Ten Thousand Waves
Ten Thousand Waves
4.5
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
About
We pride ourselves on providing the benefits of massage therapy and hydrotherapy in a beautiful setting!
Duration: 2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

See what travelers are saying
  • memotz30
    7 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Lovely, relaxed environment
    I’ve been a massage therapist for 20+ years and this place is very special. The atmosphere is serene and beautiful and I love how friendly and unpretentious the staff is. My husband and I both had FANTASTIC Canabliss massages. My therapist Christina had a very nurturing, soothing touch and I felt incredibly cared for. We used all the amenities that came with our visit, the Grand Bath and sauna were terrific. I read some of the less than stellar reviews and was prepared to be underwhelmed but everything was just lovely. You can tell a lot about a place by its staff retention rate, and when people stick around for 10-20 years, you know you’ve struck gold. A chance to slow down, breathe, meditate and soak. What’s not to love?
    Visited March 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written March 7, 2023
  • J K
    Austin, Texas11 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Wonderful Onsen-like Spa
    I lived in Japan many years ago, and one the things I miss the most are the beautiful onsen that offered hot springs bathing and other amenities. It really was amazing to experience this spa, and I wish there were more like it in the U.S. Even the mountain setting was quite reminiscent of Japan, and many of the details of the buildings and landscaping were authentic, though with a New Mexican touch. We stayed in Gemini. It was a studio-like space with a kitchenette, two queen-sized beds, a sitting area, and fireplace. The courtyard was lovely, but it was snowing during our stay so it received little use. The beds were very comfortable, and the provided breakfast of house-made granola, fruit, yogurt, tea, and almond milk was light and healthy. The decor was also nice, spare and restful but with plenty of visual interest. The only drawback with this spa is that it is almost always booked. We were lucky enough to reserve one of the pools and a room, but we would have stayed longer if there was more availability. The izakaya was great and also recommended.
    Visited April 2022
    Written March 18, 2023
  • Tiffany M
    56 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Wonderful experience with just one or two negatives
    My husband & I had the pleasure of taking our 3 adult sons & daughter in law for massages & soaking during our recent trip to Santa Fe. The grounds are super magical & zen. The grand bath was very nice & relaxing. The foot soak was not even hardly warm enough to enjoy. The cold plunge was a nice touch. Our massages started promptly as scheduled. I had an amazing massage by a very skilled masseuse Valli who has worked there for I believe 26-27 years. It was not only relaxing, but I learned some great tips from her. Everyone in our group said they had a very good massage. Unfortunately, the person who did my daughter in law's massage asked her a question that made her quite self conscious. She has back acne & the masseuse asked her if it was contagious. Surely, as a masseuse, you should know how to better handle the situation. It clearly looks like acne & not like a contagious condition. My daughter in law was embarrassed & uncomfortable. So this was quite disappointing. Otherwise, our experience was memorable.
    Visited April 2023
    Written April 12, 2023
  • Taryn E
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Spa and restaurant are top notch!
    Everything was incredible! My husband and I had massages and they were excellent and reasonably priced too. We spent two hours cycling between the cold plunge, saunas and hot tub. The grounds were amazing, the craftsmanship of the buildings and attention to detail was fabulous! And the restaurant was worth every single penny.
    Visited April 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written April 20, 2023
  • Traveler8Colorado
    Denver, Colorado558 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Relaxing and calming
    Stayed for 3 nights. Loved the environment, baths, restaurant and location. We did wish the restaurant was open for breakfast since they just bring granola and yogurt. They did provide coffee and tea in the room. There's also tea available up at the baths. We slept well and enjoyed our time. The housekeeping cat came to visit and we loved that. Really enjoyed the nearby hikes as well.
    Visited April 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written May 17, 2023
  • ashleybs314
