Mana Kai Catamaran
Mana Kai Catamaran
4.5
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
About
Manakai. In the Hawaiian language means “Spirit of the Sea”. Offering seven unique sails, our variety of sails should meet the needs of every guest. Whether you’re looking for relaxation or thrill seeking, this is an adventure that’s a must do for the entire family and we won’t disappoint. Bring aboard the drink of your choice and enjoy the beautiful waters of Waikiki.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Features animals

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Mana Kai Catamaran
Travelers talk about
(10 reviews)
(3 reviews)
(2 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
372 reviews
Excellent
322
Very good
28
Average
9
Poor
4
Terrible
9

d1domino
Gilbertsville, PA66 contributions
Jul 2021 • Couples
The crew was extremely polite and very helpful. We had a member of our party who needed extra help and they were very helpful. We boarded on time and set sail in a short period. It wasn’t a full trip, but nearly full, but wasn’t crowded.

A big plus is that you board right on Waikiki beach. If there is someone in your group, as we did, who doesn’t like to sail, they aren’t stuck on a dock at a marina. They can wait for you on the beach. There also is a bath house and snack bar right on that part of the beach.

Those laying on the front net got soaked on the way out, but not on the way back. Seating was good so everyone could see. In the seating area you did get wet, but not soaked.

This was a good length sail for those looking to do something like this but wanting a more reasonable rate and not a long sail. An hour was a good length.

There were four of us, ages 24, 55, 56, and 83. We all agreed it was the perfect length sail. We all would recommend this to our friends.

This is a great little operation that gives you a great experience at a reasonable cost.
Written July 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

MajorBulldog
Hawaii1 contribution
Oct 2022 • Couples
We sailed with Captain Jenna and crew twice, snorkeling with the turtles and the tradewind sail. Both exceeded our expectations. We wanted a good locals experience without all the hype and unnecessary frills. We wanted to snorkel and see turtles with our own eyes and we did. The trade winds sail was great even when the wind did not cooperate. I am a sailor and was allowed to take a turn at the helm. When the wind died down we motored over and saw some turtles again.

Aloha.
Written October 16, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Christina A
2 contributions
Jun 2021 • Friends
We went on the Sunset Sail, we chose this because it was BYOB with a fair and affordable price. I wasn't sure what to expect. This far exceeded my expectations, we had an amazing/fun group of crew members. Everyone on our sail was lively fun and friendly! This will be one of my best memories for years to come!
Written June 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Andrea K
Portland, OR1 contribution
Oct 2021
We had a truly great experience snorkeling with the turtles! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. They pointed out turtles for us and we got to see so many. They also made sure to help my son with his mask and to keep him as well as the rest of us closeby, not taken with the current. I felt secure and confident with them and would absolutely do it again. Thank you so much!!
Written October 26, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Janet C
Leesville, SC56 contributions
Aug 2021 • Friends
Our family booked the sunset catamaran ride on our first night in Hawaii. The weather was great & the crew was nice. The drinks are BYOB, so we picked up some items from the local ABC store nearby to bring onboard.

The sailing was quick and somewhat boring. I think the very poor music selection made it lackluster. Not sure why the crew chose slow music from the 70’s, as it didn’t seem to match the demographic of the visitors at all. Our teenage daughter (and us as well) was very underwhelmed with the whole experience.
Written August 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Roxanne W
2 contributions
May 2021 • Couples
The crew members were knowledgeable and personable
We enjoyed the trip as a bday present to my husband to see the marine life out there. We saw some turtles. Kind of a quiet day but had a lovely view of Diamond Head and the Waikiki area from the water! Want to go again, maybe to snorkel trip and would recommend this to all of our friends
Aloha and mahalo
Written May 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Raymond S
Honolulu, HI1 contribution
Jul 2022 • Family
These guys are fun and professional. We had a special family event that we chartedd the boat for in the morning. The crew was very friendly and fun and took the time to take care of everyone. They even helped my six year old grandson get over the fear of the boat with a toy shark and letting him take the wheel of the ship with supervision. We loved them so much the family talked about charting them again for a family fun day. You will not be disappointed with these guys they are great.
Written July 10, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Kate_McCrory
Melbourne, Australia25 contributions
Jan 2023 • Family
Best experience and a great crew!!! We saw turtles, lots of fish and even a reef shark.
Would definitely recommend, great for families too. We went to Hanauma Bay and this was a much better experience and less stressful.
Written January 14, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

dianekirby1024
Brooksville, FL3 contributions
Apr 2022
We left on time from Waikiki Beach. Nice ride out to where turtles hang. Equipment seemed very clean and was given out with instructions. Even if you are a bit inexperienced they explain everything and an employee was in the water with us. We saw at least 4 giant turtles and schools of fish of different kinds. It was so much fun. Would absolutely recommend this. One of the best adventures we had while on Oahu.
Written April 22, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Dani S
1 contribution
Feb 2020 • Family
His exact words were “if we were in the business of pleasing everyone we wouldn’t make any money”. The guy greeting people to get on the boat was so rude to me, belittled me in front of my daughter for not knowing where to go, and made me feel very stupid. He was such a nasty person and I felt like a smaller human because of him. He said he has worked for many tour companies. I do believe no one would keep him on staff. He is a jerk of a man who thinks he is smarter than anyone. I hope he doesn’t have a poor wife at home. She is likely miserable. He refused to give my money back after he is the reason I didn’t want to continue. It’s a sad little company.
Written February 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ManaKaiCatamaran
Aloha G4574WKdanis, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize if the Captain came off as rude. As I looked in to the notes of this particular evening, there were a couple calls from your party as we explained our location as stated in our confirmation along with our check-in time. As I reviewed recordings of the call, we were treated with harsh tone and hung up on twice while trying to help your party. You were the last guests to arrive, late for check-in as well as departure time. As we see it, it is rude to all other guests who read through their confirmation and boarded on time. As a courtesy for each sail, we wait 5min after departure for any guests running late which is 35min after check-in time. Our refund policy states "Full refund available with at least 24 hours’ notice of sail departure." It's my understanding one member of your party still hadn't arrived, now after the scheduled departure time. Also you made a complaint that there were other guests on the boat and you stated "we do not like people, why would we want to get on the boat with them." As you also shared your wishes that the boat would sink with everyone onboard as well. We are a small family company that has been in business since 1947 and take pride in our customer service, Aloha spirit, and giving guests a memorable experience. We wish you safe travels home and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Hawaii!
Written March 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 367

Mana Kai Catamaran (Honolulu) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go