Lanka Grand Herbal Spa
Lanka Grand Herbal Spa
4
About
You can have Ayurvedic Herbal Treatments with us. We have a variety of treatments and you can come to our spa and have a look at our packages. We also accept Credit Cards (Master/ VISA)
Suggested duration
< 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Reviews may contain information about traveler safety at this business.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.0
185 reviews
Excellent
89
Very good
48
Average
24
Poor
13
Terrible
11

mina0803
Neos Marmaras, Greece160 contributions
Jul 2018 • Couples
I visited the spa with my BF during our sty in Ella / July 2018. The massage itself was good BUT the two ladies who took care of us were talking non-stop during the treatment. this is not very relaxing. also they were making loud noises in the bathroom and one of them even picked up the phone at one time during the massage - NOT ACCEPTABLE!!

please train your staff better, to ensure a relaxing experience for the customers...
Written August 6, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Roos v
Rotterdam, The Netherlands33 contributions
Sep 2015 • Couples
We went here for a full body massage after a hike to Ella Rock. The massage was really relaxing. Be aware of the oil in combination with your clothes, because after the massage you wont get the chance to take a shower there. My husbands pants is ruined beause of the oil stains, so put on old clothes
Written September 19, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Amanda H
16 contributions
Nov 2016 • Solo
Had a nice massage, the therapist worked really hard. Her calloused hands were a bit distracting (she needs a break!), and I also didn't like that she didn't ask beforehand whether it's okay to massage breasts(!) or if there were any injuries she should be wary of. My knees hurt a bit.

I also really object to being asked to leave a positive review here.
Written November 26, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello dear Madame. we are really sorry for the inconvenience. why don't you tell the management? we can give some action or advice to our staff. because you are our valid customer. and again we are really sorry for the inconvenience . Thank you.
Written December 3, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

GeorgieJS
Newquay, UK33 contributions
Jan 2016
I'd been told by other travellers i'd met around Sri Lanka that the massages in Ella weren't all they're cracked up to be but I just couldn't resist. I really wish I had.

My experience was unacceptable and I would certainly have deemed it sexual assault in the UK. In hindsight, I'm frustrated with myself that I wasn't confident enough to walk out when I felt uncomfortable but initially, my overwhelming concern was not to put the masseuse in a difficult situation, maybe it was 'normal' here, maybe I was mistaken etc...

I booked a 4000 rupee, full body massage based on reasonable TripAdvisor reviews. I was taken into a musty, dirty room with damp growing on the walls and the masseuse motioned for me to remove my top and bra. I did so while she just stood I front of me, unusual but I'm not overly shy so just got on with it. She then asked me to remove my shorts but I explained it was my time of the month and would rather not. She wrapped a sarong around me, sat me on an upside down plastic bin and dumped a bowl of unpleasant smelling oil on my head (shampooed 3 times and it still hasn't come out). She then rubbed my head for about ten minutes. At this point I was smiling at myself, thinking of the 'told you so' I would get from my boyfriend when I reported back. I was then told to lie face down on the bed where the massage (easily the worst of my life) went from bad to awful.

When my shorts were hoisted over my bum and then pulled down completely below my bum cheeks so she could massage them I was surprised, a bit uncomfortable but fine, I've had massages around the world, they differ. She massaged my feet and pulled four times on a broken toe after being asked not to. I was literally yelping in pain. I was then turned onto my front where the sarong was only covering my lower legs. My breasts were completely exposed and she began massaging them along with my stomach, reeeeally not enjoying that so I opened my eyes, laughed awkwardly and put my hand up. She said, 'You like?', grinning like I was a very lucky girl. I shook my head and said not but she continued enthusiastically. Then she rolled the front of my shorts down so I may as well have not been wearing them, I was frozen in horror at this point and, from behind me, starts sweeping strokes down from my breasts to my ahem, y'no. Actually past where the shorts were rolled down and very much in my intimate area. I rolled my shorts back up, telling myself it must have been a mistake, when she rolled them down and did it twice more. At this point, it was coming to the end of the massage, I motioned to go to the bathroom, got dressed and dashed out of the door. I threw the cash to the manager who tried to sit me down for a cup of tea when I pretended I had dinner reservations and left. I ran back to my hotel and burst into tears as soon as I got there. I cannot stop thinking about it and running it through my head. Perhaps I can't quite articulate here quite how inappropriate it was and I'm not poorly travelled or a prude, but It was genuinely weird, and made me feel sick to my stomach. Please, do not go. I would have given a 'Terrible' rating on the massage and cleanliness alone. Save your money and your dignity.
Written January 10, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sorry for the inconvenience you faced. I wish if you told as the incident at the moment. Anyway we took necessary actions according to your respond. This is not usually happen and we took necessary actions to make sure not to make it happen again. We have many good reviews on TripAdvisor. we'll not get so if we're not going it well. Again apologizes! Thanks for let us know about this.
Written March 20, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sutian
Nanjing47 contributions
Oct 2015 • Friends
Pros:
Not that expensive
Massage itself wasn't terrible

Cons:
The towels on the tables smelled like sweat
The towel they gave me to dry off with after the sauna box thingie was the same one they'd given my friend before me to use - it was still wet. Who knows who else had used it before.
They didn't change the towel in the sauna box after my friend used it and before I got in.
The oils smelled terrible and I had to wash my hair 6 times before it came out.
After dripping the oil on our heads and hair, they wrung our hair out (very, very painful) into a basin and poured the oil back into bottles -- possibly to be reused??
They scrubbed my head with a dirty towel so hard that I had unusual amounts of hair falling out for the next three days.
During the massage, people were periodically opening the door and coming in to chat. I couldn't see everyone that came in, but our room opened up right into a hallway and some people left the door open while they chatted and we were just laying there naked on tables. At one point, there were at least 5 people in our room laughing and having a good time while we laid there naked. It was incredibly invasive.
Written October 10, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Veronika R
39 contributions
Dec 2016 • Couples
After we had about 10 massages in different places in Sri Lanka we came to Ella and took the advice from the best spa on trip advisor .

We came as a couple and the massage was rather disappointing. My boyfriend and I got a synchronized massage, the masseuse did not check the stress points individually, it was like a program that they did, not checking the body in front of them

Also the use of very cheap oil caused an allergic reaction and when we arrived in our hotel they told us they need to change the sheets as this cheap oil , that they smelled, harms the bed sheets

I felt rather uncomfortable right after, the massage did not have the relaxing effect that we wanted and paid for

If you just want to get a massage fine, but it was not worth going at all and I don't understand all the good reviews
Written December 3, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ronselaar
Eindhoven, The Netherlands24 contributions
Aug 2015 • Couples
After the tuktuk driver told us that we could get a massage over here, we where interested in the price. After we went in into the salon, the women was nearly forcing us to make an appointment whilst we where only interested in the prices. Next to this impolite behavioral manner of selling services; they where far too expensive! 4000Rupees per person for a full body massage! We left without any appointment and went out too find another one. After some negotiation with a salon a bit further down the road towards nine arch bridge, we had a descent full body massage for just 2000 rupees per person! I cannot remember the name of it, but herbal Lanka spa is definitely out of discussion to visit.
Written August 29, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Vera
3 contributions
Jan 2019 • Solo
The massage itself was good, but the wall isn't closed at the top so all the noise from outside comes in. People at the desk kept talking. The phone from the masseuse kept ringing. There is no hole in the table for your head. I was there in the evening, it gets around 17°C here. It's very cold to lay on the table with this temperature. I was unable to relax due all of this so I wouldn't reccomend it.
Written January 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Clem
Annecy, France17 contributions
Jan 2019 • Couples
We had a good time. The girls were professional and did a great job even though it looks rustic, a little loud and the tables don’t have a hole for the head. But globaly i recommand it without hesitation! Massage was good, including a good head, feet, hands, belly and face massage which isn’t happening everywere. We paid 4000rp for 1h15!
Written January 4, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Corinne0071
4 contributions
Jul 2018 • Friends
My friend and I visited the place as it’s highly recommended by our accommodation. We initially had high expectation on it as it would b our first trial on aryurvedic message, however we were quite disappointed after the massage. Firstly, we did not like the environment as it’s poorly maintained and secondly the massage technique did not really hit the pain point. Provided they charged us 4000LKR for one hour massage, I think it’s a bit too costly for the quality they have.
Written July 29, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 114
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Lanka Grand Herbal Spa (Ella) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Lanka Grand Herbal Spa