    Saint Louis, Missouri61 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Peaceful and Serene
    I started with a canabliss massage that was excellent. Than I enjoyed the grand bath, foot bath, and sauna. My husband joined me at Izanami for lunch and than we had a private soak. My suggestions are don't rush and enjoy the peace and serene atmosphere.
    Visited May 2023
    Written June 6, 2023
  • patticake2021
    2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    I want to live here!
    I had the most incredible experience from start to finish. The welcome by Jost was informative and he made all the information about the resort interesting and fun. The soak in the Grand Pool was fantastic as was the cold plunge right next to it. I also enjoyed the dry sauna after dinner. The massage with Karma was one of the best massages I've ever had, it was a mystical experience and I felt transformed afterwards. I ate dinner at the restaurant and was heartily welcomed and treated like a Queen and the food was exceptional. This was a solo trip for my birthday and I feel so relaxed even with a one night's stay. I will definitely come back and stay several nights next time. I think 10,000 Waves is my spiritual home.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled solo
    Written June 8, 2023
  • Martha M
    6 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Magical
    This is the Spa to go to! Absolutely beautiful, from the moment you climb the stairs from the parking lot, the gardens are so lovely. We enjoyed the foot bath while looking at the Koi pond with the waterfall. Then the community hot tub was relaxing with the cold plunge after. Massages were fabulous. The whole experience was magical.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written June 24, 2023
  • christine n
    New York City, New York124 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    10k waves
    We came for the private onsen pools and massages. After a long walk up the stairs at altitude-there is a shuttle if this an issue for you-we entered into a lovely Japanese inspired space with friendly people. The massage therapists were skilled and lovely and we say-go you’ll love it.
    Visited July 2023
    Written July 5, 2023
  • Christopher T
    4 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Stunning, relaxing mountain side resort (with lots of steps)
    This is my 3rd visit, but 1st stay at Ten Thousand Waves. Stunning mountain-side retreat with the opportunity to allow yourself to unwind. I brought my husband here as Santa Fe is one of my favorite cities and TTW has impressed each visit. Upon arriving at the front desk to check in, we were given a map. The resort offers a shuttle to and from lodging if you aren’t able to climb what seems like hundreds of stairs (in the moment). There wasn’t an offer to assist with bags nor was the parking for our room near by. Unfortunately, we did not realize there was assigned parking the first evening of our stay. The signs do not clearly say “Room___ parking only”. There are signs, but they are not really clear for unfamiliar guests. Upon returning from a walk with our dogs (yes, they allow dogs!), we stopped at the front desk to inquire on something and were told they “were glad we stopped by because they were going to tow our vehicle”. They knew it was our vehicle because they require you to add this information in their system at check-in along with signing their safety waiver. Oddly enough, all of the other rooms within the same category had an assigned parking spot near their room. Doesn’t make sense…. Hangetsu doesn’t have its own parking spot. Needless to say, we had an uneasy feeling after being told our huge SUV was going to be towed down a mountain! The food at Izumami is tasty. The service is a little bit slower than one may expect for this level of resort. We soaked in the Grande Bath before getting facials and massages and my husband used the sauna. The hot stone massage I had with Marsha was amazing. She explained the treatment as she went along and aligned the stones on my spine. She checked in with me frequently to see if I was comfortable and offered me water when I turned over. She even put stones between my toes!!! I mentioned a digestive problem to her that I have when traveling. After the massage, I seriously think the problem was gone! Facial was nice too…. tailored experience with shoulder massage. I seriously wish I could go there more often. Ultimately, the stay was relaxing, Hangetsu is nice and spacious and the resort is beautiful and unique.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written July 19, 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,755 reviews
Excellent
1,242
Very good
270
Average
117
Poor
69
Terrible
57

