Salem Historical Tours & Haunted Footsteps Ghost Tour

Salem Historical Tours & Haunted Footsteps Ghost Tour

Salem Historical Tours & Haunted Footsteps Ghost Tour
4
Ghost & Vampire ToursHistorical & Heritage Tours
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
About
Join Salem's oldest, most respected and recommended tour company offering a wide variety of historic and haunted tours. We provide a historically accurate, entertaining and informative look at our vast and varied history.
Salem, Massachusetts

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Salem Historical Tours & Haunted Footsteps Ghost Tour
Travelers talk about
(24 reviews)
(28 reviews)
(70 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles626 reviews
Excellent
411
Very good
68
Average
53
Poor
42
Terrible
53

jobones
Greenbelt, MD10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Family
My young adult son and I did this tour with Stash as our tourguide tonight. He was great. I highly recommend him. He was knowledgeable, funny, and accepting of all views of hauntings. We had a great time, learned alot, and it totally topped off our trip to Salem. Thank you Stash!
Written August 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stash does a great job. He is a fun story teller and finishes the tour with a chi energy circle. Glad you enjoyed it.
Written September 9, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Karra Z
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2024 • Family
My family had so much fun during our Ghost Walk experience. Professor Nicodemus was very knowledgable and beyond entertaining. He kept my 12 and 13 year old engaged through the entire walk. They both said it was the best part of our vacation. We appreciate his dedication and definitely recommend!
Written June 11, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello and thank you for the amazing review! We're so pleased to hear you had a great time with us! The Professor is on one of the best guides in town! Please be sure to come back and visit again soon!
Written June 12, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brenda B
Bowling Green, KY8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 • Family
We did the Haunted Footsteps tour. Our guide was Adam and he was awesome! He was very knowledgeable about the history and haunting. He was also very funny. The stops were many and very in depth. I would highly recommend this tour especially if you have the pleasure of having Adam as your guide!
Written September 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Valeria C
Mexico, NY2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022 • Friends
I went on a girls trip the last week of September and we did many tours! We had Stanly as our guide. Unfortunately this was the worst tour we went on and we ended up walking away about 15 mins before it was over. Stanly was not knowledgeable of the stops and was not able to answer many questions at all. This tour consisted of going from place to place and the guide would asked everyone to take pictures and videos and asked if we saw anything in our pictures. He would say how every tour he has many people catch thing on their phones. This was not the case for this tour and it was not the kind of thing we were looking for. We would of liked to hear the history and stories from each stop vs just being told the name of the place and to take pictures to see if we catch a ghost. Extremely disappointing. If you are looking for an informative tour I would recommend the witch walk or bewitched tour!
Written October 28, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The tour is the Hocus Pocus Movies & More tour. It is not a history tour. You booked the wrong tour. You needed to read the description. If you wanted history, you needed to take our history tour on the maritime, revolutionary and witchcraft history. Those tours get five star reviews all the time and are the best tours in the city. This tour brings you to six Hocus Pocus Movie sites and the sites of several other movies, TV shows and documentaries. The picture book is indeed a picture book, not a book of facts. The guide shows pictures of scenes of Salem in all the various movies, TV shows and documentaries since 1899.
Written November 1, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Wenger73
County Dublin, Ireland100 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 • Couples
We went to an 8pm Haunted Footsteps tour. Our tour started out funny in front of their office so I figured this is going to be fun and informative. I couldn’t have been more wrong.
Our guide was funny there’s no doubt however I was expecting a ghost tour of Salem with stories and some personal experiences. What we got was diluted stories we already heard during a walking history tour earlier that day.
We like history and ghosts so that’s why we picked this ghost tour.
It was filled with his personal experiences and pictures from previous tours which quite frankly could be explained very easily.
We came into this with an open mind but was left very disappointed with our guide Bob.
I don’t like leaving bad reviews but I expected more original stories about people who lived in Salem not Harry Houdini.
For the price of $50 for two adults I expected more I would not recommend this tour to anyone. Sorry guys but it’s the truth you need more facts to keep up with the other guides.
