VIP Holbox Experience
Scuba & Snorkelling • Fishing Charters & Tours • Dolphin & Whale Watching • Speed Boats Tours • Kayaking & Canoeing
Read more
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM, 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
About
VIP Holbox Experience offers the best tours and activities on Holbox island. We count with professional and highly trained team and the best boats of the island to guarantee a safe and extraordinary experience, in full respect of nature.
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Features animals

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2022

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by VIP Holbox Experience
Adventure Tours
3 hours
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Recommended by 93% of travelers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
from
$53.00
per adult
Private Sightseeing Tours
150–210 minutes
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Recommended by 93% of travelers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
from
$225.00
per group
Travelers talk about
(68 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
819 reviews
Excellent
690
Very good
69
Average
26
Poor
19
Terrible
15

Travfam305
12 contributions
Sep 2020 • Couples
We booked the whale shark tour with VIP Holbox experience as well as transport from the airport to the island through their sister company. Our shark tour was cancelled because unfortunately there where no shark sightings during our stay but the guys at VIP Holbox were very profesional keeping us up to date every day during our stay trying to find the perfect day to go out. Since they hadn’t seen any sharks, the tour was canceled all together and they fully refunded us. Other companies in the island who offered this service were still going out and taking guests on their tour knowing there were no sharks out there and fully charging their clients. I would recommend this tour company to friends and would use them again if I return to Holbox.
Written September 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor’s community. As you stated, we cannot control nature and whale sharks sometimes dive into deep waters. Our policy is to be honest with our clients, so they can take an informed decision.
Written October 18, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ANEMICK
2 contributions
Mar 2021
I can’t rate this experience highly enough! I contacted VIP Holbox 3 weeks in advance of visiting and asking if they could help me with a surprise proposal. They were more than accommodating, our guide Eddie almost had me believing we were going fishing for the day. Eddie deserved an Oscar - as the engine stopped working as we were approaching ‘mosquito island.’ He said it would be 15mins for a new bait would arrive and for us to enjoy the island while we wait. As we got off the boat and stepped onto the island, I got on one knee and Eddie was there with his camera to capture the special moment! Really, really well organized. VIP Holbox went above and beyond, more so than they needed to and we will forever remember a special day thanks to all involved.
P.s we did the day fishing tour the next day, which was arguably better. Don’t tell my fiancé
Stephen & Anemick
Written April 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are very glad we could be a part of your story!
Written May 28, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

rgustke
manitou springs, colorado16 contributions
Aug 2021 • Family
We just returned from six days on Isla Holbox, and booked two trips with VIP Holbox. Our whale shark guide was Gustavo, and he was such a great person to help us see the sharks. He brought the biology of the sharks alive for us and his humor, kindness and patience allowed all eight of us in the boat to have a wonderful day. Most importantly, he put us in perfect position to get to swim with the sharks and to see them clearly. He is a superb guide!! We then did a 3 island bird watching/snorkeling day with Sandra, and she was so energetic, knowledgable and full of information about the biology, ecology and history of the area. She reached out to our entire family and at the end of the day we felt we had not only learned alot but also really had a personalized trip with her sincerity and energy. This company ran every logistical detail smoothly, the boat captains were expert at their craft and every detail was taken care of flawlessly. We highly recommend you book your trip with them!!!!
Written August 9, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

NG
1 contribution
Aug 2022
If you want whale sharks to survive, please, do not go on tour to see them.

I have never be that ashamed of myself.

Whatever you are told (whale sharks are very protected, you pay a high price so that only respectful profesional bring you onsite, no more than 2 persons + 1 guide with the shark), this is how it ends:

More than 100 boats, tracking that giant yet defenseless animal.

Maybe if your boat is first on site it doesn't look like that, but once the animals are found, all the boats come as quickly as they can to track them down.
Then, the whale sharks try to escape, but there is always another boat on their path, with 3 people jumping 2 meters ahead, so they have to change direction, and it lasts for hours, so that each of the 300 tourists onsite has the "chance" and "hapiness" to swim with them.

This is a traumatic experience for the animal : the boats, the noise, the people, and eventually (as you can see on our picture), the motors cutting their fins.

Be repsonsible, more than we have been, and protect those magnific animals: leave them alone.
Written September 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

hscissokho
Pittsboro, NC1 contribution
Mar 2022
We had a wonderful experience working with VIP Holbox for a private boat tour. Booking was easy, pricing as very reasonable, and our guide, a Holbox native, was kind, helpful, and super knowledgeable. Highly recommend!
Written March 21, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Sarah H
1 contribution
Aug 2021
The website was so easy to navigate. The communication ahead of travel was clear and direct. An absolutely fantastic experience for the price. My friend and I went on two tours with Gustavo who is the best guide I have ever had. Not only was he in love with what he does and the whale sharks, but he also made sure that everyone in the boat felt safe and had what they needed. He was knowledgeable and an amazing storyteller. He and the captain made sure that everyone got a perfect view of the whale shark in the water. The ceviche they made for us for lunch afterward was excellent. On top of all of that, they made sure to teach everyone about the importance of conservation of these animals and followed all of the rules of the marine reserve.
Written August 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review! We are happy you liked the tour and you left with more information about our beautiful ecosystem.
Written August 11, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LATINOUS75
San Diego, CA3 contributions
Jul 2021
Although they cancel the tour it was for my own safety (safety of the people). I ended it taking another tour with another company, well big mistake. The waved were huge out on the sea (la cadena). VIP Holbox were truly honest by canceling, in fact, they even canceled the 2 subsecuents days, while tue other companies were still selling their tkts. I now know better, if they ever happen to cancel you it is for your own safety or for a reasonable reason. Trust them. I learned the hard way by taking another tour and well, we saw nothing and the sea was really rough. This company it is honest 100%.
Written July 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your comment. We really want our clients to have a good experience. Of course, when we cancel the tours, we refund 100%
Written August 8, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

tobias123878
1 contribution
Aug 2021
The tour was a super good and highly recommended experience. Our guide Willy and our captain were both very knowledgeable and very nice, and the Ceviche was the best! We saw a lot of sharks, and there are many rules to protect them. Only two people + the guide are allowed in the water at once, and each person gets to jump into the water 2 times. They prepared us very well for our jumps (how to follow the sharks, where to look etc.), so you make the best out of your swim! Also the videos Willy took from us and the animals were extraordinary.
Written August 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Claire R
2 contributions
Aug 2022
We enjoyed so much our first excursion with them (swimming with wale sharks) and oour guide Eddie that we booked a private boat ride fishing. We had the chance to have Gustavo with us for the latter one and Gustavo was exceptional, sharing his knowledge, caring for us, laughing with us! Their captains are fishermen who know extremely well the Gulf and you feel safe.
The swimming with shark is a bumpy ride but it is natural, nothing you can change about it. Very good organization, succulent fresh food, nice people!
Written August 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Johnny Utah
Dayton, OH2 contributions
May 2021
An amazing tour with professional guides and a one of a kind experience! The tour is long and the boat ride in the beginning can be bumpy, but if or when you find the whale sharks, the adrenaline rush is real. I highly recommend booking this tour as this company respects the animals and does it well from beginning to end. If you have an underwater camera - bring it!
Written June 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for sharing your experience!
Written June 20, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 538

VIP Holbox Experience (Holbox Island) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go