leh tat
4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021
We did the spa experience, restaurant and stayed overnight. For the money, the room is not worth the money paid. Not even a coffee machine, only a tea bag style coffee service. No breakfast available at restaurant, only in-room granola, yogurt, over-ripe fruit, and almond milk. The place needs a lot of care and attention. We rented the private Waterfall tub and the waterfall was not working, which was part of the cold plunge. Massage was good but felt that $199.00 for a basic massage was very steep. Restaurant had terrible service from our waiter and the food quality did not match the prices. Hotel staff member was rude when questioning which room we were in to determine if we were truly were a guest. Did not make us feel welcome. This much needed get away left us wishing we had planned our stay someplace else.
Written November 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

AdDextra
Austin, TX50 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022
Ten Thousand Waves was recommended to me by two different couples who'd been there several years ago. I had only one full day in Santa Fe and booked a massage and facial for myself and my girlfriend a month in advance. 10,000 Waves is about twice as expensive as other quality spas in Santa Fe: you're paying for the surroundings (which are impressive), access to the baths, and, presumably, a first-rate spa.

We arrived in the early afternoon for our first two appointments only to find that the masseuse they'd booked us with had called out that day, so I gave up my massage and waited an hour and a half. Then a manager came over and explained that they were also shorthanded for our second appointments and one of us would have to miss out. They comped us the one massage that had taken place and asked if we wanted a discount on future services. Having now wasted our one afternoon in Santa Fe, we declined and went elsewhere.

Of course, it's not under the spa's control whether people call out. Most everybody would rather skip a massage than get one but also get COVID. The trouble with Ten Thousand Waves is that they could have notified us in the morning and didn't. They gambled on being able to pull in somebody at the last minute and it didn't work. At this (or any!) level of service, not communicating with your clients is pretty dodgy, particularly when they book up so quickly and we'd made reservations a month before.

The one massage that did happen was a good one! Two other issues preclude it from weighing in on the score:

The web site is not useful. You can't make reservations online and have to call them. One of the spas to which they ended up referring us had a web site where you could book an individual therapist for a specific service at a specific time. It cost half of what Ten Thousand Waves cost and even with almost no notice, that therapist showed up. Additionally, they promote combinations of services as packages on the web site that don't exist: you end up booking individual services regardless.

We asked around later and learned that Ten Thousand Waves used to be a favorite spot for locals but no longer allow them to reserve the baths without also reserving a massage. The masseuse we ended up finding later told us she would go every week until they changed the policy. That's their prerogative, but if you're going to exclude locals so you can focus on tourists, bailing on their reservation without any notice seems like the worst of both worlds: their system isn't working for people in town or for visitors.

As best I can tell, this place used to be great but the prices went way up and the level of service did keep pace.
Written January 5, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

DenverGal720
13 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
Reserved Ofuro based on staff recommendation, and I'm glad we had a private tub and bathroom as we're just not communal tub people.

Ofuro has a nice private room that you get locked in. There's a changing area, shower, sink with hairdryer, and toilet. The issue I have is that you pay for 90 minutes but they buzz you 15 minutes before the end of the time on a speaker you can't really understand, so you can get ready and get out. Well it's hard for multiple adults to get ready in 15 minutes. I'd suggest having a clock in there so people can choose to get out of the tub earlier if they choose. Or give people more time to change back - it's really jarring to be so relaxed then have to rush out!

