We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Puerto Base, Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
+34 928 56 22 29
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 753 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 277
    Excellent
  • 116
    Very good
  • 42
    Average
  • 30
    Poor
  • 34
    Terrible
Dolphins guaranteed is true

We went on a trip to see dolphins in their nature environment. Spirit Of The Sea offers two-hour and three-hour trips, with a guarantee to see dolphins. We choose the three-hour... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
SteadyEddyNL
,
Rijswijk, The Netherlands

Similar Things to Do in Puerto Rico

Add Photo Write a Review

753 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 499: English reviews
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Terrible trip, sick everywhere. Feels really unsafe. Boat was all over the place. A group of boats headed out in different directions, then basically 1 boat finds dolphins and the rest of the boats then race at full speed to get to that area before the dolphins move on. That part of the trip was absolutely horrendous. Booked through Thomson.

Helpful?
Thank PaulH1986
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a great time, seeing about 50 dolphins. An awesome experience that everyone should try at least once!! Thank you!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander N
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took this tour as LP19 on RCCL on 5/8/16 advertised as 5 hours. Fairly expensive outing. Cruised out at back and extremely slow speeds, that appeared to be that captain had no intention of venturing out very far and was just wasting time. We went one hour from shore, spent 15 minutes looking for whales, saw no dolphins and boat... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank travelingone563
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went on a trip to see dolphins in their nature environment. Spirit Of The Sea offers two-hour and three-hour trips, with a guarantee to see dolphins. We choose the three-hour trip. I think it was 10 kilometers off shore where we found the dolphins. There were probably 50 of them and it was great. We even saw a whale.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SteadyEddyNL
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having grown up by the sea, I am well used to boats but the day we went out supports the experience others here have reported. As soon as we left the harbor, sick bags passed around, the boat was pitching wildly, water pouring into the lower section & guests were genuinely scared. My warning to other parents with small children... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin J
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2017

We didn't see any dolphins. We were offered a free return but it was late in our holiday so we were unable to do so. The weather wasn't bad but the boat pitched a lot leaving a number of people sick. Other larger boats heading out looked more stable. We weren't allowed into the hull to see through the windows.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank mdcthomas
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2016

Told us it would be good weather for dolphin safari but as soon as we got on the boat the weather was "bad weather". Two people who we talked to also wanted a refund after two trips with no dolphins, still they all blamed each other, calling police, and said we should call the boss who never answered. The ticketsales... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank martin86a
Javier Z, Gerente at Spirit Of The Sea, responded to this review

Thanks for your opinion Martin, First of all I would like to say that we regret the bad luck you had with the weather, that is something that we have no influence on. If the weather conditions advise against doing the excursion, we cancel it. But it does not take a cloudless sky to see the dolphins, they are always... More 

Swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2016

I know it is really just luck of the draw as the company cannot predict what the wild dolphins will do with certainty, but we saw a pod of what must have been over a hundred striped Dolphins. We were on the bottom deck and the Dolphins were playing in the wake of the boat and they were everywhere, it... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ynysygerwn
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

We must have picked the most windy day of the year to go in search of dolphins. The boat rose to great heights and sank to the depths. But we did get to see dolphins.loads of them. It is the most amazing sight i have seen.a huge shoal of dolphins jumping out of the sea. Thank you spirit of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank carpetman56
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

Read some slightly worrying reviews. Yes the ship is old, we think it's being decommissioned next year, but it was spotlessly clean with fantastic crew on board. Those who gave it bad reviews must be used to a life that most of us don't have. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Alan F

Travelers who viewed Spirit Of The Sea also viewed

Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Spirit Of The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Spirit Of The Sea and other visitors
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Spirit Of The Sea staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?