers were working and a
Read more
Response from Tricia H, marketing manager at Helmsley Walled Garden
Responded Nov 4, 2019
I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and I hope you are in Yorkshire again at a different time of year to visit again. The garden has lots to see at all different times of year from the snowdrops, crocuses, through tulips, apple blossom, Viburnum Arch, into summer when the main Hot Border is full of purples, reds, oranges and yellows, fading as we get into autumn with its rich reds, bronzes, yellows and ambers. We will be working over the winter to develop some parts of the garden further: the Gravel Garden, the Alphabet Garden and the Long Border are just three examples. We want also to make some parts of the garden really shine as we go into winter so there is even more for our visitors to see before we close. That maybe just about planning this winter for us to put into place early 2021. We will also be propagating a lot of our own plants over the winter so as if you didn't find the plant sales tempting enough beforehand, you will now be able to take a piece of Helmsley Walled Garden home with you. So do come again to see our progress and if you would like to hear more about what we are up to in the garden, why not go to our website and read our monthly blog or sign up for our newsletter. Thank you for visiting. All best wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing manager
Read more
This was our fifth annual visit to Helmsley Walled Garden and we both agreed that it was very disappointing compared to previous years. First of all we discovered that the ticket allowing unlimited visits had been rescinded (in our case two visits). Walking around the gardens
Read more
Response from Tricia H, marketing manager at Helmsley Walled Garden
Responded Sep 27, 2019
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit and as you were clearly unhappy I wish you had come and spoken to me and I would have explained a little about the garden and the challenges we face but I will do so now and hope that it will help. It costs £700 a day to keep the garden open. We fund ourselves almost completely through the money raised through visitor admissions. To help explain the current situation with Gift Aid as currently administered by Her Majesty's Revenue and Customs (HMRC) I have copied the definition of Gift Aid from the Charities Aid Foundation website below. "Gift Aid is an income tax relief designed to benefit charities and Community Amateur Sports Clubs (CASCs). If you're a UK taxpayer, Gift Aid increases the value of your charity donations by 25%, because the charity can reclaim the basic rate of tax on your gift – at no extra cost to you." We can reclaim the whole tax due on the £9.00 entrance plus donation because of the additional donation of £1.00 on top of the entrance fee of £8.00. We get this money because visitors have indicated to HMRC that this is where they want their tax on that sum to be paid. This money funds the running costs of the garden and also helps us to provide therapeutic horticulture opportunities for disadvantaged people. Your visit matters because it helps us to keep this beautiful and therapeutic space open. We see it very much as a therapeutic space for all, be they visitor staff or volunteer. everyone benefits from being outdoors in a beautiful green space. our volunteers all benefit from the chance to be outdoors, working as a team and being active. But all benefit from the tranquil and peaceful environment here. We operate with a very small staff base of four. All of us are experienced horticulturists but we have additional duties which mean that we cannot always be in the garden. The garden is almost entirely maintained by our amazing team of volunteers who do an incredible job. You may have seen that parts of the Hot Border are in need of attention. This is because we are about to undertake a major replanting of the border, lifting and dividing perennials and moving plants around. Indeed you would have seen this happening during your visit if the weather this week had not been so wet as to delay the beginning of this work. Likewise, it is our volunteers who pick our produce for sale. There is not always someone available to do this task so some days there is less than others. There was plenty of fruit for sale but the beans and courgettes had all been sold. I'm sorry you were disappointed on this occasion. If you are regular visitors and would like to be able to visit the garden throughout the year then you might want to consider becoming Friends of the Garden. This allows you unlimited free entry to the garden, money off in the plant centre and shop, regular updates and invitations to exclusive Friends events. It also gives us added support and helps to keep the garden open and developing. If you think this is something you might like to do then please go to our website and download the application form. Again, thank you for visiting and for your support and I hope you will visit again to see our progress. All good wishes, Tricia Harris, marketing manager
Read more
Previous