Also Ofuro overlooks to the pathway that leads to the spa so you are interrupted by people's conversations - in our case their seemed to be lots of families with children and kids/parents having zero respect for this being a peaceful, quiet, and relaxing place. Not really Ten Thousand Wave's fault on that but lack of common courtesy by people.
Written March 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DenverGal, Thank you for your review. While we've not had a complaint around being called at 15 minutes prior to the end of the tub, we can see how it could be difficult for larger groups to get ready in this time. We will talk to our tub hosts about asking our guests if they would like to be called earlier. We do feel having clocks in the tub areas distracts from some individuals ability to relax. Clients are welcome to bring their watches or phones if they would like to keep and eye on the time while soaking. We do have many other tubs and hope that you are able to visit us again.
Written March 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vacation447778
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021
This spa used to be wonderful and affordable. It is no longer affordable at all. They have eliminated their commual pool which you could use all day for about $35. Now it is only accessible to those who are staying in one of their pricey rooms or to those paying for a massage. They have also eliminated their somewhat affordable 60 minute massages, Now you have to pay for a 90 minute massage at the rate of $199 minimum. With that, you get access to what used to be the communal tub. Otherwise you have to rent a private tub at the rate of $70 per person for 90 minutes.
Written July 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Margaret G
Albuquerque, NM1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
My boss gave me a $300 gift certificate as a thank you present and I saved it to use on my birthday. I booked myself a massage and facial and arrived early to soak in the tub. It was snowing and not very crowded....I had a magical time. However, when I went to pay, the gentleman at the front desk informed me there was not $300 on the gift card. He told me that $50 had already been spent. I told him this was impossible since I'd never been to Ten Thousand Waves before. He took down my information and told me the reconciliations department would investigate the issue. The next day, a woman named Yolanda gave me a call and informed me that the $50 charge had been made on November 6. I told her I'd received the gift card in early September and have kept it in a drawer until the day I went to the spa, February 4. I didn't make a $50 charge and I don't see how anyone else could have since I've had possession of the card since September. She told me that unfortunately Ten Thousand Waves is not responsible for loss or damages. I told her that's very disappointing since I didn't lose or damage anything. She gave me the number of her supervisor. I've left several messages and have yet to be called back. I have emailed the Director of Operations and have received no reply. The spa was lovely, but their customer service really leaves something to be desired. Really disappointing and frustrating.
Written February 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megg, I've been told that you were contacted and we have resolved this issue. We are sorry about the inconvenience you encountered around your gift certificate and the time it took to resolve the issue. We do hope that you visit again. We are glad you had a magical time while you were here and hope you make it back soon.
Written February 19, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Amanda KMJ
Minneapolis, MN150 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Couples
My husband and I just returned from our stay. It’s definitely one of the most unique experiences we’ve ever had. We stayed in Full Moon and the suite was lovely and spacious with a beautiful garden view. The garden is huge! It’s more of a private yard! We also enjoyed a shiatsu massage and two reserved private spa baths. Both were wonderful! We dined twice at Izanami. Food was great and so was the service. I would definitely 100% recommend this location and experience for a romantic and relaxing couple’s getaway. Also, the maid accidentally took my white jacket that looked and felt very much like the kimono robes. On the morning we were leaving, she rushed it to us before we left for home. One of the best services I’ve ever received. The TTW team is incredibly communicative. Weeks before our trip, they called to make sure that I had reserved a private spa(s) experience during my stay. A couple days before arrival, they called and emailed me the map and room code. It was all very clear. They take Covid 19 very seriously and I appreciate the no contact check in and making sure folks getting massages are vaccinated. Thank you all for being so kind and welcoming. Hope to come back one day with my girl friends and extended family.
Written July 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

idyllwildgirl
Honolulu, HI242 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Couples
I’ve been coming to Ten Thousand Waves for over 20 years. After the 2 nights that I just spent there, staying in a room (my third time staying) I am so disappointed. First, they got rid of the woman’s tub and made it a private tub. So the only option (since all tubs book up months in advance) was to use the “communal pool”. This pool is basically a wading pool. If you sit on the bottom of the pool the hot water is up to your chest area, if that. You can only put your legs straight out as its so shallow. This is not an optimal hot tub experience. I went there 3 X’s over 2 days….as a hotel guest you can enter at 8am-10am before the public comes in. My last morning two couples were in the communal pool, basically shouting at each other across the pool for over 20 minutes. Ruined the entire experience ….I looked at the sign that says “quiet or low voices” and I guess they hadn’t read that! No spa etiquette with these folks …the whole spa experience was super disappointing. Ten Thousand Waves has become about the $$ and not about providing ambiance and a satisfying mineral tub experience. I’ve heard there is new management. It sure seems like it.

