We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sitka Sound Tours

Features Animals
Sitka, AK, USA
More
About Sitka Sound Tours
EXPERIENCE AMAZING WILDLIFE! Sitka Sound Tours will guide you through a bevy of majestic mountains, ancient volcanoes, towering caves, and miles of ocean teaming with phenomenal wildlife, providing you with unforgettable memories of your once in a lifetime trip to Alaska. You are guided by our U.S. Coast Guard Licensed Captain. Your Captain is a high-quality naturalist, who is also a local Sitka Biologist, and spent 15 years as a Captain, commercial fishing in the Sitka area. Sound Tours will take you to see migrating humpback whales, harbor seals, Steller sea lions, rafts of sea otters, lumbering brown bears, and perched bald eagles. Also be prepared to see up close Sitka’s commercial fishing activities, the culture and lifestyle of Southeast Alaska, remnants from World War II, majestic mountain vistas, hanging glaciers and ice fields, and ancient forests!
Read more
Travelers talk about

Sitka Sound Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
113Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 103
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jennifer M wrote a review Jun 2022
United States54 contributions10 helpful votes
Hands down best time we have had in this trip! Brian was fantastic and extremely knowledgeable. We learned so much and will do this again. Don’t miss this amazing tour away from the hustle and bustle.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for your review! So happy we were able to accommodate you last minute with the Skagway port cancellation. Glad you had such a wonderful time and we were able to be a part of your improvised travel plans!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rhundt67 wrote a review Jun 2022
Milwaukee, Wisconsin364 contributions119 helpful votes
We entered Sitka on a rainy, dreary day, but still looked forward to the tour with Captain Brian. He communicated with me about arrival times, due to bus times coming from the ship port, and gladly waited for us. We did the tour with another couple and there was a table setting for 4 people and a place for my daughter and I up front. Due to the weather we mostly watched from the windows. Captain Brian made it clear that he doesn't speak from a script and prefers to answer questions, but did give us information along the way about the land area and wildlife. He TRIED very hard to get us in a location for some whales - mostly looking for other tour boats to indicate a siting, but it was a no go for whales this day. Oh well, just like children, whales don't perform on demand. We did get to see many eagles, sea lions, and the most adorable otters. Of course, seeing a whale would have made this tour amazing - it is what it is and we made the most of our time on the boat. Thanks!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for your review! Glad you had a great time on your tour, even though it was a rainy and foggy day. Happy you were able to see wildlife even though the whales didn't appear through the fog for us that day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marcy F wrote a review Jun 2022
St. Augustine, Florida7 contributions
Captain Brian was a great tour guide. We were the only two on the tour and he was fantastic about answering all our questions and giving us time to see what we wanted. We visited a few different areas in Sitka including the estuary and kelp forest and we saw lots of eagles and other birds, a Sitka deer, sea lions, otters, and jellyfish. It was a great morning out on the water!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and for taking time to write it. Glad you had a great morning out on the water to enjoy Sitka!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luv2TravelFarNWide wrote a review Sep 2019
Phoenix, Arizona1197 contributions531 helpful votes
We had booked a private boat (for 6) six years ago and had a fantastic experience. This time our travel agent recommended Sitka Sound Tours, and we booked it for 6 again (us and 2 other couples). It was a complete disappointment. We were told "the seas are too rough so we're not going out beyond the sound." Captain Brian was a nice guy, but he gave us 2+ hours of slowly motoring thru a fishing fleet, dodging nets (as the fishermen cursed us under their breath). We saw 2 eagles (before leaving the harbor), 1 sea lion, and then a flotilla of moon jellyfish. Next we motored back thru the fishing fleet and thru the marina where the fishing fleet not out for the day were sitting at dock. Whoopee? Finally we motored out (still in sheltered waters) and finally spotted some sea otters. We were given a few minutes to watch these amusing creatures then motored back thru the fishing fleet docks and deposited on shore. We paid more than $1000 for a 2.5 hour trip to boredom. NOT what was advertised: "Fantastic wildlife viewing." Really sad. We had seen whales, whales and more whales on previous trips to Alaska. This was our friends first cruise and first trip to Alaska. They were really disappointed to have spent their time on this boat instead of doing a whale watching cruise.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours
Responded Sep 9, 2019
I, too, am sorry that you were disappointed with your excursion. However, you were well informed of the weather conditions before our trip and had the opportunity to cancel and spend your time in Sitka enjoying other options. I brief all of my passengers of the weather conditions prior to leaving the dock and nobody is ever pressured to go if they have any second thoughts. The weather that day was 25 mph winds and 10 foot seas, due to a storm a few days earlier. In fact, one of the cruise ships cancelled their port of call to Sitka just 3 days earlier. Being from Arizona you can't be expected to have any concept of such sea conditions. As a professional Captain, I prioritize passenger safety above all else. Sitka Sound Tours has been providing awesome wildlife tours in Sitka for over 15 years, of which your review is only 1 of 4 negative reviews we've ever received. Why then did you give me a $60 tip if you were going to leave me a negative review? I would have much rather of had constructive criticism done in person at the end of your tour. Every single day on the water is different, so you can't expect the same experience from 6 years ago... Additionally, my tours consist of observing wildlife in their natural pristine habitats. You were able to see a great variety of wildlife: eagles, Steller sea lions, sea otters, etc. The only thing you didn't see were whales in 10 foot seas and 25 mph winds. I'm guessing this is what you're complaining about. While observing endangered marine mammals, I am bound by federal guidelines which limit impact, viewing proximity, and the amount of time. I will in no way commit a felony to appease passengers who are naive about viewing proximity and duration. I am intent on low impact wildlife viewing which has assured my success rate for years. Furthermore, having been a commercial fisherman in Sitka for decades, I am all too aware that encountering commercial fishing operations on the waters surrounding Sitka is unavoidable. The fishermen are very familiar with me, as I am of them, and we respect each other's efforts at making a living on the high seas. NOBODY HAS EVER cursed at me while conducting business on the water. This statement you made is pure fantasy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KatieGoeck wrote a review Sep 2019
Salt Lake City, Utah1 contribution
Our whale watching tour was perfect! I highly recommended 10/10. They were so nice and very knowledgeable! I couldn’t have asked for better people to show us around Sitka!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours
Responded Sep 9, 2019
Thanks for this awesome review! We had a great day on the water with you too. You all even braved 6 foot swells so you could see whales! After seeing those whales, we tucked back in to see those cute sea otters. If you return to Sitka, please look us up again. If you decide to move here, know that you already have friends in Sitka!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456