We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sitka Sound Tours

Features Animals
Sitka, AK, USA
More
About Sitka Sound Tours
EXPERIENCE AMAZING WILDLIFE! Sitka Sound Tours will guide you through a bevy of majestic mountains, ancient volcanoes, towering caves, and miles of ocean teaming with phenomenal wildlife, providing you with unforgettable memories of your once in a lifetime trip to Alaska. You are guided by our U.S. Coast Guard Licensed Captain. Your Captain is a high-quality naturalist, who is also a local Sitka Biologist, and spent 15 years as a Captain, commercial fishing in the Sitka area. Sound Tours will take you to see migrating humpback whales, harbor seals, Steller sea lions, rafts of sea otters, lumbering brown bears, and perched bald eagles. Also be prepared to see up close Sitka’s commercial fishing activities, the culture and lifestyle of Southeast Alaska, remnants from World War II, majestic mountain vistas, hanging glaciers and ice fields, and ancient forests!
Read more
Travelers talk about

Sitka Sound Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
110Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 101
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Luv2TravelFarNWide wrote a review Sep 2019
Phoenix, Arizona1,016 contributions376 helpful votes
We had booked a private boat (for 6) six years ago and had a fantastic experience. This time our travel agent recommended Sitka Sound Tours, and we booked it for 6 again (us and 2 other couples). It was a complete disappointment. We were told "the seas are too rough so we're not going out beyond the sound." Captain Brian was a nice guy, but he gave us 2+ hours of slowly motoring thru a fishing fleet, dodging nets (as the fishermen cursed us under their breath). We saw 2 eagles (before leaving the harbor), 1 sea lion, and then a flotilla of moon jellyfish. Next we motored back thru the fishing fleet and thru the marina where the fishing fleet not out for the day were sitting at dock. Whoopee? Finally we motored out (still in sheltered waters) and finally spotted some sea otters. We were given a few minutes to watch these amusing creatures then motored back thru the fishing fleet docks and deposited on shore. We paid more than $1000 for a 2.5 hour trip to boredom. NOT what was advertised: "Fantastic wildlife viewing." Really sad. We had seen whales, whales and more whales on previous trips to Alaska. This was our friends first cruise and first trip to Alaska. They were really disappointed to have spent their time on this boat instead of doing a whale watching cruise.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours
Responded Sep 9, 2019
I, too, am sorry that you were disappointed with your excursion. However, you were well informed of the weather conditions before our trip and had the opportunity to cancel and spend your time in Sitka enjoying other options. I brief all of my passengers of the weather conditions prior to leaving the dock and nobody is ever pressured to go if they have any second thoughts. The weather that day was 25 mph winds and 10 foot seas, due to a storm a few days earlier. In fact, one of the cruise ships cancelled their port of call to Sitka just 3 days earlier. Being from Arizona you can't be expected to have any concept of such sea conditions. As a professional Captain, I prioritize passenger safety above all else. Sitka Sound Tours has been providing awesome wildlife tours in Sitka for over 15 years, of which your review is only 1 of 4 negative reviews we've ever received. Why then did you give me a $60 tip if you were going to leave me a negative review? I would have much rather of had constructive criticism done in person at the end of your tour. Every single day on the water is different, so you can't expect the same experience from 6 years ago... Additionally, my tours consist of observing wildlife in their natural pristine habitats. You were able to see a great variety of wildlife: eagles, Steller sea lions, sea otters, etc. The only thing you didn't see were whales in 10 foot seas and 25 mph winds. I'm guessing this is what you're complaining about. While observing endangered marine mammals, I am bound by federal guidelines which limit impact, viewing proximity, and the amount of time. I will in no way commit a felony to appease passengers who are naive about viewing proximity and duration. I am intent on low impact wildlife viewing which has assured my success rate for years. Furthermore, having been a commercial fisherman in Sitka for decades, I am all too aware that encountering commercial fishing operations on the waters surrounding Sitka is unavoidable. The fishermen are very familiar with me, as I am of them, and we respect each other's efforts at making a living on the high seas. NOBODY HAS EVER cursed at me while conducting business on the water. This statement you made is pure fantasy.
Read more
KatieGoeck wrote a review Sep 2019
Salt Lake City, Utah1 contribution
Our whale watching tour was perfect! I highly recommended 10/10. They were so nice and very knowledgeable! I couldn’t have asked for better people to show us around Sitka!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours
Responded Sep 9, 2019
Thanks for this awesome review! We had a great day on the water with you too. You all even braved 6 foot swells so you could see whales! After seeing those whales, we tucked back in to see those cute sea otters. If you return to Sitka, please look us up again. If you decide to move here, know that you already have friends in Sitka!
Read more
Erika E wrote a review Aug 2019
17 contributions8 helpful votes
That makes for a really special tour. He has a wealth of knowledge to share about pretty much everything that is happening out on the water. We learned about the Alaskan fishing industry, the livelihood of Sitka, the habitats of several of the animals we saw (why they would be where they were). He was willing to entertain any question we threw at him. He showed us so many things and really knows where to find the critters. It was nice to get lost in time a bit and he took us out longer than expected.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours
Responded Sep 2, 2019
This is such a nice review. Thanks for your insight. Captain Brian really enjoys "showing off" Sitka to visitors, which is not hard to do, along with fielding questions. So glad you were able to see a bunch of wildlife in their natural habitats, as well as understand the importance of those intact habitats. The weather wasn't that kind to us, but so happy you had a wonderful tour!
Read more
BVBear8040 wrote a review Aug 2019
Leadville, Colorado18 contributions4 helpful votes
GREAT EXPERIENCE! Capt. Brian's rules; #1, Don't fall overboard. #2, No stress. We left at 0800, 4 of 6 guests on board. Rainy with the remnants of a storm still pestering Sitka. Capt. Brian met us on the dock an explained that we would be staying inside the Sound due to 10-13' ( 3-4 m) seas. No argument from our party. VERY knowledgeable re: the local environment. We saw Stellar sea lions, porpoise, many bird species incl bald eagles An intimate trip. Want to see the Sitka Sound from a locals perspective?book with Sitka Sound Tours
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours
Responded Sep 2, 2019
Glad you remembered the rules and stuck to them! So happy a "little Alaskan summer storm" didn't hamper your wildlife tour! Those harbor porpoise were very cool to watch in the lively seas. Captain Brian truly enjoys sharing his local knowledge about Sitka and the wildlife with visitors. The small intimate setting provides a very personal, hands-on experience that you won't get on a large boat with a 100 other passengers. If you ever return to Sitka, please contact us again!
Read more
Jacqueline B wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
I highly recommend this trip. Captain Brian was great and we saw lots of whales and seals. The scenery was breathtaking and it was far better being in a small boat than one of the larger more commercial ones. Captain Brian has so much knowledge and a big thanks too to his wife Heather who always responded very quickly to my email questions. A great time and really enjoyed this.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours
Responded Sep 2, 2019
Thanks for you awesome review! So happy you were able to see whales and seals! Seals are usually elusive, so a sighting is always fun! We try to be very responsive, as we know travel plans may be last minute or may suddenly change. So glad you enjoyed your wildlife tour with us!
Read more
Previous