We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Buffalo Gap Gift Shop

10 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

The Buffalo Gap Gift Shop

10 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
10Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 7
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
D R wrote a review Aug 2019
Sackets Harbor, New York3 contributions
I happened upon this shop on a bit of a tight schedule, not nearly enough time to truly see everything...and that was before I found the second floor! I found the cutest gnomes up there but talked myself out of them because of an already severe shortage of room in my sole bag and only two days into my vacation. But I did manage to take a picture of them to show everyone back home. Later on I filled up the car and ran back across the street the The Buffalo Gap to grab some SMALL souvenirs to take home (great selection of them by the register!) and went again to visit the gnomes, already kicking myself for not buying them. I had entertained the idea of buying them and mailing them home but the post office had already closed. Fast forward a week and I was home and still thinking about the gnomes, unable to locate anything like them. I decided I would contact the shop and try my hardest to convince them to do me this one massive favor. Imagine my surprise when I saw THIS on their website: "If you have a special request or saw something in our store that isn't on the website, click on the Contact Us link and we'd be happy to help!" I was obviously not the first person to see something there and wished they'd bought it! Within an hour of sending my email to them complete with the picture I'd taken, I got a response from Chuck saying that it'd be no problem at all to get those out to me. I talked to him on the phone later that day and my package was on the way by close of business. I suppose it should not come as such a surprise to have people and shops be THIS nice, owners who go out of their way and are just so friendly, but it truly is a rarity. I had the most amazing trip that was marked by amazing people, Chuck and everyone at The Buffalo Gap included. I can't thank them enough for going the extra mile for a customer in a faraway state.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Robin S wrote a review Jun 2019
Baker, Montana9 contributions2 helpful votes
We are lucky to visit Medora ND quite often as we only lives 80 miles away ……. great gift shop has a large variety of gifts for young kids all the way up to grandparents.....they have a great selection of outdoor yard décor, and they also have shirts & hats and do their own embroidery ….. and great customer service.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Chuck A, Owner at The Buffalo Gap Gift Shop
Responded Jun 19, 2019
Thanks for your kind review Robin. At The Buffalo Gap Gift Shop we truly strive to make our shoppers' experience a fun time as well as providing a wide variety of products for you to choose from. Check out our Facebook page for new products and specials!
Read more
Dean_Amy-2004 wrote a review Jun 2019
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania4,988 contributions433 helpful votes
A cute shop where we were able to find our ND souvenir. The wind driven lawn ornaments were beautiful.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Chuck A, Owner at The Buffalo Gap Gift Shop
Responded Jun 19, 2019
Thanks for your review, Dean & Amy. We hope you can visit our shop again should you return to North Dakota. We work hard to please all our customers and we were glad you enjoyed shopping at The Buffalo Gap Gift Shop and had a chance to see the kinetic wind spinners! They ARE awesome!
Read more
ymamy wrote a review Jun 2019
Norfolk, Virginia5 contributions2 helpful votes
We were recently in for souvenirs; big store, so one can spend quite a bit of time there, but if you need to use the restroom, they won’t let you. They’ll instead give you convoluted directions to the public restroom, blocks away. Employee was incredibly rude and felt compelled to spend 5 minutes price checking a $1.95 item instead of believing us. Nice store, but tourists need to be treated better.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Chuck A, Owner at The Buffalo Gap Gift Shop
Responded Jun 6, 2019
Thank you for contacting us about your experience- we value your input and will strive to do better in the future. We are so sorry you didn't have an enjoyable experience at our store. Our building simply does not have the ability to house public restrooms. The large public restroom is 300 feet from our store. These are maintained by the city of Medora as a service because the vast majority of the historic buildings in our community do not have public restrooms. Our store is not unique with this situation. We will take action in our employee training to provide a better experience in the future and hope you will give us another opportunity to provide a positive experience. Thanks again for taking the time to let us know about your experience and how we can improve. Best Regards,
Read more
OneToGoTravel wrote a review Apr 2019
Fort Walton Beach, Florida10 contributions5 helpful votes
Lovely place to explore all the unique finds and gifts in town. Very nice folks who run the place, personable and helpful with suggestions and town information. Definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of experience: April 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
Frequently Asked Questions about The Buffalo Gap Gift Shop