The rooms are super over priced for what you get. But they obviously sell out, so that is the bottom line! My other main gripe was the bag of coffee given for morning coffee. It honestly was ridiculous. It is not a regular cup of coffee no matter how long you steep it (and then its cool after steeping it the 7 minutes as is noted on the package). There are so many ways to give the guest coffee…I asked for an alternative after the first morning…but there was no alternative. Of course we went out and bought our own coffee…but paying over $400 a night, and not even having decent coffee in the room is just gross. So sadly, I will not dream of coming to Ten Thousand Waves anymore.

If you do go, get a room elsewhere and make sure to book a private tub far in advance. If you’re not sure of. Your dates, book one and cancel if you must…..the private tubs will give you a better experience.
Written August 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Phoebe B
11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021
Have stayed at 10,000 Waves a number of times over the years, most recently last summer as our first trip since the pandemic began. I cannot recommend this place enough. From the tranquil spa, to the private baths (our family of two adults and two young children loved Waterfall!) to the amazing food at the Izakaya restaurant, to the fantastic rooms- it is just the most perfect place. You drive up the hill and you are instantly transported somewhere special. It smells so good, the sounds are all so soothing, and everyone who works here is incredibly friendly and helpful. You will NOT be disappointed with a day visit, an overnight, or a longer stay though I recommend a couple of nights to get the full experience. Book well ahead as the rooms get taken months in advance.
Written March 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sue
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2021
We had spa services today totaling over $400. The spa services were great, We then wanted a bit of food and a cup of tea after the services and went to the restaurant. It was about 4:10 and both outside dining rooms were deserted except for one table at which people had been seated. We asked for a table outside or inside whatever was available and were told that we could not be seated because we did not have a reservation and the 2 hostesses could not seat people until 5:00. I mentioned that there were numerous empty tables and only one seated group. The hostesses said they got to sit there because they had reservations. This made no sense at all since there were probably 25-30 tables empty and the hostesses while not rude were not welcoming or apologetic nor went out of their way to be hospitable. If this is a full service spa/lodging/restaurant they need to work on meeting customer's needs and at least offering a polite explanation for failure to do so.
Written September 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Saroj M
Naperville, IL36 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 • Couples
We were introduced to Ten Thousand Waves Spa by our
Daughter during our recent visit to Santa Fe. She had spoken to us about the Japanese ambiance there. When we arrived there we we were taken aback with the details to create that ambiance. The members of the staff that greeted us were extremely gracious and hospitable. They gave us a terrific introduction to the facility. Everything about the place is awesome. The height of our experience there was when we were in the hot tub, it started snowing and the experience with the snow falling replicated a day in Japan!! Surreal !! It was topped off with an awesome massage. My massage therapist did a great job!! Very relaxing!! Then we came back to the meditation/relaxing room, where we had warm floors and floor mats, soft cushions. Had a brief power nap to top off the massage. Very relaxing!! Then we showered up, had some snacks, checked out and drove back to our hotel . Only on our way down did our daughter tell us that the name Ten Thousand came from the fact that it was at an altitude of 10,000 feet above sea level!! Overall, it is a beautiful layout. We had an awesome experience at the facility. The staff there are extremely hospitable and friendly. Strongly recommend to anyone visiting Santa Fe.
Written January 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Saroj, It sounds like you have a very smart daughter! We're glad you were able to enjoy your soak under the snow fall and hope you can make a return trip soon!
Written January 8, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,744
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Ten Thousand Waves - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ten Thousand Waves

Ten Thousand Waves is open:
  • Sun - Sat 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM


Restaurants near Ten Thousand Waves: View all restaurants near Ten Thousand Waves on Tripadvisor


Ten Thousand Waves Information

Excellent Reviews

1,242

Very Good Reviews

270

Ten Thousand Waves Photos

891