We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Salem Trolley

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 8 Central St, Salem, MA 01970-3703
Phone Number: +1 978-744-5469
Website
Description:

Since 1982, Salem Trolley has offered sightseeing tours and exceptional...

Since 1982, Salem Trolley has offered sightseeing tours and exceptional transportation North of Boston. Once on board, visitors discover the Witch City's unique, colorful past.

Our hop-on, hop-off service includes a one-hour narrated tour and all-day shuttle service through beautiful and historic Salem from the witchcraft trials of 1692, to literary and maritime history.

Our eight-mile ride around the city takes you past the Charter Street Burial Ground, The House of the Seven Gables, Witch Dungeon Museum, Witch History Museum, New England Pirate Museum, Salem Witch Museum, along the historic waterfront and along historic streets such as Chestnut Street.

Your professional driver and talented local tour guide will entertain you with factual history and interesting tidbits about the city. Feel free to get off and on at any of our 14 stops throughout the day and view Salem at your leisure, using our trolley as a convenient shuttle service.

Private charters are available year round.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 486 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 250
    Excellent
  • 140
    Very good
  • 53
    Average
  • 20
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Easy way to get around Salem!!

We went on tour with the Trolley and it started off bad....the back window was shattered so instead of 10am we had to wait for them to replace the trolley so we started about... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 days ago
JTTsports
,
now Orlando

Similar Things to Do in Salem

Add Photo Write a Review

486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 479: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Salem is a very spread out town so this trolley works well as you can get on and off at various stops and passes are good all day. If you get tired walking just hop on and be back to your original destination and save your feet!

Helpful?
1 Thank schustermom
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This trolley ride is good for getting around Salem. But, the route it follows takes you far out of downtown. If you're in town to focus on the historic sites and witch trial sites, you have to wait a while if you get on the trolley at the wrong stop. We got on at the old cemetery and then the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob T
now Orlando
Level Contributor
159 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went on tour with the Trolley and it started off bad....the back window was shattered so instead of 10am we had to wait for them to replace the trolley so we started about 1035. The trolley they brought had broken speakers so we only stayed on about 30 min and got off. We did get back on and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank JTTsports
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A one hour tour on the Salem Trolley is good way to learn about Salem. It costs $18 per adult and you can get off and on at your leisure. The tour operates from 10am till 5pm and is narrated so you can learn all about Salem and the Witch Trials

Helpful?
1 Thank nsmith50
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had never been to Salem before, so thought we needed to get our bearings by riding the trolley. It was a perfect thing to do to get us acquainted with the local scene. Very informative and friendly people.

Helpful?
1 Thank JFS232015
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is how I began my day in Salem. I took the 1 hour tour and then used the trolley to get around town. There is a lot of history to learn and the guide was extremely knowledgeable about what to do and what not to do in town.

Helpful?
1 Thank betsyprice83
Steubenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I do trolley tours in most cities I visit as a way to see everything and get to sites without all the hassle. Unfortunately, I didn't find the this tour as enjoyable as all others. The tour guide was taking tickets before the tour started and he was fussy with guests and he made a point of asking for tips... More 

Helpful?
Thank L R
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We always love to take the local trolley tours because it gives you a good overview of the area and things you might like to visit later. The guide was light humored and gave a good account of the sights we passed.

Helpful?
Thank Ron H
Tammy H, General Manager at Salem Trolley, responded to this review

Thank you Ron! It's always great to hear when guests enjoyed our tour. Tammy More 

Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We docked in Salem at 3pm where there was a trolley to meet guests who wanted a tour of the city. We were the only two that hopped on the bus. We were told that it was the best tour in town and that it was well worth our money. They dropped us off at the visitor center and told... More 

Helpful?
Thank mintagedesignsllc
Tammy H, General Manager at Salem Trolley, responded to this review

Hello, I am so sorry it was not explained to you properly. Please let me know what date you were riding and I will be sure to speak to the driver and guide that was on that day. I am also happy to refund your tickets. If you want to email me your mailing address. At Tammy@SalemTrolley.com Thank you for... More 

Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
173 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We took the trolley to get an overview of the town of Salem. The communication equipment was not working right lots of fade and static. When we could hear our narrator he spoke so fast we could not understand a thing he said. Our drive drove fast to keep up with the narrator...If You take the trolley check to make... More 

Helpful?
Thank AcaSusie
Tammy H, General Manager at Salem Trolley, responded to this review

Hello Susie, I am so sorry you didn't have a pleasant time on the Trolley and the equipment wasn't working properly. I am happy to refund your tickets if you email me your mailing address. I hope you let the driver and guide know that you were getting static and it was cutting out in the area you were sitting... More 

Travelers who viewed Salem Trolley also viewed

 

Been to Salem Trolley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Salem Trolley and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Salem Trolley staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?