We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Nalu
Nalu Surf School & Shop offers professional surf lessons 1, 3 & 5 day courses for all ages. New and used boards for sale. Ding repair, surf tours by land and boat, surf clothing and accessories. With 12 years experience in the area and 29 years surfing experience we will help you with all your surfing needs during your visit.
Read more
Travelers talk about

Nalu
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
162Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 148
  • 6
  • 2
  • 3
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
midnight_marketing wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Pura Vida! The guys took great care of us from start to finish. Everyone was so friendly! Jose was our instructor and he was knowledgeable, friendly, and really helped up build from the basics. Muchas gracias todos!!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Voyager323856 wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
I would recommend going elsewhere if you are serious about trying to learn to surf. Owner Ben is arrogant and condescending like some of his employees. This is just a place for a silly tourist play date... not a serious place for technique building. Just look at other less desirable reviews here at how nonchalantly condescending the owner is. If his employees act lazy and childish, he will say it takes 2 tango. If your instructor is a short chubby guy named Palo, it’s DEFINITELY not worth your time. Palo wants to surf, he does not want to teach. He was legit openly getting annoyed and mad that I made him miss waves for himself, during my lesson. He was surfing waves all the way in and I would have to wait for him to swim back on time I paid for. Then he cut my lesson short on a lesson that already started late because of roadwork that slowed another employee down from arriving on time. Like he cut it so short that walked all the way back to shop with him, waited 15 minutes and dried off while he got on his motorcycle and rode home, then I walked back to the beach and got there while my girlfriend was just getting out of the water from a lesson that started at the same time. While the other instructor talked to us and stretched us out, Palo watched funny videos on his phone and hit seashells with a stick like he was playing baseball. The owner will simply blame Palo’s lack of passion for teaching... on your skills. It’s really weird. Del Soul is an awesome and professional alternative with endless more structure in place to ensure you will actually learn something during your lessons.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Lauren E wrote a review Nov 2020
8 contributions
Highly recommend!!! Couldn’t have asked for a better experience. Ben is super friendly, patient, and best of all a great instructor! I did a private lesson and then came back for another session a day later. The second time I was with a group and he had another instructor there to help - who was also fantastic. Can’t wait to go back and bring friends. Thank you Ben!
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Viktor K wrote a review Mar 2020
Gothenburg, Sweden2 contributions
Not recommended. I am a beginner and thought this surf shop would be good. Took a private lesson which was nice. The next day I borrowed a surfboard from the shop and would go out and test myself but fell off the board bad and the fins cut a deep wound under the foot. I could barely walk but managed to get back to the surf shop to leave the board. I showed my foot to the staff and he who was working in the shop did not care and said that the wound was nothing to worry about and he was impolite towards me. He was an Australian with a cap. I was bleeding a lot and needed to clean the foot with water so I borrowed their hose on the outside but then there was another guy there who also worked at the shop who got annoyed because he wanted to rinse off his board and not wait for me. I managed to get to a small hospital and the doctor who looked at the wound said that I needed to sew this immediately and that the foot would get infected if I didn't. I had to sew nine stitches and have lost feeling on the underside of the foot. I feel as a customer that they could have helped me in a friendlier way at the surf shop. It would had done a lot for me in the situation I was in. It was also unprofessional to say that the wound was nothing to worry about, I was close to listening to his advice. I'm glad I didn't.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Nalusurfschool, Owner at Nalu
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Sorry this review seems strange to me Did you really come past my surf school? I’m sure an incident like this I would remember , and the strange thing is me and my workers don’t recall this happening ! Customers with bleeding foot wounds would be something you’d remember In regards to your post though you did say the lesson was “nice “ which Is positive If you were unfortunate enough to have an accident Like this perhaps you weren’t at a level to be out surfing by yourself safely ? Also dating you “managed to get to a small hospital “ Is really an over exageration as next door to my shop is an emergency medical clinic literally 3 meters from my door with a doctor on call 24 /7 so strange I wouldn’t recommend you to get it checked out
Read more
Sophie R wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Ben and his team are very professional but also very relaxed! i had so much fun and learnt so much! Thank you to Joze and Ben for the lessons :D
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous