We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Evening cruise

Friends and I did this as a “something different” and came away thinking it would be at least an... read more

Reviewed September 18, 2018
Dorothy I
via mobile
Sailing around San Juan Island

A very good day!! Saw Orcas, sea lions, wild sheep, porpoises, bald eagles, and a lot of sea... read more

Reviewed October 5, 2017
auctioneer2244
,
Cottonwood, California
Read all 35 reviews
47
All photos (47)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good11%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“spike africa”(11 reviews)
“hour sail”(3 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
43°
34°
Dec
43°
34°
Jan
43°
34°
Feb
Contact
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA
Website
+1 360-378-2224
Call
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
23
4
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
23
4
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spike africa sailing adventure hour sail captain and crew two hours sea birds evening cruise san juan island bald eagles sails charter sailors passengers boat sightings
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 33 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

This was not what we expected and very slow paced....So slow that one of the men on board was actually knitting most of the time we were on the water....sigh! We motored out of the harbor without plan (I actually heard the captain state he...More

Thank krissullivan
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

Friends and I did this as a “something different” and came away thinking it would be at least an annual event. Wonderful to be onboard and watch the evening gather. Those who wanted to were invited to participate in raising the sails or steering. I...More

Thank Dorothy I
Reviewed October 5, 2017

A very good day!! Saw Orcas, sea lions, wild sheep, porpoises, bald eagles, and a lot of sea birds. This is an 80 foot sail boat that used to haul freight. I

Thank auctioneer2244
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

Nice night activity, nice crew, beautiful ship. Always great to be out on the water, and sunset did not disappoint. Good value for a couple hours out on the water at a beautiful time of day. Remember you can bring your own food and drinks...More

Thank JayGott
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

We had planned our vacation for months, and booked our charter sailing about three weeks ahead of time. The process was relatively easy: a few emails, a couple of phone calls, and we paid our deposit. A few days before our sailing, we paid the...More

Thank David F
Gary G, Owner at Schooners North, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Thank you for your review. All was correct except you forgot to mention that you showed up on the wrong day. I brought the fact that we had a written agreement regarding the sailing date to your attention, and you told me you never looked...More

Reviewed August 2, 2017

Gary was outstanding & went above and beyond. Few people today go out of their way to accommodate but Gary did! I would go back in a flash, it really made out trip! Thank You!

Thank Christopher C
Gary G, Owner at Schooners North, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Thanx Christopher Gary

Reviewed July 11, 2017

I am never so happy as being out on the water no matter whether in: a fishing, paddle or power boat, kayak, small sailboat or masted tall ship. The three hour afternoon sail on Schooner North’s eighty-foot Spike Africa was smooth sailing with picturesque sights...More

Thank Shirley B
Gary G, Owner at Schooners North, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We hope to sail with you again. All best, Gary

Reviewed September 17, 2016

My wife and I went on 2 hour "Sunset Sail" on the Spike Africa. The boat was really nice and the crew was friendly and knowledgeable, but the experience itself was quite uneventful. It may have been that there was very little wind - but...More

1  Thank Giancarlo L
Reviewed September 14, 2016

I chartered Spike Africa for the day on 9/12/2016 and had an incredible day with Captain Kenny, his two-person crew, and naturalist April. The crew was courteous, knowledgable, accommodating, and answered every question I had about the boat, it's history and island. April's laminated cards...More

Thank mike c
Reviewed August 24, 2016

We went on an evening sail. It was pleasant didn't see much wildlife. The staff was friendly and cordial but after the sail we thought about it. They charged I believe $35.00 a person there were over 20 people on the ship. That comes out...More

Thank riskybidder
Management response:Responded August 26, 2016

Hello, Thank you for your response. It brings up a complicated issue. Remember we have a 3 month working window. the schooner is either under restoration in the yard or laid up for 9 months of the year. Her slip rental fees, maintenance fees, huge...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Schooners North staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines