We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Route 987 Las Croabas, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Phone Number: 787-604-7375
Website
Today
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Description:

Yokahu Kayak Trips Inc. is an eco-friendly company endorsed by the Tourism...

Yokahu Kayak Trips Inc. is an eco-friendly company endorsed by the Tourism Company of Puerto Rico and has been favored by travelers from all over. Their professionalism, experience and knowledge in environment themes, water sports and tourism made them remain in the industry for more than 10 years. Some of the Yokahu exciting and educative tours are: Bio Bay “Laguna Grande”, Sun Set Kayak Tour, Rainforest “El Yunque” and Beach & Snorkeling Kayak Day Tour.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 403 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 270
    Excellent
  • 76
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
One of the cheaper outfitters, but bio bay is disappointing

We read that the bio bay was losing it's "luster", but we went anyway. We read that the new moon was the best time to see the luminescence, so we were pumped when our only free... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
M M
,
Sugar Land, Texas

Similar Things to Do in Fajardo

Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 391: English reviews
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We read that the bio bay was losing it's "luster", but we went anyway. We read that the new moon was the best time to see the luminescence, so we were pumped when our only free night was at the perfect moon stage. We drove in from Old San Juan....our 1 hour drive time turned into 2.5 hours. Beware if... More 

Helpful?
Thank M M
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

Hey there -- I'm glad you could join us for a nice tour of the bio bay, despite the traffic and construction on the drive. Thank you for sharing the love for our friendly staff and flexible customer service, although I'm sorry that the overall experience of the bioluminescence was lackluster this time. I hope you will consider giving us... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The tour guys are great but for what they do it is too expensive. If they know that the trip that day is not going to show the organisims why still do it? Paying $40 for paddling from one to another is a rip! Do not recommend or check before to make sure you are going to see something put... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raul A
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

Hey there, Raul -- although I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our guides, I'm sorry if you felt the experience was not worth the price. We try to track the visibility of the bioluminescence beforehand and offer our customers to opt out if it is not visible. I apologize if it wasn't as visible this time as you expected. I... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

The kayak paddle was a good workout, but they should inform you if the microorganism are dying and not have us go out. We expected to see more of these microorganism work, but that wasn't the case. Who knows if it will ever get back to it's glory.

Helpful?
Thank Javier R
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

Hi there, Javier -- Thank you for sharing the love for our tours! Although I'm glad you enjoyed your kayaking workout with us, we're sorry the bio glow was a bit of a let down this time. There was recently an influx of seaweed in the waters which diminished the glow -- hopefully it will clear up soon. However if... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016

We did the early run and really enjoyed paddling out in the day time and watching the sun set. Coming back in was really hard in the dark. The mangrove trees are tough to get through with no light. While you are out in the bay it is AMAZING to look up at the stars and just see how many... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrisberrytex
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

I'm so glad to hear you had such a great time on the bio bay with us. Thank you so much for sharing the love for our helpful guides. It really means a lot, and I hope we get to have you back for another beautiful tour sometime. Until then, Luis, Owner More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

This trip was an average trip. The only reason I say that is because you literally kayak for a while and you end up at the lagoon and spent only 10-15 minutes there. We also had to be under a tarp in order to see the organisms. The moon and stars were the best part of the trip. It is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

Hi there, Elizabeth -- although I'm glad you enjoyed the beautiful night scenery, I'm sorry to hear the tour was a bit less impressive to you. We do our best to give an informative, experiential tour of the bio bay, unfortunately sometimes Mother Nature doesn't provide the expected biolumninescence. I hope you will consider giving us another shot someday to... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

I went to PR & figured I HAD to do this! I only questioned whether or not i'd be able to see the glow since the bay is still recovering...but I figured that I had to at least try. The tour is about 2 hours long. We went @ 6:45 pm and it was just starting to get a bit... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank klx626
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

You don't know how much it means to hear you had such a magical time on the bio bay with us! Thank you so much for sharing the love for our talented, helpful guides, and our rewarding nighttime tour of the bay. I'm so glad you had such a wonderful experience, and I hope we'll get the chance to have... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

We took the 9:00 Kayak trip to the bioluminescent bay. They have double kayaks and go fairly slow. The channel to the bay is dark and narrow with branches overhead that must be avoided. Many of the guests are inexperienced kayakers so it is important to relax. The bay is interesting and worth seeing.

Helpful?
Thank Jim M
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

Hey there, Jim! Thank you so much for sharing the love for our kayaking tour of the bio bay. It really means a lot to hear that you had a relaxing time enjoying the bioluminescence with us, and I hope to have you back again sometime. Until then, Luis, Owner More 

Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

I wholeheartedly recommend Yokahu. These guys were fabulous. Also, if you are not good at kayaking, you should go at the earlier time slot because kayaking through the channel of mangroves by moonlight is difficult. They will give you a tarp to hold over your kayaks once you get to the bay if it's too light out. Regardless of which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

Hey there, Jessica! Thank you so much for sharing the love for our fun, informative kayaking tour through the bio bay! Although the bio glow is very faint due to recent natural factors, I'm glad you still enjoyed your experience and our professional guides. It really means a lot, and I hope to have you back for another tour someday.... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

My family of four took the 9pm kayak trip. There was a full moon which gave plenty of light (some prior comments mentioned pitch blackness but we did it encounter this issue). Positives: professionally run. Great guides. Really enjoyed the kayaking to the bay through the channel. Quite fun. Negatives: bioluminescence is almost non-existent due to an increase of oxygen... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iloveochel
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing the love for our full moon kayak tour and our wonderful, professional guides. It means a lot to hear you and your family enjoyed yourselves, despite the lack of bio glow. Unfortunately, mother nature has not been on our side in that department lately -- I apologize for that. I'm also sorry to hear... More 

Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

This was without a doubt the worst experience I had during my trip in Puerto Rico. The staff was rude (Erwin specifically), the bay was underwhelming, and the entire experience was a disaster as the guides relied on members of the group to pass along instructions. The other kayaking companies seemed to have their acts together, so I'd still recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank hull4baloo
Luis M, Owner at Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc., responded to this review

I'm very disheartened to hear you had such a disappointing experience with us on the bio bay. We take our customer service very seriously, and we always want you to feel taken care of with helpful, attentive guides. I apologize if we came off as anything less than professional with you. I'll be keeping this top of mind moving forward,... More 

Travelers who viewed Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc. and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Yokahu Kayak Trips, Inc. staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?