Written July 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We're sorry you didn't like the tour, but Bob gets rave reviews. This is a tour about accidental death, murder and paranormal activity. There is very little Witchcraft History or other history. You didn't take an earlier tour with us so we're trying to understand how you could have heard Bob's personal ghost stories because no other tour company knows them. And the pictures have been taken on our tour are from guests like yourself and are very hard to explain. So either another company is stealing our info or perhaps there is a more simpler explanation. And, for the record, Houdini was in Salem. He performed three sold out shows at the Salem Theatre and was put in jail by the police chief as a test to see if he could escape. That's why we tell that story. Our tours are thoroughly researched and we have more stories and different types of tours - revolutionary, maritime, black history, cemetery, book walks, witchcraft, ancestors and descendants, etc... than anyone in the city. We are the oldest operating tour company in Salem and this is our 25th year so we are clearly doing it correctly.
Written July 21, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Laura
Mount Airy, MD2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Couples
After 20 mins of the tour guide’s methodical briefly scripted stories and not being to hear most of what he was saying , we turned around to head back to the tour office. I was told that he would put us into another later group. We didn’t want to be out any longer and asked for a refund. I was then told that they don’t give refunds in October because he could have sold tickets to someone else and pretty much didn’t believe what we were saying… I asked if all the tour guides were just reading scripts for the next one as well and he again made comments about us not giving it enough of a chance (but we all know that had we waited even longer that would have been an issue as well). FYI we did another tour with a different company the next before and it was absolutely amazing !!
Written October 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A few factual problems with your review. Your group returned less than 20 minutes after the tour started and that is not enough time for you to make a judgement. However, we graciously put you on the 9 p.m. tour and we saw you on it. Our guides don't read off of scripts. We have teachers, historians and certified professionals on staff, more than any other company here. Our disclaimer states very clearly there are no refunds, similar to concerts and sporting events.
Written October 2, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michelle
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 • Couples
Tour guide’s mic was broken and he was rambling on and going on tangents of things not related to the Salem Witch trials. Horrible story teller and the worst tour I’ve ever been on. Would’ve liked things to be related more to the history of Salem and the witch trials (which were extremely glossed over) and less of stories about books falling of shelves or ghosts in hotel rooms.
Written October 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jane B
Chicago, IL239 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Family
Our guide "April" was on-time & graciously welcomed us. Her knowledge of Salem was Amazing. She was patient and answered any questions we had. My teenage daughter & I learned so much; not just about the Witch Trials, but more importantly, the history that led up to it.
Would highly recommend 🧙‍♀️❤️
Written March 30, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Jane, Thank you for the fantastic review! Please be sure to come back and visit us and Salem Again soon!
Written April 23, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kristin O
Littleton, MA2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2021 • Couples
Our H.P. Lovecraft tour of Salem, MA. Was wonderful! Our guide, Stash was very friendly and knowledgeable. Hw showed us all around Salem and provided us with plenty of photo ops as well. We also had a bonus " chi generating circle" in the fragrant gardens. Very cool .Highly recommended.
Written September 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

B. Garima
New York City, NY14 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2017 • Friends
We signed up for the 3 tours combo. We went to the afternoon tours and it was decent. Then we had to meet up later for the evening tour. When we returned for the evening tour at designated time, the office was completely closed and no one picked up our calls. We even left voicemail for which we never got a returned call.
We were looking forward to the haunted tour more than the other day trip so was truly disappointed. I will never recommend.
Written January 17, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, We are sorry you had a bad experience and are trying to understand what happened. We do not have a record of providing any day or evening tours on January 17th or any day in January. We are closed in January and seldom do tours that month. Please contact the owner at 978.745.0666 so we can figure out if you took our tour or a different tour. We definitely want to make amends if this was us.
Written March 4, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 624

Salem Historical Tours & Haunted Footsteps Ghost Tour - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Salem HotelsSalem Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Salem
All things to do in Salem
Spas & Wellness in SalemAmusement Parks in Salem
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars