We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Puerto Base, Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
+34 928 56 22 29

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 740 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 276
    Excellent
  • 115
    Very good
  • 42
    Average
  • 29
    Poor
  • 32
    Terrible
Good trip

Booked through TUI for a three hour trip to see dolphins with a swim stop. Pick up was slightly late but direct, was OK. Went along the coast first to see the resorts along the... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed October 30, 2016
naianiretak
,
Telford, United Kingdom

Similar Things to Do in Puerto Rico

Add Photo Write a Review

740 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 494: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We didn't see any dolphins. We were offered a free return but it was late in our holiday so we were unable to do so. The weather wasn't bad but the boat pitched a lot leaving a number of people sick. Other larger boats heading out looked more stable. We weren't allowed into the hull to see through the windows.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mdcthomas
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Told us it would be good weather for dolphin safari but as soon as we got on the boat the weather was "bad weather". Two people who we talked to also wanted a refund after two trips with no dolphins, still they all blamed each other, calling police, and said we should call the boss who never answered. The ticketsales... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank martin86a
Javier Z, Gerente at Spirit Of The Sea, responded to this review

Thanks for your opinion Martin, First of all I would like to say that we regret the bad luck you had with the weather, that is something that we have no influence on. If the weather conditions advise against doing the excursion, we cancel it. But it does not take a cloudless sky to see the dolphins, they are always... More 

Swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I know it is really just luck of the draw as the company cannot predict what the wild dolphins will do with certainty, but we saw a pod of what must have been over a hundred striped Dolphins. We were on the bottom deck and the Dolphins were playing in the wake of the boat and they were everywhere, it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ynysygerwn
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

We must have picked the most windy day of the year to go in search of dolphins. The boat rose to great heights and sank to the depths. But we did get to see dolphins.loads of them. It is the most amazing sight i have seen.a huge shoal of dolphins jumping out of the sea. Thank you spirit of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank carpetman56
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

Read some slightly worrying reviews. Yes the ship is old, we think it's being decommissioned next year, but it was spotlessly clean with fantastic crew on board. Those who gave it bad reviews must be used to a life that most of us don't have. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Alan F
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2016 via mobile

We had a very nice dolphin tour. We saw plenty of dolphins and some flying fish. At the end of the 3 hour tour the boat anchered up near the coast and we could go for a swim. The crew was very pleasant and made every effort to ensure that everyone had a enjoyable trip. We can highly recommend this... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Steen K
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2016

We booked from the hotel. Since we had rented a car, we went there by ourselves and parked at the docks (max 11 eur per day, we payed about 5 eur for 3 hours). The trip started on schedule. Near us a lot of biger ships with underwater glass windows also offered dolphin trips. We thought: hm, maybe it would... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Felix W. F
Herts, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2016 via mobile

It seemed like a good idea at the time to take a short 2 hour trip to see some dolphins. As we exited the harbour we noticed that the sea was a little rougher than we expected. We sailed for about an hour and a half seeing nothing apart from quite a few sick bags being handed out and in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank The_Gordian
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile

Me and my sister did this trip today on the 10am sailing. All was calm in the harbour but as soon as we left words can not describe! Absolutely terrifying how choppy the sea was....we were really scared. We travelled approximately an hour and a half before we saw alot of dolphins but the experience was ruined by the rocking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AmyT82_11
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2016

Booked through TUI for a three hour trip to see dolphins with a swim stop. Pick up was slightly late but direct, was OK. Went along the coast first to see the resorts along the coast from Puerto Rico to Puerto Morgan, if you want to just do this take the taxi, we then headed of out to sea and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank naianiretak

Travelers who viewed Spirit Of The Sea also viewed

Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Spirit Of The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Spirit Of The Sea and other visitors
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Spirit Of The Sea staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?