We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Appalachian Adventures

Luray, VA, USA
More
About Appalachian Adventures
RENTALS: ATVs, Jet-skis, canoes, fishing, party boats, and MORE! For things to do in Luray, VA. WE BASE OUR OPERATION WITH THE PURPOSE OF PROVIDING A GREAT EXPERIENCE BASED ON RESPECT AND FAIRNESS.
Travelers talk about
158Reviews3Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 115
  • 21
  • 5
  • 6
  • 11
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mason's BnB wrote a review Oct 11
Waldorf, Maryland1 contribution
1. It took days for them to return my calls and emails for my reservation request and almost an entire week to actually book. Something about being short staffed after (every one of the 27 summers) they’ve been open? 2. Upon arrival we felt completely unwelcome. Rather than put on a mask (COVID), she suggested that we, paying customers, stand outside on the steps while she explained how the virus “wasn’t here.” “It had passed earlier in the year but now...it’s gone.” That she only wears masks in Walmart because that’s where travelers are. Saying this in...A room full of travelers while coughing up her lungs. But she explained it’s because she’s a long time smoker so we shouldn’t worry. 3. The guides didn’t acknowledge our presence except to give ride instruction. 4. Rather than paying their guides more, they expect customers to give them a 20% tip. Not sure if it’s the sign of the times but it’s not a chance they’ll ever get my business again. I think their customer niche is more for those of a Confederate mindset.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
fall987 wrote a review Oct 8
Sewell, New Jersey101 contributions63 helpful votes
First I have to give a big shout out to Miss Patricia who booked our day with this company. Everything ran on time, no problems or worries. We started our day with Tom and Galen our target shooting instructors. Both very personable and safety minded. It was just my family 4 girls and a guy. They gave individual attention to each of us during our turns. We started with a revolver and worked up to rifles and did skeet shooting. We had an absolutely awesome time. These 2 men made our day. Just a comment, if you are doing this you get to the range yourself and I highly suggest 4 wheel drive. The range is pretty isolated and the paths there are steep. After a break we met Tim our ATV guide. I am not an expert but I believe they were Yamaha 450's. Tim kept everyone together and safe. Again my family had the best time. We chose the 2 HR excursion. Steep hills, lots of ruts on the trail, water and mud, windy turns you name it. We were rewarded with great mountain views at the top. Everyone was muddy with big smiles on our faces. I felt it was good value for the money and would not hesitate using this company again
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia L, Manager at Appalachian Adventures
Responded 2 days ago
We are so pleased and grateful that you took the time to write a review about our activities and the choices you made. We, at Appalachian Adventures are very happy to share our knowledge, our experience, and our beautiful properties with nice people like you. That’s our reward !!! Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Read more
Harold M wrote a review Oct 7
Upper Marlboro, Maryland1 contribution
We had a FANTASTIC time shooting with Tom and Gayland they were both professional and knowledgeable. They kept it fun and exciting and made us gun rookies feel comfortable handling the weapons. Now we are both hooked and want to take more classes and learn more about firearms. We definitely recommend doing this! And Virginia in the office is a sweetheart as well! We will definitely book again
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from AppalachiaAdventures, Front Office Manager at Appalachian Adventures
Responded 3 days ago
We are so very happy you enjoyed your targeting session and that our instructors were able to share their knowledge with you. Love the fact your are now "hooked" and hope you will continue learning and developing these skills. Thank you, thank you, and THANK YOU for visiting.
Read more
Jackie K wrote a review Sep 2020
Lititz, Pennsylvania9 contributions2 helpful votes
Had a wonderful experience with the one hour ATV ride and only wished I would have booked it for 2 hours but my friend never rode and ATV. One hour ride is so great for a new person and fun for someone with experience. Yes, we never went over 10mph as some complained but then go to on ATV race adventure not this fun enjoying mother nature adventure. Patricia was so very nice and funny and answered my calls and texts in a timely fashion. Tim was our guide and loved him! Thanks Tim. If we should come back to VA we are going to request you as our guide.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from AppalachiaAdventures, General Manager at Appalachian Adventures
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you Jackie for your objective comments- Speed is not what we do! thank you for understanding that the real purpose of our expeditions are for everyone to enjoy a day in the Great Outdoors, and nothing better than on an ATV. The guides are flexible enough to accommodate each expedition and try to satisfy our valuable guests' expectations. Thank you so much for your review
Read more
Trina wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
My children and I had thoroughly enjoyed our 1 hour ATV ride and my only regret is not doing 2 hours,but it was our first time and we weren't sure what to expect. Tim, our tour guide was excellent and very patient with my son who took a little while to get the hang out of it. The views were amazing and it was a great way to spend the day! I was concerned about what to expect because I read reviews about the owner being unprofessional. And although Patricia had a bit of a "unique" approach and demeanor, she made sure we had all the information we needed to be safe and provided clear expectations. We will return!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from AppalachiaAdventures, General Manager at Appalachian Adventures
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your fair comments. Sometimes we stress a little, specially when our conflict resolution skills don't work well with certain customers - having to implement policies and follow procedures is kind of difficult sometimes but knowing that we do make many people happy, while keeping them safe, is the reason for which we remain in service.
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Luray
from $25.65
More Info